7 Pages«<34567>
New quota system for Form One admission
Ms Mkenya
#41 Posted : Wednesday, January 12, 2011 5:03:21 PM

For Sport wrote:
Less what?

@ For Sport, actual teaching.

Remember we are not just training children to pass, we also impart them with knowledge!

You will move a child from a class of say 30 to one of 40-50? The teaching will definately be different.

I would want to hear what you say in April.
....above all, to stand.
winston
#42 Posted : Wednesday, January 12, 2011 5:18:01 PM

Those private school kids who miss out on the National school because they have the marks but have been quota-ed out will land in provincial schools and if they are good enough will make it to university.

Those public school kids who are quota-ed in but didnt have the marks will and are not good enough will not make it to university.

Parents with kids in private schools should now concentrate on getting their kids in good provincial schools. Afterall, a number of students in the provincial schools perform even better than those in national schools
Wakandi
#43 Posted : Wednesday, January 12, 2011 5:39:55 PM

''@ Wakandi, you will be very surprised.

I just have an issue with people like you who think that it is a human tragedy not to take your kid to alliance. That is tragic indeed. It is not a case worth merit in any serious court and you know it.

So rather than getting all worked up because your kid didn't go to a national school, go back to school and learn how to piece an argument that will stand the muster of being semi-valid or worthy of note.

As you do that learn the basics of punctuation.

Education being paid for by my taxes (read national schools) should be fair and evenly distributed. Not the privy of semi-illiterate parents who've decided that buying an education is the hallmark of success''

@ Rasilio,
I see there's nothing better you could come up with, other than some silly and archaic statements. FYI, i do not think you are brighter than any other person here but you seem to have some sour grapes within yourself. That people take their kids to private schools,it does not mean they are illeterate as you say. It is the Kumbafus of this world like youself that have such thoughts. I pay taxes too, may be even more than you do. So my child deserves to have the best too. Please accept that in society there will be the endowed and not so endowed. That doesn't make them stupid. Your thoughts are just like Mugabe's so you probably belong in Zimbabwe.
For Sport
#44 Posted : Wednesday, January 12, 2011 5:58:44 PM

@ Ms Kenya

You miss my point.

Just illustrating to Rasilio & company the futility of attempting to “create” equity and level the “playing field” by giving preference to one group of children over another.

These ujamaaish ideas will suppress progress. You dont progress by by slowing down the chap that’s ahead – rather, you put in place strategies to catch up
Jump-steady
#45 Posted : Wednesday, January 12, 2011 7:02:42 PM

The topic is generating quite some temperature.

What i don't understand is how you can lump together 100 kids in a classroom barely measuring 12x10ft and you call that learning! Teachers are overwhelmed by such a huge class, infact most of them are known to only give assignments and later asking the kids to mark the assignments themselves by exchanging the books / papers with their desk mates. Here, only the naturally brilliant kids will survive as the teacher can not attend to the weak ones. If this is what is learning to you, wacha ikaeShame on you I'd rather my children go for the drilling, whatever it meanssmile
rasilio
#46 Posted : Wednesday, January 12, 2011 9:51:43 PM

@Wakandi

i don't get you lakini that's not my job.

my point is very clear. The children from the rich families do not have a constitutional right to go to national schools as they are claiming.

Their children are not being punished for not going to alliance. I didn't go there and i see no difference in my life.

So if your kid didn't go to alliance, GET OVER IT.

One of the important elements of a fair society is thinking about those less well off. What is wrong with allowing children from poor families getting a piece of the pie?

I have seen these so called "bright" examination parrots asking for jobs and I understand what is meant by a society cannibalizing itself in the name of development.

You cannot buy an education. What parents who claim that they want the "best" for their kids are doing is buying an education at the expense of others because Daddy can't buy them a toy.

So you buy the teachers from public schools, you buy a spot in a certain school, you buy a spot in a top high school, you buy your way through parallel programs then you discover that the child has never learned anything in their lives.

Then you blame Kibaki and Moi for your kid being daft.

#47 Posted : Wednesday, January 12, 2011 11:22:00 PM

Wacheni debating hapa, kama uliamua three piece enda three piece baba! Hata kenya sasa is purely presidential system. Watu a private waende huko wale wengine kule kwingine. Basi!
#48 Posted : Thursday, January 13, 2011 8:09:56 AM

It is the parents' responsibility to get proper schools and institutions for their children.

a) If they go for unregistered private institutions, its their fault when they loose their money and distress their children.

b) If they prefer to have their children only memorise stuff and then reproduce at exams its the parents fault when that is not rewarded.
#49 Posted : Thursday, January 13, 2011 8:29:35 AM

I am with @jguru and @kyt on this one. Well said, the two of you. In addition, the private schools are complaining because it will affect their 'business'. How many times have we seen advertisements where they say 'out of 14 students, 9 went to national and 5 to top provincial schools.' Such adverts mean more revenues. On the other hand, the government is not out there to make money. Its all about giving others a chance as well. Thats why even in campus some are given full bursary.

I applaud Serikal. Kama hutaki enda 3-piece.
#50 Posted : Thursday, January 13, 2011 9:21:53 AM

@all

I fully support this move by the government, I went to a public school and really worked hard, qualified for a national school and public university. And now I am able to send my 4 year son to a private school where his fees for one year was more than the fees I paid for all my entire schooling (not adjusted for inflation).

While the govt move reduces my son's chances of getting a good govt school, it however is more fairer from a national point of view. I will now have to consider private education for my son all the way and I think I can leave with that if it gives a poor child somewhere an opportunity to change his/her fortunes.

I hope the govt will also eliminate the near 30% quota at Alliance and other elite schools that are normally reserved for the kids of govt bigshots and politicians
7 Pages«<34567>