wazua Sun, Nov 17, 2024

Gbagbo supporters attack UN soilders guarding RAO
Murira Ikihia
#1 Posted : Tuesday, January 18, 2011 3:07:18 PM

Looks like a poisoned chalice. Anyhow, RAO is a veteran of many riots including "peaceful demonstrations". I think AU knew he was the only guy who couldn't throw away such an opportunity to chalk up credentials of international mediation.

http://www.nation.co.ke/.../-/115rl8sz/-/index.html
#2 Posted : Tuesday, January 18, 2011 3:11:04 PM

Luck them Ivorians.There is no railway line from Kenya to Abidjan.
#3 Posted : Tuesday, January 18, 2011 3:12:30 PM

Mungu amlinde AmoloPray
Njore
#4 Posted : Tuesday, January 18, 2011 3:47:36 PM

Much as I would like our compatriot to succeed in this noble mission, it is my considered opinion that he is not doing enough homework to understand why the two opposing parties are digging in deeper by day. The situation is getting very delicate each day and if a settlement is not realized soonest, it could degenerate into another civil war. Do I need to remind you that it is still fresh in the minds of Gbagbo's supporters that RAO is pro-Outtara.
#5 Posted : Tuesday, January 18, 2011 3:48:20 PM

Kiherehere na mdomo baggy
#6 Posted : Tuesday, January 18, 2011 3:53:11 PM

@njore, @skabz, Raila has been sent by AU which is already biased towards Ouattara
#7 Posted : Tuesday, January 18, 2011 4:14:00 PM

gbagbo and his supporters do not really appreciate RAO as a mediator on the basis that he was involved in a similar dispute not long ago, which took other personnel to arbitrate.

RAOs mediation terms are for gbagbo to step down and disappear from the limelite...the question from gbagbos is, is he (RAO) telling him to do something he (RAO) himself did not do? next, RAO is already bent towards ouattara and is thereforwe not neutral which makes gbagbo mad...next RAO has expressed turning to military action if the mediation does not yield any fruits. this makes the gbagbos even more mad...

imho, RAO should just throw in the towel and urge the AU to send neutral mediators...after all he has more problems at home which requires his attention...
#8 Posted : Tuesday, January 18, 2011 4:20:37 PM

Kaigangio wrote:
gbagbo and his supporters do not really appreciate RAO as a mediator..

some truth there, remember by contrast how much we looked forward to Annan, and literaly didnt want him to go until the principal Mpigs declared a truce.

i keep getting the feeling that that issue of the 3m Burkinabe immigrants in key to understanding Outarra's huge support...its like the bedrock of Outtara's votes/ support came from the Burkinabe who the ordinary Ivorians don't like and therefore perceive as a Burkinabe preso coming to run their (ivorians) country. its like a tug of war between hosts and immigrant communities. Just a thought.
Spend.thrift
#9 Posted : Tuesday, January 18, 2011 4:39:20 PM

Intelligentsia wrote:
Kaigangio wrote:
gbagbo and his supporters do not really appreciate RAO as a mediator..

some truth there, remember by contrast how much we looked forward to Annan, and literaly didnt want him to go until the principal Mpigs declared a truce.

i keep getting the feeling that that issue of the 3m Burkinabe immigrants in key to understanding Outarra's huge support...its like the bedrock of Outtara's votes/ support came from the Burkinabe who the ordinary Ivorians don't like and therefore perceive as a Burkinabe preso coming to run their (ivorians) country. its like a tug of war between hosts and immigrant communities. Just a thought.

And it happens these Burkinabes and other reional immigrants are citizens under CI's constitution and had a right to vote.

I don't like Gbagbo. I also don't like Ouattara. And I didn't like the AU's idea of mediation (Did the AU really want a solution?), and most importantly, I don't like the idea of military intervention.
#10 Posted : Tuesday, January 18, 2011 4:41:06 PM

@gizzard, my exact sentiments. 2m nigerians, 3m burkinabe. Watara hatoboi
#11 Posted : Tuesday, January 18, 2011 5:30:54 PM

@Spendthrift, what other options are there!? Sanctions? so what do you recommend be done to solve the stalemate?
yekeyeke
#12 Posted : Tuesday, January 18, 2011 6:13:22 PM

My hope is that all ends well for the well being of the citizens of that country. No huma being needs this kind of stress.
#13 Posted : Tuesday, January 18, 2011 6:38:02 PM

Today RAO referred to Qattara as 'president Qattara'- that kind of confrontation won't work......i hope that is not what prompted the attack?
#14 Posted : Tuesday, January 18, 2011 7:22:23 PM

famooz wrote:
Today RAO referred to Qattara as 'president Qattara'- that kind of confrontation won't work......i hope that is not what prompted the attack?

as well he is, gbagbo lost fair and square, he should not even be pampered by anyone, AENDEEE!! what "confrontation" are you talking about, another counrty cannot afford to go the KENYAN way, kibaki lost and he stayed, mugabe lost and he stayed, eish kwani nini? gbagbo must go! kabisa i dont even know why he is still being pampered like a small kid!! ABK!Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you
#15 Posted : Tuesday, January 18, 2011 7:32:26 PM

.......looks like this allegation of an attack against the PM is lacking in truth!!!!!
alikujia
#16 Posted : Tuesday, January 18, 2011 10:30:09 PM

Rao was certainly not the right choice for mediation, but for eviction of gabgo because that is what he had already said he stood for.

But then again i think he offered himself for the job before the vacancy details was anounced- yes i believe that was the case.

On the other hand the situation needed a strongman. Remember mediation has been going on several years already, that actually culminated in the elections.

I shudder to think where ICoast would have been by now without the international community in the form of UN peacekeepers. And one KM is now going around that Africa doesnt need the wider international community.

The CIvoire "foreign" population just complicates the equation too much.
#17 Posted : Tuesday, January 18, 2011 11:27:05 PM

alikujia wrote:
Rao was certainly not the right choice for mediation, but for eviction of gabgo because that is what he had already said he stood for.

But then again i think he offered himself for the job before the vacancy details was anounced- yes i believe that was the case.

On the other hand the situation needed a strongman. Remember mediation has been going on several years already, that actually culminated in the elections.

I shudder to think where ICoast would have been by now without the international community in the form of UN peacekeepers. And one KM is now going around that Africa doesnt need the wider international community.

The CIvoire "foreign" population just complicates the equation too much.

KM is a very retarded bastard, may his mission be doomed.
#18 Posted : Wednesday, January 19, 2011 11:00:47 AM

Kenyans are a very interesting lot! These are the only species of people on earth who can oppose one of their own when he/she gets an international appointment.

What wrong has Raila done for being asked by AU to go and mediate? Please be realistic and objective in your criticisms. He was appointed by the AU to articulate the AU position on the crisis. The AU and the rest of the World has never pretended to be neutral in this matter - they all hold that Gbagbo lost the election, and Raila was picked precisely because he shared that position. The position has not changed, so Raila remains the AU rep there.

Most here are pretending to know more about diplomacy than the AU who certified him fit for the job. Bravo Kenyans ...who will save you from this terrible disease?
Spend.thrift
#19 Posted : Wednesday, January 19, 2011 12:02:12 PM

Intelligentsia wrote:
@Spendthrift, what other options are there!? Sanctions? so what do you recommend be done to solve the stalemate?

@ Intelligentsia. Tunisia is the best model for removing Gbagbo.

My reasons;
1.Ouattara called for mass action it failed: You then want to question if he really won.
2. Who wants Gbagbo out (speaking in terms of majority)? If the Ivorians want him out, let them revolt Tunisia style. Otherwise, they are monkeys, and Gbagbo is their monkey?
3. The international community is throwing its weight behind Ouattara, whose case Ocampo should be following alongside Gbagbo's.
#20 Posted : Wednesday, January 19, 2011 12:47:45 PM

@Spend.thrift, I understand your drift but it can't work in (Cote d'Ivoire (CI) because the dynamics are so fundamentally different!

In Tunisia there was resentment over the political class's excesses/opulence, corruption (the preso's son-in-law even had a pet lion) in a sea of widespread suffering of the common pips as represented by the veggie hawker who set himself on fire coz of frustration he couldn't sustain himself. So it was people vs the system -a kinda class war.
But in CI it is host communities (personified by Gbagbo) pitted against the ascencion to power of the immigrant communities (personified by Outtara) that have settled in the country. It has really nothing to do with the 2 men, just who they each represent. Its the undercurrents of deep-seated and long running resentment of immigrants that has come to the surface.

Its a dangerous politico-social quagmire, and Gbagbo would actually be risking his life if he abdicates power, juu his own folks will butcher him. Ditto Outtara.
If the 2 communities can't make up soon - I fear civil strife,and it to be a regional conflagration as neighbouring states like Burkina Faso become drawn into the conflict as they can't be expected to just watch as their citizens who migrated to CI (and who have elected Outtara) are butchered.
May Ecowas/ Ecomog step in fast. My God help W.Africa.