Sasha,
Allow me to give my peni mbili,i dabbled in this restoration business for a while,trust me the quotation you are getting is for the initial price,as a certein Sk'rian said,the car will develop an intimate relationship na mwenye garage. take it like this,gari ni mzee,whatever you do,itakua garage every 2nd week! i hope you will not try to make it a daily driving vehicle,coz then all the mechanics in the roundabouts mtajuana....anyway,back to what you were looking for,looking at what u are saying,changing the engine etc,you are not really restoring,rather you are modifying...the quotes you are getting are far much lower thatn you will get on a true restoration (which should take a minimum of at elast 6 months IFF done by a pro),else,throw in the levin engine,change the drive train,suspension,steering,then modify the wiring...as you do the body work,ask them to scrap kila kitu kwanza,check for rust and 'cut & paste' the rusted areas,wachana na mambo ya panel beating na filler...talking of which,there is this kalasinger in Gigiri,runs the petrol station that has the java at the UN junction,he was restoring a 68 ford cortina,that was a year or two ago,pay him a visit...
Quote:Buy when there's blood in the streets, even if the blood is your own...