wazua Thu, Jan 16, 2025

KISUMU Molasses plant to be listed in 2011
Mali
#1 Posted : Wednesday, December 29, 2010 3:37:21 PM

The Merchant
#2 Posted : Wednesday, December 29, 2010 4:51:04 PM

Interesting. Those who invested in this company in the 90's have no shares to show for it. Huh! Oh well lets see how they get compensated then we can guess how we will be treated later on if we invest in it. Lets take care that our funds will not be used for this 'compensation' but rather to improve the economic robustness of the firm. 2011 sounds too short a period but hey, he is the proime minister!
#3 Posted : Wednesday, December 29, 2010 4:57:49 PM

Monkey on your lap.....With all sugar industries diversifying into ethanol production,someone realises that sooner,KMP will be out of business.
Dod
#4 Posted : Wednesday, December 29, 2010 6:31:06 PM

What happened to Luo Thrift and Trading Co?
Be careful with your money.
The rich have money working for them; the poor and the middle class are going to work for money.
My 2 cents
#5 Posted : Thursday, December 30, 2010 10:48:40 AM

Monkey on your lap.....With all sugar industries diversifying into ethanol production,someone realises that sooner,KMP will be out of business.

I do not think it is that. I think it is everyone trying to cash in on IPOs......muramati, deacons, real etc etc etc etc
#6 Posted : Thursday, December 30, 2010 11:06:58 AM

This one I can't touch even if Fidel put a gun to my head.
#7 Posted : Thursday, December 30, 2010 12:16:45 PM

Raila aliona akina Kibaki wameshatafuta pesa ya 2012 (deacons) naye pia akaona 2012 si mbali wacha achange
Tommy
#8 Posted : Thursday, December 30, 2010 12:37:30 PM

Sasa Agwambo wants us to give him money and yet there are those who lost money in the same company. asahau pesa zangu
Don't wait for the Last Judgment. It happens every day. ~Albert Camus, The Fall, 1956
#9 Posted : Thursday, December 30, 2010 2:17:24 PM

@my2cents,
Tell me.Where will KMP get raw material from once MSC starts alcohol production?
#10 Posted : Thursday, December 30, 2010 3:13:50 PM

PM should make it east african ipo so as to get from the gullible EAfricans.
Mali
#11 Posted : Thursday, December 30, 2010 3:23:37 PM

seems things are not good here! Wazua people!!!
My 2 cents
#12 Posted : Thursday, December 30, 2010 4:33:53 PM

@my2cents,
Tell me.Where will KMP get raw material from once MSC starts alcohol production?

Are you telling me Mumias Sugar Company will totally diversify from sugar production?
#13 Posted : Thursday, December 30, 2010 5:35:39 PM

Nope.....Ethanol will be an additional product alongside sugar,electricity and water.The plant MSC is putting up will be able to consumer all molasses produced.KMP and Agro-Chemical Muhoroni have been relying on MSC's molasses all this years and as we know,both companies do not have milling plants....The only way out would be to source for other raw materials such as maize,sorghum or potatoes.....a very tall order and for 5 Zim cents,i would not touch such a company.
gathinga
#14 Posted : Thursday, December 30, 2010 5:36:53 PM

RAO will have no problem hitting his fund raising target from 'watu yake' even if the rest of kenyans boycot the IPO. Boycot is a self defeatist move
#15 Posted : Thursday, December 30, 2010 5:38:27 PM

That's okay.If he called a harambee,i would donate but not a penny for shares in that company....It's a monkey!
#16 Posted : Friday, December 31, 2010 9:24:20 PM

youcan'tstopusnow wrote:
Raila aliona akina Kibaki wameshatafuta pesa ya 2012 (deacons) naye pia akaona 2012 si mbali wacha achange

my thoughts also. RAO is fundraising for 2012. Those shinda smart, zawadi 2929 etc are also schemes to rip off the public, for political campaign money come 2012.
#17 Posted : Friday, December 31, 2010 9:35:53 PM

This is an IPO that might end up in the same league as Neveready...
So... will raila's people become the only/majority shareholders?
passiveinvestor
#18 Posted : Saturday, January 01, 2011 1:44:14 PM

Just wait for the Prospectus: I would be very interested to see if Molasses is even a profitable company at this stage...as well as which Auditor will vouch for the accounts. If nothing else,the prospectus should be very instructive in demonstrating creative accounting combined with optimistic forward looking financials. It might even cause AK's management to blush;)
passiveinvestor
#19 Posted : Saturday, January 01, 2011 1:46:28 PM

This is an IPO that might end up in the same league as Neveready...
So... will raila's people become the only/majority shareholders?

If the firm's sponsor has the ability to convince people to march en masse to almost certain death, I suspect that the IPO will be massively oversubscribed and may even rally for a few months post-IPO.
#20 Posted : Saturday, January 01, 2011 1:57:12 PM

It is too early to tell but I wish I could short the shares!
*** Being associated with a politician is a death-wish for most firms... I wonder if Deacons IPO/placement would have done better if baba jimmy was not involved...