wazua Sat, Feb 8, 2025

What do you think of pub business?
KenyanLyrics
#1 Posted : Monday, January 03, 2011 12:24:13 AM

I have had this argument with many of my friends and siblings. So many people think that pub business is excellent, but I am of the opinion that from the simple fact that you do business 2 days a week, yet pay costs for every single day of the week, makes this a not so lucrative venture, with razor thin margins. Anyone with any experience or opinions on this kind of venture?
groupielove
#2 Posted : Wednesday, January 05, 2011 12:26:57 PM

I have operated a pub for sometime and... Yes it is 'very profitable' and equally stressing. You don't come to sleep. Be ready to fight (or hire someone to fight for you), to consficate goods of customers whose thirst is more than their wallets...tricky employees and cops harrassment (even when you have all licences). Each beer you sell has a profit margin of about 20bob when selling at lowest price.
KenyanLyrics
#3 Posted : Wednesday, January 05, 2011 12:55:20 PM

Could you give a percentage profit after tax, salaries and other bills are paid?
#4 Posted : Thursday, January 06, 2011 1:55:05 PM

Despite its profitability, I cannot bear the curses of the children asking why daddy doesn't come home.... Hell no!! Wacha hiy pesa ikae!
#5 Posted : Friday, January 07, 2011 8:28:41 PM

bwenyenye wrote:
Despite its profitability, I cannot bear the curses of the children asking why daddy doesn't come home.... Hell no!! Wacha hiy pesa ikae!

You don't have to be there 24/7. There are people who run a chain of bars successfully. Just have in place the right checks and balances. And make sure you have a manager - just pick the most level headed waiter/cashier and make him/her the manager. Let them deal with all the stress. Your work will only be to provide policy guidelines and manage the manager. Once you know all the loopholes, you will reduce losses caused by thieving employees to a bear minimum.

Rule of thumb: Instruct the manager to take stock every morning and record all new stock immediately it is received. And do random stock taking. It ought to keep him on toes. These is where most of the money is lost. The manager for example buys 30 crates of beer and 20 are sold. But in his records, he indicates that 25 crates were bought and 15 were sold. He essentially keeps the profit on the 5 crates [The money he had used to buy them will be returned to the 'float']. It is called "kuiba na kalamu". At 20/= profit per bottle [could be far much higher], the dude pockets a cool 2,500/= - no expenses. With random stock taking, show up any time of the day or night, immediately ask for the records and verify them physically. Any anomalies and you are being taken for a ride! The fact that you do random stock taking will instill fear in the fellow!
#6 Posted : Saturday, January 08, 2011 9:17:13 PM

i am not trying to be religious in any way but my buda used to say "when you start a bar your first loyal customers will be your wife and children"

i have seen it happen
#7 Posted : Sunday, January 09, 2011 8:26:35 AM

mpobiz wrote:
i am not trying to be religious in any way but my buda used to say "when you start a bar your first loyal customers will be your wife and children"

i have seen it happen

How now? It depends on how you operate as an individual. Some wives are not even allowed to assist with the management - even when the hubby is out of town. The pub should be off limits to the whole family. It's a place of business!
#8 Posted : Monday, January 10, 2011 9:16:04 AM

With the Mututho law in place i doubt if still its a nice venture
#9 Posted : Tuesday, January 11, 2011 10:48:32 AM

dossy7 wrote:
With the Mututho law in place i doubt if still its a nice venture

Kweli kabisa...profits are gone and landlords are refusing to lower the rent amount. guys are crying.