wazua Sun, Nov 17, 2024

14 Pages«<678910>»
Struggling with weight loss
Forester
#141 Posted : Wednesday, January 19, 2011 4:19:37 PM

Alafu pple don't wash/change their gym wear - the pungent smell could kill louie the pest akiwa mbali sana!!Hii ni tabia mbaya.If you're a culpritShame on you Shame on you Shame on you
Build your own dreams, or someone else will hire you to build theirs - Farrah Gray.
#142 Posted : Wednesday, January 19, 2011 9:46:48 PM

@Forester
...na uvundo kutoka sehemu nyeti!!! is sometimes life threatening combined with hizo nguo hazioswi...
#143 Posted : Wednesday, January 19, 2011 10:38:21 PM

Theu wrote:
Forester wrote:
I'm thinking its definately cheaper to buy gym equipment than kutupa pesa in these expensive gym za Nairobi in the long run.What can a kool 6k per month do?Ata stima haifiki hiyo bei - translates to 72k per year ama 100k+ for membership.Walk into any Nakumatt and look at the prices for a multi-purpose bench that can do sit ups,bench press,humstring and a lot more,add the weights and it won't cost you over 45k,even if you go for a technologically advanced machine,bei is unbelievable - i'm thinking seriously about this prospect this year.smile

You dont even have to go to Nakumatt, there are great second hand gym equipment for a fraction of new ones and in perfect condition! Just got myself an exercise bike for 4k (na iko sawa kabisa)

@Theu, naweza pata wapi hiyo?
Forester
#144 Posted : Thursday, January 20, 2011 9:05:39 AM

Theu wrote:
Forester wrote:
I'm thinking its definately cheaper to buy gym equipment than kutupa pesa in these expensive gym za Nairobi in the long run.What can a kool 6k per month do?Ata stima haifiki hiyo bei - translates to 72k per year ama 100k+ for membership.Walk into any Nakumatt and look at the prices for a multi-purpose bench that can do sit ups,bench press,humstring and a lot more,add the weights and it won't cost you over 45k,even if you go for a technologically advanced machine,bei is unbelievable - i'm thinking seriously about this prospect this year.smile

You dont even have to go to Nakumatt, there are great second hand gym equipment for a fraction of new ones and in perfect condition! Just got myself an exercise bike for 4k (na iko sawa kabisa)

@Theu

Hii duka iko wapi?I'd like to pay a visit.Nothing like improvising na mtungi,unga ya jogoo etc nyumbani and end up looking wierd/shapeless having worked out one side more than the othersmile .Weka directions za duka.
Build your own dreams, or someone else will hire you to build theirs - Farrah Gray.
Theu
#145 Posted : Thursday, January 20, 2011 1:12:32 PM

@forester, jus blazin
Along ngara rd at the junction of ramesh gautama rd. just opp Ngara location DO's office. They are likely to quote anything between 5 and 6k but you of course bargain. All the best.
Forester
#146 Posted : Thursday, January 20, 2011 1:18:06 PM

Theu wrote:
@forester, jus blazin
Along ngara rd at the junction of ramesh gautama rd. just opp Ngara location DO's office. They are likely to quote anything between 5 and 6k but you of course bargain. All the best.

Thanks @Theu lakini jina ya duka umesahau.
Theu
#147 Posted : Thursday, January 20, 2011 1:27:23 PM

@Forester
Honestly sijui jina ya duka! But u cant miss it. Once at at the junction its on your left along ramesh gautama. You will see stuff outside on display.
Pablo
#148 Posted : Thursday, January 20, 2011 9:47:12 PM

Losing weight is actually an exact science. Follow the steps below and see how it works.

1. Evaluate your Basal Calorific Requirements. This are the calories you need just to maintain you heart beat, liver etc. Using the formula

Men: BCR = 66 + (13.7 X wt in kg) + (5 X ht in cm) - (6.8 X age in years)

Women: BCR = 655 + (9.6 X wt in kg) + (1.8 X ht in cm) - (4.7 X age in years)

Using the above I note i personally need 2400 calories per day.

2. To lose say 3kg a month, I need to have a calorie deficit of 3*7,700 = 23,100 Calories in that month. PS 1 Kg = 7,700 calories.

3. Rework calorie deficit per day needed.
Total Calories for the month = 2,400 x 30 = 72,000
Deficit Needed = 23,100
So calories for the month = 72,000 - 23,100 = 48,900 (or 1,630 calories per day)

4. Deficit per day = 2400 - 1630 = 770 Calories per day.

5. Decide if you'll diet or exercise the 770calories.

Note that
40 min of strenuous exercise (aerobics) = 300 calories
1 slice of bread = 100 calories
1 teaspoon of sugar = 16 calories etc.

Your calorific deficit = your weight loss.

ProverB
#149 Posted : Friday, January 21, 2011 10:31:13 AM

..mhmm..
i lose 90 calories per hour while eating..
84 calories per hour while sitting..
66 per hour while sleeping..
90 per hour while watching t.v..
138 per hour while typing..

if i go on 3 week-leave now..i believe i'll be very thin when i get back!
..Let your light so shine before men, that they may see your good works, and glorify your Father which is in heaven...Matt5:16
- 1769 Oxford King James Bible 'Authorized Version
Forester
#150 Posted : Friday, January 21, 2011 11:28:11 AM

ProverB wrote:

if i go on 3 week-leave now..i believe i'll be very thin when i get back!

Your hubby/guy/lady/wife ataambiwa na kange..."Pole bro/siste,lakini hatubebangi miwa".Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
#151 Posted : Friday, January 21, 2011 12:03:34 PM

Pablo wrote:
Losing weight is actually an exact science. Follow the steps below and see how it works.

1. Evaluate your Basal Calorific Requirements. This are the calories you need just to maintain you heart beat, liver etc. Using the formula

Men: BCR = 66 + (13.7 X wt in kg) + (5 X ht in cm) - (6.8 X age in years)

Women: BCR = 655 + (9.6 X wt in kg) + (1.8 X ht in cm) - (4.7 X age in years)

Using the above I note i personally need 2400 calories per day.

2. To lose say 3kg a month, I need to have a calorie deficit of 3*7,700 = 23,100 Calories in that month. PS 1 Kg = 7,700 calories.

3. Rework calorie deficit per day needed.
Total Calories for the month = 2,400 x 30 = 72,000
Deficit Needed = 23,100
So calories for the month = 72,000 - 23,100 = 48,900 (or 1,630 calories per day)

4. Deficit per day = 2400 - 1630 = 770 Calories per day.

5. Decide if you'll diet or exercise the 770calories.

Note that
40 min of strenuous exercise (aerobics) = 300 calories
1 slice of bread = 100 calories
1 teaspoon of sugar = 16 calories etc.

Your calorific deficit = your weight loss.

Heeeey, hikio ni kisomo.... thanks bro/blo
Pablo
#152 Posted : Friday, January 21, 2011 3:27:12 PM

AM actually trying it.
Only problem is that my deficit for the week is undone on friday by tusker and tumbukiza
K22
#153 Posted : Thursday, January 27, 2011 1:26:18 PM

Pablo wrote:
AM actually trying it.
Only problem is that my deficit for the week is undone on friday by tusker and tumbukiza

I noticed earlier this week that my trousers are fitting more loosely and have to adjust the belt 'hole'.... and i have only changed one thing.... tusker. Been on self imposed ututho since turn of the year.

Unfortunately this is unsustainable as this thirst has to be qunched this weekend. Mshahara imeingia

A successful man is one who makes more money than his wife can spend. A successful woman is one who can find such a man
Kwanini
#154 Posted : Thursday, January 27, 2011 3:38:05 PM

@Theu, the building is Kiambu-Mwitumberia--The shop has no name cause it keeps shifting along the said Ngara Road-Belongs to a cartel of extreme auctioneers and other no so getle men of repute. But their stuff is waaaaaay too cheap. U buy and run! Pana tanga tanga hapo.
"For i am the master and the captain of my fate"
#155 Posted : Thursday, January 27, 2011 5:10:35 PM

@Wendz, by the way, hii story imeendaje? we gave a lot of hints...
wairegi
#156 Posted : Sunday, May 08, 2011 11:16:43 AM

Wendz how are you fairing? For me it worked was around 82kg . And now am 72 kg my goal being 70kg. On the flip side all my trousers are ill fitting and need to rework my wardrope.
Burning Spear
#157 Posted : Monday, May 09, 2011 9:46:16 AM

wairegi wrote:
Wendz how are you fairing? For me it worked was around 82kg . And now am 72 kg my goal being 70kg. On the flip side all my trousers are ill fitting and need to rework my wardrope.

There is this weight loss program Lilian Kanene is fronting in the citizen TV,I believe it will be productive though the issue of weight loss is all in the mind.
"You're not supposed to be so blind with patriotism that you can't face reality. Wrong is wrong, no matter who says it". Malcolm X
#158 Posted : Monday, May 09, 2011 1:50:47 PM

There is this weight loss program Lilian Kanene is fronting in the citizen TV,I believe it will be productive though the issue of weight loss is all in the mind.[/quote]

@ BS hii ni gani ya Kanene cos she looks like she needs to eat something Sad - atleast when i saw her just before she left KTN.
Katibampya
#159 Posted : Monday, May 09, 2011 2:27:12 PM

Na watu tunataka kuongeza weight tufanye aje? Am 30+yrs lakini weight yangu ni maneno ingine though sina any health problems.
Burning Spear
#160 Posted : Monday, May 09, 2011 5:20:08 PM

famooz wrote:

There is this weight loss program Lilian Kanene is fronting in the citizen TV,I believe it will be productive though the issue of weight loss is all in the mind.

@ BS hii ni gani ya Kanene cos she looks like she needs to eat something Sad - atleast when i saw her just before she left KTN. [/quote]

Its a programme she is working on and will start airing this week where she will be bringing some women weighing 90+ even 104 kg and monitor them over a period through exercise and diet till they shed some kilos.

I think it will be important for us to watch considering that weight issues affects all of us !!
"You're not supposed to be so blind with patriotism that you can't face reality. Wrong is wrong, no matter who says it". Malcolm X