Don't know if it ever happened to anyone else.
Time around 10 am 13th Jan 11. I originate a series of payments of Kes xxx to 5 chaps. All went well but last payment had the feedback "mpesa experiencing delays...."
No problem. 10 min later the last transaction goes through. All recipients confirm receipt and are instructed to proceed, withdraw and buy at market, the bulls r already charging.
End of story...
No Wait... This will take looooong...
Today at 8.00 am Kanuthu calls to say Yes, he got the N-Pesa Confirmation message but his account Did NOT update..Hoooold it there buddy... been around for long. Did u trasfer the bakes to Gacwiri your toothless girlfriend? No boss. I swear in the name of the earthquake goddess i got the confimation sms but no cash. i swear boss.. i woud rather con the devil himself, rather than mess with u.
Good. hit me with the sms u got, and before Bobby Poleman can say Feelanga free with Zain, report back to base.ASAP
Rrrrriiiing, This no 100, Gosh is it the direct line to Heaven or what? No one wants to pick the line.... Mmm. Time to consult the oracles. Accchio! aaachio ! Kalumanzira! How do we get help from Safaricom..... 234.
Riiiing ....voila. The most sweetest sound on earth.... Sue, if u are reading this... Have a cold one on me. Will settle the bill after my kadividend of 20cts goes through... U win the Moraness of The art of Disarming Annoyed Clients.
Now what can i do for you today? oooh, am i getting hypnotized or what? Yesterday, I sent Ksh xxx to one Kanuthu number xxx and he is still waiting 24 hours later. His account did not update.
Sue: Yes dear, the transaction is in our system and was received by the number said number . But u later reversed the same.
Ngai fafa... Hold it. Right there..where is may bakora.... who reversed what, when?
Sue: Please hold...
.....These guys... what do they smoke in between customer care moments....May be she needs to scratch up there.... i mean a bamba mbao....
Sue: Are u still there...i may have to EEEESCAALATE..your call. Escalate?...so sweet... who is teaching these girls Queens Grammar, Escavate?
Oh yes....Excalation will be in order... i aint goin nowhere, till i get ma money back. Please Escavate the call.
EXCAVATOR: Harsh Monotone voice.... HEELO.... Kwani this guy works for the Morgue on the side...? >...Both of u will have to visit us at OUR offices. Bring your ID. The case has been refereed to our FLAAAUD Unit. FLAAAUD Unit ?... What FLAAUD..is this CSI- Miami?
The Long and short of it. Never one to ever give up easily, We did visit the Customer care and the money was finally re-routed to Bwana Kanuthu. Apparently, the transaction had been intercepted to a number which has since been blocked.
Didnt make sense to me too.
"For i am the master and the captain of my fate"