wazua Thu, Feb 6, 2025

Wrong Number
#1 Posted : Saturday, January 15, 2011 3:08:08 PM

Mr. Koech all the documents have been proccessed the only one left is is the signatures of leutenant Kemboi who will be on ground on replacement day u can finish the remaining 20k 4me to send u the form. Call me back pliz if you got the msg. Thanks

I received that sms - word for word (including spelling mistakes) - yesterday morning and decided to ignore it. I smelt something fishy. I also reasoned out that if it was genuine communication the sender will call Mr. Kemboi if he doesn't hear from him.

After an hour or so, I am called from the same number. The fellow on the other side goes "Hello Mr. Kemboi...". I immediately inform him that I am not Mr. Kemboi. He goes like "Sorry. Who are you?". Nice try! Like I was going to fall for that one. I simply tell him this is another person. Now we get to the juicy part. He tells that He is Lieutenant Korir - a 'fact' he repeats thrice in the first 30 seconds - and he is calling from the airport. He tells me that there was some recruitment that was done earlier by the military but there were two people who were to be replaced. Apparently he is in charge of the replacement and he has organized with Mr. Kemboi to pick his two sons. He waits for me to take the bait but it's not gonna happen! He begs me to delete the message because it was a secret between him and Mr. Kemboi bla bla bla. He even promises to reward me if I cooperate and delete the 'sensitive' sms! In between he tries to get my name, where I work etc. but it doesn't work. I'm wondering, why give me more details than were in the sms and still pretend how sensitive the sms was in the first place...

To cut a long story short, warn your friends about this "wrong number scam". I know most wazuans wouldn't fall for such crap, but we have people around us who can.
#2 Posted : Saturday, January 15, 2011 3:33:06 PM

And today mid-morning I receive a frantic call from an acquittance who needs money ASAP to send to a fellow who is getting his son into the military. He gives me the sms story [see sms below] and I almost fall off my chair with laughter. He tells me he received an sms which was meant for someone else on Wednesday and called the number. The fellow on the other side apologized and went through the baiting process. This acquittance of mine told him about his son and how he has been trying to join the military for years. He begs the fellow to organize for his son also to join the military. Knowing he has his man, the fellow starts playing hard ball. Apparently there are only 4 positions left, the notice is too short, there are other senior fellows involved bla bla bla. My friend begs the fellow and the fellow finally agrees to see what he can do. They exchange a number of calls over the last three days. The guy updates my friend on the progress, gets details of the son - names, schools attended, grades, home area, name of the chief etc. All this is done pole pole to make it look genuine. Today was the climax. He was called and was told to send around 25k by 3:00pm. That was apparently the deadline for recruitment/placement and "there is a huge competition for the 4 remaining slots". The money was actually for the "senior officers", "Yangu tutaongea kijana akichukuliwa". The fellow had bought the story 120% and wanted a soft loan from me to add on what he had so that he can send the guys before the deadline!

The sms he had received:

Siz nitumie majina na ID ya Ken. Nimeongea na Kianga CGS wa D.O.D. Amekubali kuchukua Ken na vijana wengine 5 kujaza nafasi hapa R.T.S. Eldoret kwa Jeshi.
#3 Posted : Saturday, January 15, 2011 6:40:58 PM

so he wanted to get money from you? how were you going to sent him the money yet you dont know him? some things dont just happen! no let me re-phrase; SOME THINGS CAN NEVER HAPPEN!
mozenrat
#4 Posted : Saturday, January 15, 2011 7:49:14 PM

@Kyt.. they do happen... I know of at least one person who fell for this. There are people who are always looking for a "good" deal even when one is not required.

My profession keeps me in close contact with these schemes and I could tell you hundreds of stories...
#5 Posted : Sunday, January 16, 2011 4:29:01 AM

@Maich,
I have five of this sent from an Airtel line (0733406057).....Not that i would fall for this kind of CRAP but i thought registering our numbers should have made identifying of this scammers quite easy.This one should be traced and locked up especially after invoking the name of Maj.Gen Kianga.
#6 Posted : Sunday, January 16, 2011 12:27:07 PM

Assumption is that he is not already locked up and cooling his heels at Kamiti while storing the phone safely up his a**e
#7 Posted : Sunday, January 16, 2011 2:23:55 PM

The crooks have upped their game!
#8 Posted : Sunday, January 16, 2011 2:31:09 PM

BD13AU128 Confirmed.
You have received Ksh10,000 from JEMUTAI KIPTOO 254725043691 on 16/01/11 at12:24am New M-PESA balance is Ksh20,000.

Received the above from +254725043691 today. Then I get a call from a lady but connection was not good so got disconnected. She is yet to call back.

Almost fell for it because I had coincidentally just received an email which was received at the same time on my phone with the text. So read the email first and it was from a debtor who told me he shall pay me 10k today by MPESA. Of course I figured that the text could be the MPESA and read it just to find that it was for a transfer of 10k. Unfortunately had no money in my account to make it 20k so as I checked the text thinking that maybe my debtor had used a third party to transfer the money which third party did it twice by mistake I realised that the text came from the above number and not from MPESA.
Dod
#9 Posted : Sunday, January 16, 2011 2:42:57 PM

Someone beeped me. I did not know the no so I ignored. The same no beeped again after about 10 mins.
Finally he called:
Me: Hello
Caller: Tumelipwa tuku uwe.
Me: Mmelipwa pesa ngapi?
Caller: Elfu mia tano.
Me: Jinga, mfanye haraka.

I am still alive 3 months later.
The rich have money working for them; the poor and the middle class are going to work for money.
X13united
#10 Posted : Sunday, January 16, 2011 2:58:19 PM

My understanding is that these guys are well educated,the only down fall would perhaps be that random sms being sent to the General himself. Unfortunately,if they have the courage to shove a qwerty phone up their rectum,then they can hook up our prezo with one slot not comprehendin that Jimmy is old enough to be a ret.maj.gen. Jimmy.Its life!
#11 Posted : Monday, January 17, 2011 8:16:41 AM

Dod wrote:
Someone beeped me. I did not know the no so I ignored. The same no beeped again after about 10 mins.
Finally he called:
Me: Hello
Caller: Tumelipwa tuku uwe.
Me: Mmelipwa pesa ngapi?
Caller: Elfu mia tano.
Me: Jinga, mfanye haraka.

I am still alive 3 months later.

hehehehehehehee... good one!
Jacy26
#12 Posted : Monday, January 17, 2011 9:21:15 AM

Received this from +254722560143 on 12/01/11 "Hi sis, I've talked to the GENERAL,only five chances in the Airforce. He agreed to take Ken. Fax his papers & copy of ID immediately. Report on Monday 9a.m D.O.D."

Thank God I didn't bother to call.
If you have only one smile in you, give it to the people you love - Maya Angelou
#13 Posted : Monday, January 17, 2011 9:24:55 AM

very interesting exposures guys...so that much vaunted crap about registration will deter crooks plus malenge ni mboga was pure concentrated cowdung
QD
#14 Posted : Monday, January 17, 2011 10:39:50 AM

Wonder why Kenyans are so gullible. How can you win a game you have not played? how do you trust and send money to a person you have not seen, met and agreed on the transaction,worse still how do you identify yourself to a stranger who has called you for i think they need to identify themselves first and their motive to call you.
The problem with the world is that the intelligent people are full of doubts while the stupid ones are full of confidence
mjuaji wa stocks
#15 Posted : Monday, January 17, 2011 11:45:07 AM

They wrote the same to my house Girl....

Kenya army replacements ..... bla bla bla

Do not bother to reply or even call!!!
God gave me the power to make wealth ... Blessed the work of my hands & enabled be A SELF MADE BILLIONAIRE ...... TO GOD THE FATHER OF MY LORD JESUS CHRIST; BE THE GLORY NOW & FOREVER MORE!

#16 Posted : Monday, January 17, 2011 12:05:33 PM

The "Mr. Koech" sms came from 0702083526 and the "Hi Siz..." one from 0702029567.
#17 Posted : Monday, January 17, 2011 12:07:53 PM

Siz nitumie majina na ID ya Ken. Nimeongea na Kianga CGS wa D.O.D. Amekubali kuchukua Ken na vijana wengine 5 kujaza nafasi hapa R.T.S. Eldoret kwa Jeshi.

Thank God for Wazua! I also received the sms above,this morning and almost txd back to inform the sender that its a wrong number... But just as i was about to do so,my instinct told me not to and am soo glad i didn't! The idiot's number is 0722 167462

@Wazua admin or anyone who works for safcom/airtel... please assist us in stamping out this scammers via tracing the numbers listed above. I still have the sms on my phone and wouldn't mind producing it as evidence...

Washindwe!
#18 Posted : Monday, January 17, 2011 12:37:06 PM

leona wrote:
[quote=MaichBlack]

@Wazua admin or anyone who works for safcom/airtel... please assist us in stamping out this scammers via tracing the numbers listed above. I still have the sms on my phone and wouldn't mind producing it as evidence...

Washindwe!

Don't think you would go far with that. If you trace the numbers don't be surprised to find a General Kianga being one of the 'owners' of the numbers. From today's Standard it appears that these people use fake IDs with military officers' names to register the phone numbers.
bendi3
#19 Posted : Monday, January 17, 2011 12:58:58 PM

Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause And just like that Kenya is surpassing China in the use of technology to change the way we live.
The early worm, is the one caught by the early bird.........
#20 Posted : Monday, January 17, 2011 1:15:48 PM

Never send money to anonymous caller.
NEVER EVER.