On a slightly different targent i now understand many issues regarding our police. On December, i flew from Zurich going to Nairobi, on-board were some twenty-something cops(hard to miss the 1 pack and all, however i confirmed they were cops and were from sort sought of course)
I became interested and i engaged two of them what it was all about, where it was, to my surprise, they could not remember!! Ilikuwa mambo ya polising?? one retorted (kwani it was a top secret) I asked what was the criteria for selecting who was to attend ( i quickly realised i had overstepeed my mandate), was this in conjuction with the Swiss authorities, German or how was this arranged? to benefit who? no idea, unajua hii majina yakizungu ni ngumu sana, another barked sigh!! i gave up, most were the old guard, vitambi and all and clearly very elated at the experince.
My question is/was, why is it difficult to send some young graduates to some of this courses? I mean sending some 50 something guys who will be retiring soon is all in vain and i mean if they could not remember the name of the place this was held well we have no hope if this is the face of our crime busters!!
The greatest danger in times of turbulence is not the turbulence; it is to act with yesterday's logic.