wazua Thu, Feb 6, 2025

DRESS CODE ON A DATE - MEN SHOULD STYLE UP
KenSaf
#1 Posted : Thursday, January 20, 2011 10:08:59 AM

In one of the hotels in town, a smartly dressed lady enters, takes a seat at a corner and orders a glass of juice. She keeps on glancing at her watch. Then enters enters a man in a T-shirt, a pair of shorts (not matching) and open shoe, unkempt hair. Scans around and head to where the smartly dressed lady was seating. From the body language they were obviously on a date.

I have seen this previously. Am I right to conclude that most men don't take time to prepare for a date. Unlike his attire,when they left, the guy drove off in a clean Lexus.
Doors of opportunity don't just open , they have to be unlocked & it's up to you to turn the knob.
#2 Posted : Thursday, January 20, 2011 10:12:48 AM

Guffaw. You were blinded until the last possible second. He was dressed properly, alright. In a lexus! Laughing out loudly
bird_man
#3 Posted : Thursday, January 20, 2011 10:14:10 AM

@KenSaf....wacha stress.Who tells you he didn't prepare to look "funky"?And did the lady seem uneasy or unhappy?I doubt.Maybe that's why they are together or dating!
Formally employed people often live their employers' dream & forget about their own.
#4 Posted : Thursday, January 20, 2011 10:14:20 AM

Maybe it was an impromptu date. The dude was chilling out somewhere, the mama insisted on meeting. What was he to do? Dash home and change?
ProverB
#5 Posted : Thursday, January 20, 2011 10:26:55 AM

..i agree..he should have dressed better.. get rid of the short.. put on a shrouser..trouser that detaches mid calf.. lose the t-shirt..come in a vest..leave out open shoes..come with slippers..za blue kwanza!

Have you thought.. may be He's trying the "10 ways to lose a Chick" series? could be. Did it once. smile
..Let your light so shine before men, that they may see your good works, and glorify your Father which is in heaven...Matt5:16
- 1769 Oxford King James Bible 'Authorized Version
manuPK
#6 Posted : Thursday, January 20, 2011 10:32:40 AM

ProverB wrote:
..i agree..he should have dressed better.. get rid of the short.. put on a shrouser..trouser that detaches mid calf.. lose the t-shirt..come in a vest..leave out open shoes..come with slippers..za blue kwanza!

Hahahahaha, wacha tu. Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
Entrepreneurship is a cognitive bias. They can’t teach it to you.
#7 Posted : Thursday, January 20, 2011 10:43:59 AM

Just out of curiosity @Ken Saf, are you a guy or chic? Nothing to do with the topic...
marex
#8 Posted : Thursday, January 20, 2011 10:58:37 AM

MOST,ladies today care abt other things..like where the man lives, the car model, the job..etc.....coz even a makanga can dress properly
The way I am
KenSaf
#9 Posted : Thursday, January 20, 2011 11:13:39 AM

smano am M not F. Why?
Doors of opportunity don't just open , they have to be unlocked & it's up to you to turn the knob.
kelele.com
#10 Posted : Thursday, January 20, 2011 11:16:29 AM

The Retro sexual man has returned, and the ladies r allover running after him, the new world order
Sina Signature. NKT
#11 Posted : Thursday, January 20, 2011 11:20:26 AM

If you were female then I'd understand that it's probably a sentiment shared by many chics (and many have voiced as such) but as a guy you wouldn't really know that chic's priorities when it comes to a date and as someone has rightly mentioned above, the circumstances under which they were having that date!

A guy who is driving a lexus probably wears suits the whole week and when most guys are on leave, that's how we dress. For all you know he could have left the house like that to run some errands, catch a pint as his car is washed then go elswhere, only for the chic to call him up.

That said, I have heard from many female quarters how dudes should style up in the dress for a date department so your point remains valid
brav
#12 Posted : Thursday, January 20, 2011 11:24:07 AM

@ProverB two words for you "You are a nut case" ..those are more than two Laughing out loudly Shrouser hmmmm I love wazua.

now wacha dates, my other venue I decided I'll be attending are wedding receptions, the mamas waaahh .... but do men have to wear "Formally"? formally being coats shirts etc, me thinks hii ni colonization kwa hakiri.

... and the Lexus guy was wearing tight from head to car. ...Yaani @KenSaf u fuatad them hadi inje kwa gari? yenyewe that guy alikugusa mahali hua huguzwi..

What about dress codes to other place kama kanisa, bar etc?
KenSaf
#13 Posted : Thursday, January 20, 2011 11:28:57 AM

We Brav wacha, I could be able to see them from the hotel.
#14 Posted : Thursday, January 20, 2011 11:38:46 AM

KenSaf wrote:

In one of the hotels in town, a smartly dressed lady enters, takes a seat at a corner and orders a glass of juice. She keeps on glancing at her watch. Then enters enters a man in a T-shirt, a pair of shorts (not matching) and open shoe, unkempt hair. Scans around and head to where the smartly dressed lady was seating. From the body language they were obviously on a date.

I have seen this previously. Am I right to conclude that most men don't take time to prepare for a date. Unlike his attire,when they left, the guy drove off in a clean Lexus.

For a moment I thought you were referring to me (until the lexus part which I just dream abt). I am always in beat up military shorts whenever I can and never shave when on leave. Its damn comfortable.
chikita
#15 Posted : Thursday, January 20, 2011 11:41:10 AM

marex wrote:
MOST,ladies today care abt other things..like where the man lives, the car model, the job..etc.....coz even a makanga can dress properly

@ Marex, very well put!!But heeee ni muhimu for the man to look good!! Tht chic is waiting until she becomes the mrs na wardrobe is transformed pap!!!!
bird_man
#16 Posted : Thursday, January 20, 2011 11:41:13 AM

@KenSaf
By the way naweza kuwa niko down.How should one dress for such a date?What was the setting?Please advice.
Formally employed people often live their employers' dream & forget about their own.
KenSaf
#17 Posted : Thursday, January 20, 2011 11:46:02 AM

@ Obi, Typical soldier. Reminds me when I was in the forces, guys could go on leave and make sure they don't shave. On the first day of reporting back, they will make sure everybody sees their goatee beard b4 they shave
#18 Posted : Thursday, January 20, 2011 11:54:51 AM

believe you me not, the chick would have screamed and declared the man a pervert (tena those who funny things at GPO mchana) if instead the guy had come in a hot suit, but riding on a boda boda.
A Lexus is not just a car - its a lifestyle statement.
dont no matter how that dude is dressed, hata kama ni akala za firestone - the Lexus compensated.
#19 Posted : Thursday, January 20, 2011 12:08:13 PM

KenSaf wrote:

And you wonder why Kenyan women complain about not getting married?
oops
#20 Posted : Thursday, January 20, 2011 12:09:04 PM

what if hiyo Lexus sio yake?