wazua Sun, Nov 17, 2024

Mututho got it all wrong!
bird_man
#21 Posted : Thursday, January 13, 2011 8:28:54 AM

@rasilio....I could be wrong,but I have a feeling that you aren't too bright.Are the college kids taking mkebe drinks huko Accra road during the day all Kiuks?Are those Kibera men who drink all day Kiuks?What of the busaa dens?How many kiuks are there?
Please be objective in your arguments.Tribal thinking belongs to the neanderthal days bwana.
Formally employed people often live their employers' dream & forget about their own.
Ms Mkenya
#22 Posted : Thursday, January 13, 2011 10:29:05 AM

@ Rasilio, Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you , alcohol is a problem with the youth. If you read the names of those 25-30 something year old arrested the other day, you will agree they are not all Okuyos..

Then, do us a favor and travel within your own country. Go to Kisumu, Mombasa, Busia, Meru, etc and see for yourself...

Please, rise above tribe. Your son or daughter in law could be from that tribe you have an issue with? Utafanya nini?

....above all, to stand.
#23 Posted : Thursday, January 13, 2011 10:51:21 AM

I hate the law. Kadonye has a point though, n its pitiful how the youth n our shagz brothers abuse the great drink. We r the ones incurring collateral damage in a bid to salvage these buggers..
#24 Posted : Thursday, January 13, 2011 11:09:20 AM

I also hate this law, because responsible drinkers are being punished because the govt is unable to implement already existing laws that can regulate illicit brews.

NB. I don't go to the bar on weekdays so it means sh*t to me what time bars are open, however, I appreciate that some people like to enjoy their drinks on a Monday afternoon after pulling off a mega deal or working on Sunday night as a watchie and I respect that, this law takes away their right to do that.
#25 Posted : Thursday, January 13, 2011 11:20:17 AM

Whatever money KRA will fail to get from legit beer sales due to this Act the Judiciary will surely get back with such fines like 30k per convict. Assuming they don't just figure that jail time is a cheaper option. Stupid all around really.

For those thinking that this Act will somehow cure our moral failings as regards alcohol they should spare a thought for the USA's Misadventures with Prohibition.
#26 Posted : Thursday, January 13, 2011 12:35:05 PM

kadonye, birdman n waithaka, there is no way mututho bill will help the vagabonds yu guys are talking about!!!!

It is a fallacious assumption that if one is not drinking alcohol, then one is engaging in beneficial activity, mostly economic in nature.
Wa_ithaka
#27 Posted : Thursday, January 13, 2011 1:02:15 PM

If they are not drinking, they can engage in satisfying their wives or finding wives.
Na hiyo na maendeleo pia
The Governor of Nyeri - 2017
rasilio
#28 Posted : Thursday, January 13, 2011 1:15:31 PM

pls don't make me apologise for something that is obvious.

Those guys fined are not necessarily achoholics, they were having their leisurely beer when they were arrested. Those who sleep in the roads and trenches of nyeri and muranga are alchoholics.

You don't stop alchoholism by saying people should only drink at this or that time. you use CDF money to build rehab centers the way the rest of the civilised world does.

I won't apologise for stating again that this masquerade of a law was cooked up by Mutotho, and nyeri mp's who have failed in their mandate of engaging their youth. So the easy way out is to blame alchohol for all their ills and pretend it is a national crisis.

Now that is tribalism. Just because men cannot perform as Mirugi says in her Tetu area does not mean that the rest of the country has to suffer their societal breakdown.

I was in Mirugis country sometime back. Anyone thinking that there is a central voting block in 2012 is sadly mistaken.

So deal with the issue of alchoholism. It is a disease.

You don't arrest all those who are going to Kisii for not taking malaria tabs.

You don't jail a barman or a barmaid for selling a beer and fine them ksh. 150,000 yet fine 5000 bob the drunk driver who hit and killed some kid crossing the road after a drink at Karen country club.

By the way don't assume I'm not a kyuk..
#29 Posted : Thursday, January 13, 2011 1:27:41 PM

Wa_ithaka wrote:
If they are not drinking, they can engage in satisfying their wives or finding wives.
Na hiyo na maendeleo pia

Hope is not an investing strategy...stop hoping they will do that....

Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you
#30 Posted : Thursday, January 13, 2011 3:10:55 PM

The way i see it, IMHO, Mututho got it all wrong because rather than addressing the pressing issue of youth unemployment this law assumes rather fallaciously that by regulating drinking hours, then "idle drinker" would spend their idle time in economic activities. Its all over the counties, hundreds of youths have nothing to do so they end up in alcohol dens.

Mututho's law would be effective only if brewers of lethal "kumi kumi"/"kalove"... are driven out of business like "pharmacists". Lakini kama ni kuharamisha EABL products he will not get very far.
bird_man
#31 Posted : Thursday, January 13, 2011 4:11:36 PM

Rahatupu wrote:
The way i see it, IMHO, Mututho got it all wrong because rather than addressing the pressing issue of youth unemployment this law assumes rather fallaciously that by regulating drinking hours, then "idle drinker" would spend their idle time in economic activities. Its all over the counties, hundreds of youths have nothing to do so they end up in alcohol dens.

Unemployed and they have refused to dig shambas or pick coffee?Has any started a project and asked for funding (even from a relative) na akanyimwa?God & the government help those who help themselves.
Formally employed people often live their employers' dream & forget about their own.
#32 Posted : Thursday, January 13, 2011 4:24:13 PM

I tend to agree with the birdman. Most of these guys, even in Nairobi by the way, do not drink coz they have nothing to do. They do it coz they have too much money in their pockets and human ATMs and absolutely no brain power left. Whenever you meet these guys, they have no issues in asking you for a 'ka- fifty' and gues what, we in turn have no qualms giving them. However, when the guy asks youfor a K to plant something in his kashamba we refuse and say that is too much. Ataenda kunywa tu. So he begs you what he knows he can get and does what you expect him to do. My arguement is that these guys take to drinking due to a total loss of hope and self respect. We perpetuate it. Nowadays, if they come, I first give them a job then pay them for it. I do not think there is much you can do for someone who does not want to think or work really.

So will the mututho bill help, Yes but not those guys. It will help those with brains to invest their savings.
#33 Posted : Thursday, January 13, 2011 4:58:31 PM

bwenyenye wrote:
I tend to agree with the birdman. Most of these guys, even in Nairobi by the way, do not drink coz they have nothing to do. They do it coz they have too much money in their pockets and human ATMs and absolutely no brain power left. Whenever you meet these guys, they have no issues in asking you for a 'ka- fifty' and gues what, we in turn have no qualms giving them. However, when the guy asks youfor a K to plant something in his kashamba we refuse and say that is too much. Ataenda kunywa tu. So he begs you what he knows he can get and does what you expect him to do. My arguement is that these guys take to drinking due to a total loss of hope and self respect. We perpetuate it. Nowadays, if they come, I first give them a job then pay them for it. I do not think there is much you can do for someone who does not want to think or work really.

So will the mututho bill help, Yes but not those guys. It will help those with brains to invest their savings.

Hapo enyewe umenena.....If these so called Alcoholics drink because they have nothing to do kwani where do they get the money to drink.
#34 Posted : Thursday, January 13, 2011 4:58:42 PM

bwenyenye wrote:

Hii watu wa siku hizi coupled with the training, or whatever education they had......we dont teach and train our children well in school and at home then we get or act surprised when they turn out to be bums when out of school....there is a lot of input required to make one be a drunkard. Available cash is just one of many.

It will take a lot more input to rectify the situation, a law is just one of many. It is not the silver bullet. Neither the magic wand.