wazua Fri, Jan 31, 2025

Pumpkin / Pawpaw seeds
#1 Posted : Tuesday, January 11, 2011 10:45:33 AM

I am looking for huge quantities of these seeds. Any ideas how to get them??
gadj
#2 Posted : Tuesday, January 11, 2011 4:38:50 PM

Huge means how many, i can get some after eating the paw paws.And what type of pawpaws are u looking for?
#3 Posted : Wednesday, January 12, 2011 12:48:29 PM

@King, try KARI they should tell u down to what type is best for what region
#4 Posted : Wednesday, January 12, 2011 3:42:10 PM

I want the seeds to extract oil from, not to plant. People just throw them away after eating the fruit....so my problem is how do i accumulate bigger quantities or better still get guys to do so and then I collect them at a fee.
Chaka
#5 Posted : Wednesday, January 12, 2011 3:51:19 PM

@King,
What kind of press are you having to do this?I need a motorized press to extract oil from coconuts(The small manual one I have is too tedious)
You may need to consider opening a 'collection centre' in ukambani or meru where a lot of pumpkins are grown...
#6 Posted : Wednesday, January 12, 2011 4:56:08 PM

@Chaka...I have a motorized screw press that can do both hot and cold press and can extract oil from any type of seed / vegetable. But it is far away from the coconut land!! How can I assist you?
Chaka
#7 Posted : Wednesday, January 12, 2011 5:45:02 PM

@King,
Well,you could point me to where I may get such a press...would be interested in one with a single phase motor i.e not motorized by an engine.
#8 Posted : Thursday, January 13, 2011 8:32:13 AM

@chaka,
Single phase motor will not be of good use. Think 3-phase.

See GY-80 oil press HERE

There are others but this particular one does very nice job. And its power rating also is very low compared to similar machines from the west.
Chaka
#9 Posted : Thursday, January 13, 2011 9:53:13 AM

@King,
Thanks for the info.Was thinking single phase as would want to use it in my backyard.3 phase would mean I go to industrial area?
gadj
#10 Posted : Thursday, January 13, 2011 12:39:08 PM

@ King do establish a collection center, then advertise and you are in business.
#11 Posted : Thursday, January 13, 2011 1:09:09 PM

gadj wrote:
@ King do establish a collection center, then advertise and you are in business.

Thanks. You will see me soon in the papers

JkMwatha
#12 Posted : Friday, January 14, 2011 1:02:14 PM

Chaka wrote:
@King,
Thanks for the info.Was thinking single phase as would want to use it in my backyard.3 phase would mean I go to industrial area?

You can install 3-phase in that backyard.
Chaka
#13 Posted : Friday, January 14, 2011 1:22:11 PM

@Jk,
Yes lakini ,KPLC would charge me an arm and a leg to provide it..
On the other hand I asked for a quote for the GY-80 press and it costs USD 3,815 just to ship(I wonder what kind of import duty one would be required to pay?)
@King,
Did you import yours and what was the cost like?
JkMwatha
#14 Posted : Friday, January 14, 2011 1:44:20 PM

Chaka wrote:
@Jk,
Yes lakini ,KPLC would charge me an arm and a leg to provide it..
?

Have you had a quote from KPLC ?
A guy I know who had 3-phase installed in his backyard (Utawala/Embakasi), is not that 'solvent'.
He has a press for fixing plactic items like clothe pegs.
qw25041985
#15 Posted : Friday, January 14, 2011 1:57:36 PM

sasa hii ni nini .wewe enda marikiti ama gikomba ....huko iko mpaka miraa seeds !!!!!!!!!!!
Your future depends on your dreams so go to sleep !
#16 Posted : Friday, January 14, 2011 3:11:11 PM

@chaka..

Go to http://www.guoyan.com.cn/english2/ordernew.asp and request for a quotation from the manufacturer.

The price will be around USD5200 FOB Guangzhou, China.

@all....anyone knows where I can get peanuts in plenty from?? I am very interested.
Chaka
#17 Posted : Friday, January 14, 2011 3:42:35 PM

@King,
USD 520 or 5,200...these things are that costly?
Is there a market for groundnut oil in this country?
#18 Posted : Friday, January 14, 2011 3:54:29 PM

Chaka wrote:
@King,
USD 520 or 5,200...these things are that costly?
Is there a market for groundnut oil in this country?

USD 5000 brother.

I hope you are not mistaking peanuts with groundnuts coz there is a difference.
tony stark
#19 Posted : Friday, January 14, 2011 5:45:17 PM

qw25041985 wrote:
sasa hii ni nini .wewe enda marikiti ama gikomba ....huko iko mpaka miraa seeds !!!!!!!!!!!

Pombe ya VVS, Haki yake