wazua Sun, May 3, 2026

Re: Your views Please!
Ric dees
#1 Posted : Monday, January 17, 2011 3:05:07 PM

On Friday i attended a parents day for my ricdeelet. She is in what we call reception 6 months - 3 years (think baby class is the loosley referred term in Kenya).

Now there is an asian (japanese) child who i must admit is quite bright (very evident) but on the parents meeting her parents were warned her "Knowledge" is disruptive and if these continues she maybe asked to leave as her learnedness does not contribute to a condusive learning environment as a matter of fact it creates tension which breeds hatred WTF (why the fuss)

Now there tois there who just scribble their names and there others in the class who can write their names according to the teachers they are all equal, surely is this right,should i pull her out or what i my not seeing? parents please cheap in??

The greatest danger in times of turbulence is not the turbulence; it is to act with yesterday's logic.
#2 Posted : Monday, January 17, 2011 3:46:25 PM

Ric dees wrote:

On Friday i attended a parents day for my ricdeelet. She is in what we call reception 6 months - 3 years (think baby class is the loosley referred term in Kenya).

Now there is an asian (japanese) child who i must admit is quite bright (very evident) but on the parents meeting her parents were warned her "Knowledge" is disruptive and if these continues she maybe asked to leave as her learnedness does not contribute to a condusive learning environment as a matter of fact it creates tension which breeds hatred WTF (why the fuss)

Now there tois there who just scribble their names and there others in the class who can write their names according to the teachers they are all equal, surely is this right,should i pull her out or what i my not seeing? parents please cheap in??

Children learn differently. You will always find children who lead the teacher and those who will require the teacher to slow down. The problem comes in if your child is at either the former group or the later group.... In the former, the child is restricted/bored so he directs his energy to other things - usually mischief. In the later group, if the teacher is not keen and does not take special effort to deal with the child personally, the child just sails through school and does not learn much. The children hence should not be treated the same... Again, there are homes that are more conducive to learning so the children tend to learn more than what their peers know.... so rate your child and see where she fits. that way. you will make an informed decision than just removing her and then finding the next school is doing the same. You will also know how to assist the child at home. if she is ahead of the rest and is getting bored in class, give her some work at home that is her level... if lower, put your effort in it to get her to the level with her peers... or take her to the school she can fit.
#3 Posted : Monday, January 17, 2011 4:05:50 PM

Know it all kids are sometime disruptive if not kept on check so its better for a parent to cut the horn early to save the kid from wandering away.

If the kid is a genius they are not supposed to learn with normal kids as this create an environment where either the Kid is getting wasted or the other kids are getting a raw deal from the teacher due to the 'cleverness' of that kid.
#4 Posted : Monday, January 17, 2011 4:16:27 PM

@Wendz
Mmmmmh.... So now I begin to understand why I was bored right through primary school.. lol
#5 Posted : Monday, January 17, 2011 4:47:14 PM

@bwenyenye LOL! Wacha UJINGA
kelele.com
#6 Posted : Monday, January 17, 2011 4:55:41 PM

The know it all kid should be removed from that class because that kid will dwarf the rest leading to an inferiority complex..that's exactly wat happened to me..when I was in class three...Nov 1997 was in class 3, Jan 1998-class five.!!
Sina Signature. NKT
marex
#7 Posted : Monday, January 17, 2011 5:01:43 PM

Yaani Kelele......

97 u were in class three....

Did u mistake wazua for insyder , if I may ask?
The way I am
Ric dees
#8 Posted : Monday, January 17, 2011 5:03:13 PM

@Wendz,
I see your point (good one at that) there are various challenges in the systems here. You can only take your child to school if you leave in that locality. Say you live in Westlands, you cannot take your child to Parklands, it has to be westlands unless you move to Parklands.

That said she goes to what you call a grammar school (considered the best) however due to our nature she has been exposed probably much more than most due to what she has experienced back home. I remember once the the teacher called us to verify the truth of a "story" my rideelet was giving to the class on how water moves either clockwise or anti-clockwise on different hemespheres (any-one being to the equator crossing in Nanyuki to see this demonstration) needless to say i was livid. but all in all i see your point thanks.

The greatest danger in times of turbulence is not the turbulence; it is to act with yesterday's logic.
#9 Posted : Monday, January 17, 2011 5:11:10 PM

kelele.com wrote:
...when I was in class three...Nov 1997 was in class 3, Jan 1998-class five.!!

Explains much...no offense
#10 Posted : Monday, January 17, 2011 5:16:43 PM

Ric dees wrote:

should i pull her out or what i my not seeing? parents please cheap in??

I think as it has been said above,kid's paces are very different and as a parent,you just have to learn your kid and assist from home the little bits you think the school/teacher didnt cover. However,i believe the school your kid goes to assigns 2 teachers per class?(teacher and assistant) as opposed to the schools where some of us went to that had 1 teacher screaming her frustrations to 100 of us and thus no time for the teacher to focus on each child individualy,and the overly bright and OR academically challenged were left to suffer...

I think you shouldn't be too worried,in as much as the teacher was airing her concerns, she and her assistant know how to handle the different clusters of kids in their class. And btw,shouldn't such info be passed to the parent confidentially as opposed to being ambushed in a parent's meeting? I can only imagine how they felt and with the complicated system in your end of the world.. they must be stressed:(