wazua Thu, Aug 7, 2025

5 Pages<1234>»
Top 50 Private Secondary Schools
#21 Posted : Thursday, January 13, 2011 1:57:11 PM

PONDI wrote:
what of makini? by the way, what are the best nursery schools in nai? tried to secure a place for my son at some christian school and was informed all spots taken to 2013!

I've never really understood why people do this.....booking a spot for kid who's hardly one year old (some even before the child is born). We all want the best for our kids but d'oh! d'oh! d'oh!

@Pondi....Try Malezi School, someone told me its one of the best.
PONDI
#22 Posted : Thursday, January 13, 2011 2:03:52 PM

@wendz thanks. does riara use montesorri teaching system coz thats what am looking for? as for msingi bora.. i dare not ask what they charge
Wodu Wakiri
#23 Posted : Thursday, January 13, 2011 2:07:11 PM

whynow wrote:
Wodu. Am cock sure that when you choose a school you dont put the names on a dart board and thru a dart for it to pick a school for you. People use different criteria. I have choosen to go this route.

Whynow,

Fair enough. My concern was that you requested for a list of the Top 50 private schools and almost all the replies dwelt on academics or precisely PERFORMANCE IN NATIONAL EXAMS which surely cant be the only criteria to rank schools.
Wont we (yes,me included) be better served if we got replies on schools that have extensive playing fields, career counsellors, foreign trips, honing in leadership skills,ICT infrastructure,leisure facilities, broad co-curriculum activities etc?
#24 Posted : Thursday, January 13, 2011 2:12:20 PM

@kelele.com My comments on the schools you have mentioned...

Strathmore
Day School, out
Sunshine
Strikes, burning school, stealing mattresses
Light Academy
No information
Booker Academy, Mumias
Tick
Pioneer Maragua
Nothing beyond aviation
Munoru Highlands (one of the suprise packages in 2009 KCSE)
No information
Karengata
No information
Wami school, Mombasa road
No information
St Marys
Day School, out
St Hannahs boys
My son was at the Pri sch, moved him out as I wasn't impressed, guess the sec sch is the same

I'm looking also for my son, have so far narrowed down to Booker and Brookshine (Kamulu area), Booker seems out due to my uncertainties regarding 2012.
subzero
#25 Posted : Thursday, January 13, 2011 2:17:59 PM

who know around how much they charge per term?

whether it inclusive of all other costs?

which has the best benefit/shilling ?
winston
#26 Posted : Thursday, January 13, 2011 2:31:33 PM

Thought Kabarak high was a private school and should have made it to the top 50.

Will be checking out WAMY SCHOOL. @Kelele is it a day school?
#27 Posted : Thursday, January 13, 2011 2:33:25 PM

@GG,
Booker iko sawa and the fee is premium compared to the other schools.Very good set-up in a quite environment.Results have been very good over the last couple of years.....Lakini getting a chance!!....Waaa!cut-off marks for Form 1 is 370.
marex
#28 Posted : Thursday, January 13, 2011 2:50:30 PM

@ G.G.....sunshine....Cases of Homosexuality been there
Pioneer, Elite....Discipline iko down

WAMY.....extremely high teacher turnover plus not well established

KARENGATA...This is a rehabilitation centre for rejects from other schools.80 percent of the kids have been expelled elsewhere...Discipline iko juu.

BROOKSHINE.... no info

I would propose BOOKER ACADEMY and CHEMILIL academy

The way I am
Ric dees
#29 Posted : Thursday, January 13, 2011 2:51:53 PM

@GG
Karengata, well what can i say, last year they girls striked coz a male teacher was esxpelled coz of sleeping with some students!! I honestly think this "dropping" of school names does not do any good.

What about Wanjohi secondary school?, well am sure none of you has hard of it, well i have coz one of my close pals attended this high school and he runs his own private equity firm in Zurich doing deals in excess of $300m. whats my point i think some of these schools are just overated.Just look at ourselves we dint turn out so badly after all and how many schools you have mentioned there existed in our day!!

The greatest danger in times of turbulence is not the turbulence; it is to act with yesterday's logic.
marex
#30 Posted : Thursday, January 13, 2011 2:55:01 PM

@ PONDI.......Riara uses the Montessori system. Fee....Baby Class 48k exclusive of the 17k transport charges per term

Lower primary Ranges from 55-60 per term bila transport

Secondary- 95k a term!!!!!
The way I am
whynow
#31 Posted : Thursday, January 13, 2011 3:03:42 PM

brookshine has serious cases of bullying
whynow
#32 Posted : Thursday, January 13, 2011 3:07:39 PM

Am seriously thinking of waindi schools like aga khan and oshwal
kelele.com
#33 Posted : Thursday, January 13, 2011 3:12:21 PM

Ama that school that kids cant even pronounce its name

SHREE CUTCHI LEVA PATEL SAMAJ BAKTASH JAWHARAL SCHOOL in Narobi west
Sina Signature. NKT
#34 Posted : Thursday, January 13, 2011 3:17:52 PM

i enrolled my brother at st joseph matuu very pocket friendly also talk to kibe@privateschools.co.ke he has very comprehensive list used him to get the school charges only 2k
annsal
#35 Posted : Thursday, January 13, 2011 3:22:57 PM

Lukenya boys- not bad
God loves a Trier!
marex
#36 Posted : Thursday, January 13, 2011 3:27:41 PM

kelele.com wrote:
Ama that school that kids cant even pronounce its name

SHREE CUTCHI LEVA PATEL SAMAJ BAKTASH JAWHARAL SCHOOL in Narobi west

Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause

Hahahaha......

but
Sad Sad Sad Sad Sad Sad

High rate of exams cancellation
The way I am
atiriri
#37 Posted : Thursday, January 13, 2011 3:29:36 PM

MUDASA ACADEMY -impressive results
whynow
#38 Posted : Thursday, January 13, 2011 3:32:27 PM

wodu- I normally started with the performance of the school. But i also review to ensure that a school has those extra things you have mentioned once I sort list the ones am interested in.
#39 Posted : Thursday, January 13, 2011 4:42:53 PM

@njunge, I know I can get Booker, just worried if the highways get blocked in 2012. And how premium is premium? Brookshine is 60K a term, covering tuition, room, board, text&exercise books, activity. This progressively rises to 68K for Form IV.

What about Upperhill School? (I know it is not private) My boy had written it as extra-provincial and I suspect he might get it. I know they had that case of arson, but I hear there is a new no-nonsense head.
PONDI
#40 Posted : Thursday, January 13, 2011 5:44:40 PM

what do you guys think of 5 day-per-week boarding schools .. where kiddo gets to spend weekends with family? saw a school advert offering this. there is a kid at my hood who is picked up at 5.30AM daily, i think thats just torture. also whats ideal age/class to consider full boarding