wazua Sun, May 3, 2026

8 Pages«<5678>
truck driver beats up cop
#61 Posted : Monday, January 17, 2011 3:43:20 PM

all you guys can argue on this legal-speak till the cows come home, but all ordinary street savvy kenyans (motorists&non-motorists) know in kenya it is not practical, nor is it even recommended in the first place, that u try stop a cop from entering ur car whether or not iko na makosa. Never mind the car is yours, but it is simply not the done thing. Heck, you are even meant to give wide beaming smiles when the officer is riding in your car! If u refused one cop and got away, sawa u lucky dude, but try it again and again and we will eagerly await to chambua your clip on both youtube, tv and on wazua.I don't like it a minute but law and reality on the ground in this case are several light years apart.
Tommy
#62 Posted : Monday, January 17, 2011 3:57:15 PM

callaspade wrote:
@rasilio,pondi.....they hit you with blunt objects otherwise you sue for torture.
...and then later in the night, they release you to the hardcore fellows in the cells who make you their girlfriend that night......Laughing out loudly

Girlfriend Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
Don't wait for the Last Judgment. It happens every day. ~Albert Camus, The Fall, 1956
Tommy
#63 Posted : Monday, January 17, 2011 4:00:16 PM

callaspade wrote:
@rasilio,pondi.....they hit you with blunt objects otherwise you sue for torture.
...and then later in the night, they release you to the hardcore fellows in the cells who make you their girlfriend that night......Laughing out loudly

Girlfriend Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
Don't wait for the Last Judgment. It happens every day. ~Albert Camus, The Fall, 1956
#64 Posted : Monday, January 17, 2011 4:02:54 PM

I think the real issue is why motorists, and Kenyans in general have lost faith in the police force. If I believed that they acted in good faith, the question of not allowing them in my car/ property does not arise. The fact is that these guys have proven themselves, time and again, to be upto no good. The idea of a PR office for them was good but it may not have worked well. Kenyans feel, and correct me of I am wrong, that the Police work only for two people. The rich ( politicians) and themselves. Nothing else. That is why when we hear of shoot out, we first believe the other person who says the guy was innocent.. bla bla bla. The perpetual support of criminals by civil society has not helped much either. Have you noticed that nowadays motorists hardly yield for a police car even with the siren blaring? Why because 85% of the times it is being misused to ferry a fat cat home or to see a date (IOW there was no emergency)! Have we forgottten why community policing has not been too successful? Coz you report a hooligan and the same cop goes to tell him of your action.

The police have to EARN respect once more. There is no two ways about it. They may harm or even get rid of that lorry guy, but if there is anyone who believes in the future of the force ( beyond poltics) they must address this issue.

The securty of a country is BEST respected than Feared. The Army seem to have retained their respect by not allowing themselves to be muddled into politics.

Qyestion> If you were driving and found and army lorry broken down at night. A fully dressed soldier stops you and asks you that he would wish to get a lift to a particular place to get help, would you assist? Now supposing you found a cop van in an alley.. and out pops a guy who is dressed worse than a thug coz he is flying squad, utasimama kweli?..... Moral, the way you present yourself matters alot and mostlly determines how people handle you.
Wa_ithaka
#65 Posted : Monday, January 17, 2011 4:49:27 PM

Very true Bwenyewe.
That bit about ignoring sirens reminds me of a certain ka-minister who was going JKIA the other day. Watu walikataa kutoka njia. It was the packed Uhuru highway. Eventually, some askari came brandishing his fimbo, guys just ignored him. I am pretty sure the minister missed his plane.

I also noticed a lot Nyeri mathrees ignoring the kalau handwaving on the Nyeri-Nai road over the Xmas season. many are fed up of having to pay Ksh100 every journey
The Governor of Nyeri - 2017
Tommy
#66 Posted : Monday, January 17, 2011 4:51:29 PM

I am concerned what history these two might have.
#67 Posted : Monday, January 17, 2011 5:21:17 PM

@Bwenyenye,
Amen to that!!......The image of the cop being beaten by a civilian in broad daylight is a spit image of how they are viewed by the rest of us.Not that i advocate breaking the law,but if this image is not cleaned,that view will be held a thousand years from now......It is time cops asked themselves when the rains (read lorry drivers/civilians) started beating them.
#68 Posted : Thursday, January 20, 2011 10:40:39 AM

The truck driver was released on a 30,000/= bail he will appear in court next on march 2nd.Lucky for him he didnt go the Lang,ata way.
#69 Posted : Thursday, January 20, 2011 10:47:37 AM

He had a thick white bandage on his head in court...he didn't look like he was bleeding much in the video....

Said he has never hurt a fly in 42 years i.e.he's not violent...judge told him he'll say all that when proceedings begin. Fair hearing? I doubt he'll get one, whatever vindicating explanations he might have..
annsal
#70 Posted : Thursday, January 20, 2011 10:47:56 AM

Atleast they didnt batter him 2death
God loves a Trier!
8 Pages«<5678>