wazua Mon, Jul 21, 2025

8 Pages<12345>»
What do 1-bob Airtel calls mean for Safaricom share price?
#41 Posted : Saturday, January 15, 2011 1:11:55 PM

VVS, Safaricom will sue you for aiding and abetting ''translocation of revenue from its 'rightful' source''smile Call your lawyer
#42 Posted : Saturday, January 15, 2011 4:43:20 PM

Why arent people writing the epitaph for scon? AK beat the living daylights out of vodaphone in India, the Brits are arrogant and dont learn their lessons (especially from colonies), so how will they manage this onslaught?
Ali Baba
#43 Posted : Saturday, January 15, 2011 4:58:55 PM

GG:We will very soon.Next week I'm migrating to Airtell......
#44 Posted : Saturday, January 15, 2011 5:40:34 PM

Gordon Gekko wrote:
Why arent people writing the epitaph for scon? AK beat the living daylights out of vodaphone in India, the Brits are arrogant and dont learn their lessons (especially from colonies), so how will they manage this onslaught?

Just like BBK will be done
X13united
#45 Posted : Saturday, January 15, 2011 6:25:52 PM

chris79 wrote:
X13united wrote:
The other day they took all my credit thanks to leaving my internet on through the night.

@X13 united, how do you leave your internet on all night and expect your credit to be still there in the morning?

#46 Posted : Saturday, January 15, 2011 7:04:26 PM

X13united wrote:
chris79 wrote:
X13united wrote:
The other day they took all my credit thanks to leaving my internet on through the night.

@X13 united, how do you leave your internet on all night and expect your credit to be still there in the morning?

@ X, i left my orange modem for 2 hours and had not moved a byte, i dont know why safcom cant do the same, care to explain?
X13united
#47 Posted : Saturday, January 15, 2011 7:09:15 PM

X13united wrote:
chris79 wrote:
X13united wrote:

mozenrat
#48 Posted : Saturday, January 15, 2011 7:11:50 PM

kyt wrote:
X13united wrote:
chris79 wrote:
X13united wrote:

@ X, i left my orange modem for 2 hours and had not moved a byte, i dont know why safcom cant do the same, care to explain?

Kyt... I surf on Safaricom and I know for a fact that even if you "left the internet on" for three days your credit remains the same UNLESS there is some sort of continuous interaction e.g. Windows updates,Anti-virus updates, a large file left downloading, email synchronisation etc. In that case you'd be charge regardless of the network you're using.

People need to learn how technology works before they post nonsense here.
X13united
#49 Posted : Saturday, January 15, 2011 7:32:28 PM

mozenrat wrote:
kyt wrote:
X13united wrote:
chris79 wrote:
X13united wrote:

Kyt... I surf on Safaricom and I know for a fact that even if you "left the internet on" for three days your credit remains the same UNLESS there is some sort of continuous interaction e.g. Windows updates,Anti-virus updates, a large file left downloading, email synchronisation etc. In that case you'd be charge regardless of the network you're using.

People need to learn how technology works before they post nonsense here.

@mozenrat- say what? nonsense? dont get personal here;argumentum ad hom-maybe you are a safcm employee fearin for your job. I took my time to call c.care n ofcourse they confirmed that it was their fault. Now brother,take that word back before you get barred from gettin to heaven. Hah!
mozenrat
#50 Posted : Saturday, January 15, 2011 8:17:42 PM

X.. if you're going to give me a lesson in the fallacies of argument, you'd do well to avoid them yourself.. but NO I'm not a safaricom employee.. I'm self-employed...

and no I wasn't responding to your statements since you hadn't provided all the facts, I was responding to Kyt's assertions..

Hiyo ya heaven ni yako, so I won't bother.
#51 Posted : Saturday, January 15, 2011 9:58:13 PM

@ moze i use a mac so no updates, i update when i want, and no anti-virus my guy, and may be just may be i know tech stuff more than you. as you have read from the contributor @ x, it was safaricom fault and of course if he had not called the customer care he would not have gotten his bytes back! as for non-sense, those are your comments and you are entitled to them.
smooth
#52 Posted : Sunday, January 16, 2011 12:23:10 PM

Safcom are likely to have a fixed charge per day as Airtel have done, thus giving them a guaranteed revenue each day . then perhaps sweeten this to 75 cents per min on net calls.Am told Tigo Tanzania has tsh 50 cents on net calls. But the truth though is that their will be reduced revenue and reduced profits.
the deal
#53 Posted : Sunday, January 16, 2011 12:51:22 PM

The biggest loser in this price war will be KRA...already KRA is reporting deficits..its time GOK intervened.
#54 Posted : Sunday, January 16, 2011 2:52:59 PM

the deal wrote:
The biggest loser in this price war will be KRA...already KRA is reporting deficits..its time GOK intervened.
TOTAL NONSENSE...

1) KRA/GoK taxes us. They do NOT create revenue streams! So any 'income/revenue' is from US [taxpayers]

2) Based on your FAULTY argument... petrol prices should be HIGHER by adding additional taxes so GoK/KRA 'makes' more money??? Silly argument.

3) GoK is NOT the best/efficient spender of MY money. I pay taxes coz I am FORCED to do so. I hate paying MPigs huge salaries & perks for doing jack shit! Other pigs include alfred mutua!

4) KRA should go after the untaxed industries [to lower the burden on legit taxpayers] like matatus, jua kali, mitumba, drug dealers [it is illegal not to pay tax on earnings from illegal activities - Al Capone was convicted of evading taxes NOT for smuggling or murders]. A further benefit is creating a level playing field.

5) KRA needs to nab untaxed earnings from Eastleigh. I am certain that 90% of the goods sold there never comes to KRA's attention.

6) I use many more minutes with lower prices. I am also more productive & get deals done over the phone instead of meeting in person. This creates efficiencies across the board that creates an additional economic stimulus.

Ali Baba
#55 Posted : Sunday, January 16, 2011 3:07:04 PM

THE DEAL: The only class of people who can have such an argument is either an MP(who doesn't pay tax),or a Cabinet minister or a PS( remember the Tokyo Embassy sh1.2B scam?)who feel that if KRA collects less tax,there will be less money to squander!You wouldn't like to pay less for your calls? For me,the tax-paying commoner, Airtel is the best thing to happen in Kenya.
Dod
#56 Posted : Sunday, January 16, 2011 3:14:54 PM

the deal wrote:

Tax compliance in Kenya is only 40%.
KRA need to up their game to nab the evading 60%.
The rich have money working for them; the poor and the middle class are going to work for money.
#57 Posted : Sunday, January 16, 2011 3:35:38 PM

Dod wrote:
the deal wrote:

Non-compliance is probably even higher! Many Kenyans have NO idea of direct taxation...

1) Herders in NEP province. Tax kitu gani? [Some of these guys have HUGE herds & are millionaires]

2) Maasais - Ask a Maasai to 'pay' 1 cow for every 10 cows he sells... Expect a spear through your stomach while he ponders the 'request'...

3) Drug Barons

4) Casinos - Or the patrons 'laundering' cash there

5) Eastleigh - How many somali traders are on KRA's tax registers? How many issue ETRs?

6) Roadside vendors

7) Beggars - I recall a story in one of the newspapers... The jamaa had a DRIVER... who would drop him off in the morning & pick him up at night!
#58 Posted : Sunday, January 16, 2011 3:46:09 PM

Dod wrote:
the deal wrote:

Non-compliance is probably even higher! Many Kenyans have NO idea of direct taxation...

1) Herders in NEP province. Tax kitu gani? [Some of these guys have HUGE herds & are millionaires]

2) Maasais - Ask a Maasai to 'pay' 1 cow for every 10 cows he sells... Expect a spear through your stomach while he ponders the 'request'...

3) Drug Barons

4) Casinos - Or the patrons 'laundering' cash there

5) Eastleigh - How many somali traders are on KRA's tax registers? How many issue ETRs?

6) Roadside vendors

7) Beggars - I recall a story in one of the newspapers... The jamaa had a DRIVER... who would drop him off in the morning & pick him up at night!
chaliwong
#59 Posted : Tuesday, January 18, 2011 9:04:37 PM

Today I understood where Bob Was coming from yesterday about crippling the Industry with this price wars.
(And this reminded me, has Kencel,Celtel,Zain,Barti,Airtel ever turned a profit???)

Back to the point at hand.
I happen to know afew dealers of Both Airtel and Safaricom.
Both dealers concur that for Safaricom,Both Constomers and Dealers are Happy.
But for Airtel, the Constomers are Very Happy but the Dealers are a very sad lot.

Those to agents that the dealers employ to sell the cards for them are a very sensitive lot who jump ship immediately commision is threatened.

One of the Airtel dealers I talked to has lost all of them other than the Guy who stays at his shop.
In 1 bob what % is for Zain,what % is Gova and What % is for the dealers.
Was the 12B to cater for this discontent?

Muindi ni Muindi!! Hajali mfanyikazi, anajali mnununuzi mwenye Pesa??
Wacha tuone.
#60 Posted : Tuesday, January 18, 2011 9:31:23 PM

@chaliwong - Please suit up...

1) 75% of your post makes little sense! Pathetic grammar & sentence structure...

2) LOL... So you are a bitter safaricom shareholder. Well safaricon is the Bitter Option

3) It is a business. If you can't stand teh heat then get OUT of the kitchen!

4) As a mwananchi I am very HAPPY that Airtel has saved me money. I wish we had more Mhindi businesses to help cut my expenses! Why should I be sad that Airtel will invest/spend $150mn in Kenya?