Market
Pennywise
I'd like to hire a Wedding gown
Rank: New-farer Joined: 1/5/2011 Posts: 6 Location: Nairobi
@Lisaox, What size of gown are you interested in? I have a pal who is keen to hire hers.
McReggae wrote:Intelligentsia wrote:bwenyenye wrote:@ Lisaox,
agree with the man where you go to church mapema. The same faith helps alot. ! impt sana.lest you confuse the kids when they come. Echoed. Muhimu!!! Which church do the kids go to? Kama ni inter-tribal, which language do they use?
A couple of weeks later and she hasnt found her wedding gown?????.This is serious.SOLUTION : buy a cheap graduation gown and bleach it !!!!!!!!! Kwani iko nini . this is kenya.Land of improvisions..... Your future depends on your dreams so go to sleep !
nostoppingthis wrote:McReggae wrote:Intelligentsia wrote:bwenyenye wrote:@ Lisaox,
agree with the man where you go to church mapema. The same faith helps alot. ! impt sana.lest you confuse the kids when they come. Echoed. Muhimu!!! Which church do the kids go to? Kama ni inter-tribal, which language do they use? Ouch, my head hurts...
nostoppingthis wrote:McReggae wrote:Intelligentsia wrote:bwenyenye wrote:@ Lisaox,
agree with the man where you go to church mapema. The same faith helps alot. ! impt sana.lest you confuse the kids when they come. Echoed. Muhimu!!! Which church do the kids go to? Kama ni inter-tribal, which language do they use? English and Kiswahili... aaaiih? even those who are born by parents from same tribe often have challenges with their 'parents tongue'.....
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/9/2009 Posts: 1,493 Location: Nairobi
Wendz wrote:nostoppingthis wrote:McReggae wrote:Intelligentsia wrote:bwenyenye wrote:@ Lisaox,
agree with the man where you go to church mapema. The same faith helps alot. ! impt sana.lest you confuse the kids when they come. Echoed. Muhimu!!! Which church do the kids go to? Kama ni inter-tribal, which language do they use? English and Kiswahili... aaaiih? even those who are born by parents from same tribe often have challenges with their 'parents tongue'..... but surely wendz, language issues differ across economic strata. for example, the haves have no qualms using english or kiswahili even french and german and even others for more often, the people they interact with will be using those languages. but for the have nots, given their network, they will often interact with people who most often have other locally available options in language. so sorting out this issue before hand is a good idea. i think. or what do you think?
YesuWangu wrote: but surely wendz, language issues differ across economic strata. for example, the haves have no qualms using english or kiswahili even french and german and even others for more often, the people they interact with will be using those languages.
but for the have nots, given their network, they will often interact with people who most often have other locally available options in language.
so sorting out this issue before hand is a good idea. i think. or what do you think?
Lakini YW, if i am luo and hubby is somali, you want to tell me am going to agree they speak somali in the house? Or will he agree we speak luo? How do the parents communicate given that they are from different tribes? Mostly Swahili (if they do not know English). Then, thats the language the kids pick. When they go outside, if they live in Kisumu, the kids will definitely learn luo by default...if they live in Garissa, somali will also be in the plate as the kids play with others outside...... Hiyo haiwezi kuwa shida.....
Wendz wrote:YesuWangu wrote: but surely wendz, language issues differ across economic strata. for example, the haves have no qualms using english or kiswahili even french and german and even others for more often, the people they interact with will be using those languages.
but for the have nots, given their network, they will often interact with people who most often have other locally available options in language.
so sorting out this issue before hand is a good idea. i think. or what do you think?
Lakini YW, if i am luo and hubby is somali, you want to tell me am going to agree they speak somali in the house? Or will he agree we speak luo? How do the parents communicate given that they are from different tribes? Mostly Swahili (if they do not know English). Then, thats the language the kids pick. When they go outside, if they live in Kisumu, the kids will definitely learn luo by default...if they live in Garissa, somali will also be in the plate as the kids play with others outside...... Hiyo haiwezi kuwa shida..... Hehehe Wendz, lakini hiyo luo na somali ni combination kali........ It is made easier if one or both of the parents know even a smattering version of the partners language. But if hubby speaks a 'minority' language, why should the children know it? They will be more at ease with a larger section of the population if they know your 'majority' language. Unless the partners are ready and capable of overcoming all the unique challenges of inter tribal, inter religious, inter sect/denominational etc marriages, I strongly disapprove of them. Hapana! Avoid them if you can. Love is not enough! To me marriage surely can do without more unnecessary challenges.
@ YW It is not as hard as you imagine. By the way, what matters is that there is communication. The language barrier is not a big deal. Your kids will hardly ever use your mother tongue in the days to come. In my view, the kids 'tribe' is the neighbourhood they grow in and not the Parents mother tongue. In futre, it will be easier for your kid to marry a girl from Buru where she was brought up than a girl who can dazzle him in your mother tongue. So please check that ... What drew you closer to your wife is not becuase she speaks your tongue, but coz you have similar set of norms. Guys your perception of tribe should change henceforth ... well unless you are raising kids for your village I Think Therefore I Am
Market
Pennywise
I'd like to hire a Wedding gown