wazua Sun, Jul 20, 2025

The Commercial and Services sector to drive the NSE to 5000 points in 2011
the deal
#1 Posted : Friday, December 24, 2010 3:52:17 PM

I believe the above mentioned sector will be the sector to watch in 2011 and beyond

Reasons

1. The Kenyan economy is on a growth trajectory coupled with cheap loans of 2010 more and more companies are spending huge sums on adverting, so watch out for the media stocks i expect them to offer awesome returns in 2011 i.e NMG, Scan and Standard Group

2. Tourism is at an all time and is set to continue growing provided the political scene keeps calm, i expect more tourists in 2011 thus the likes of KQ and TPS Serena will reap it big, the tourism factor will also be helped by KQ´s recent rapid expansion.

3. The motor stock´s of the NSE are currently undervalued mainly due to the dissapointing results they have reported thus but look at it at another angle...with the Economy growing corporate Kenya and individuals will spend more so i expect a CMC turnaround in 2011 while C&C will continue to grow.

4. Safaricom i think the current price has a lot of negative news in it, i expect the data segment and Mpesa to be on a hyper growth curve, i know voice revenues will take a hit but by what margin...the cheaper the price the more you call!!!smile

Disclaimer: This are my personal view and does not equate to a Buy or Sell recommendation for any of the stocks i have discussed above.

Merry Xmas and a Happy New Year.

The Deal.

www.nanodog.net
kenya@nanodog.net
qw25041985
#2 Posted : Friday, December 24, 2010 4:06:39 PM

You have a good argument but from the look of things i see financials rocking guys portfolios this comin year.
Your future depends on your dreams so go to sleep !
Ali Baba
#3 Posted : Friday, December 24, 2010 4:18:26 PM

THE DEAL:Get out of here.Who buys cars from CMC other than matatu people.We drive mitumba cars.....CMC and C&G;too bad for you,sell your shares there and buy KPLC or Equity Bank.....otherwise,have a merry x-mas,happy new year!
the deal
#4 Posted : Friday, December 24, 2010 4:48:44 PM

@Ali i didnt say you sell your KPLC or EQTY...i personally have some little KPLC and KCB i bought recently ...everybody right now is doing financial´s even your matatu driver ask him about the NSE he will tell you "Banks"....banks are good but as an investor you are paying a high premium for those stocks, note the high PE´S of this "Banks"...i have some C&C lets wait for the results next month..i´m looking forward to buy CMC at below 12 i know they will report losses but 2011 i expect a turnaround...
#5 Posted : Friday, December 24, 2010 5:07:42 PM

deal, the deal is not whether drivers are buying into banks. It's whether banks are going to make money in 2011
#6 Posted : Friday, December 24, 2010 5:54:34 PM

How can you question the inclusion of cmc? Unless you know something we dont, cmc is aok, it has the value under ordinary available info. I hope it will rock in big ways, as it should, but this is nse, i can wait. Or your talking it down so you buy low? I think those are the nonsensical habits wazua is meant to mitigate, this 'hype' ?
Meru Holiness
mgeman
#7 Posted : Friday, December 24, 2010 8:56:42 PM

How can you question the inclusion of cmc? Unless you know something we dont, cmc is aok, it has the value under ordinary available info. I hope it will rock in big ways, as it should, but this is nse, i can wait. Or your talking it down so you buy low? I think those are the nonsensical habits wazua is meant to mitigate, this 'hype' ?

I don't know about Ali Baba but i know something about CMC and i wouldn't recomment anybody to buy. They had their days but currently except the defenders for administration police and Passats for the ministers and a few big guys buying rangerovers all the other divisions are doing badly. Company is leaking employees like hell. All those rangerovers on the road are direct imports most of which are not even serviced by cmc.
Car general on the other hand car & general main job is not cars their only model is the Alfa Romeo their main business is in tuk tuks motor cycles, generators and even outboard motors, ie their main job is on the general and their doing quite well.
All in all cmc is a big old company with promise-some of the best brands but pathetic management. C & G is a small growing company which is servicing a niche market and doing a good job.
I am an African

-Thambo Mbeki Speech
#8 Posted : Friday, December 24, 2010 9:49:58 PM

@the deal be VERY VERY careful with CMC.. These guys will continue to shed their market share and revenues to the ever increasing imported 2nd hand car outlets opening up all around kenya... This is going to hurt their earnings for years to come...
As for C&G i have different view because of their strategy..

These guys offer products that suit the EA market and at affordable prices so i expect them to do very well...

Please be VERY careful with CMC as it is a potential candidate for perpetual ulcers..
madebe
#9 Posted : Friday, December 24, 2010 11:23:20 PM

for insight on how to invest in the motor sector, read the boak by peter lynch. basically he says that you should study the pent up demand. you postpone buy a car now but u have to buy later to replace an ineffient car. look at double M. the had old smoking cars but now they are replacing them. open your eyes and see the no on new KBN of double m and Kbs buses. the pent up demand is beginning to be filled. the result for this year will be poor. the price will fall for cmc. but once the price reaches a good bottom let us buy because the sales will hit the roof. people have to replace inefficient buses, heavy commecial and GOK vehicles that cannot be suplied by the second hand market.
#10 Posted : Saturday, December 25, 2010 10:45:11 AM

madebe wrote:
for insight on how to invest in the motor sector, read the boak by peter lynch. basically he says that you should study the pent up demand. you postpone buy a car now but u have to buy later to replace an ineffient car. look at double M. the had old smoking cars but now they are replacing them. open your eyes and see the no on new KBN of double m and Kbs buses. the pent up demand is beginning to be filled. the result for this year will be poor. the price will fall for cmc. but once the price reaches a good bottom let us buy because the sales will hit the roof. people have to replace inefficient buses, heavy commecial and GOK vehicles that cannot be suplied by the second hand market.

And How many times will the government turnover these purchases... Very few times is the answer...

The only consistent demand can come from the private sector which is currently more interested in second hand market.. CMC must suffer..
Tommy
#11 Posted : Saturday, December 25, 2010 3:35:09 PM

i had cmc in my portfolio, not a productive stock and i wont touch it again
Don't wait for the Last Judgment. It happens every day. ~Albert Camus, The Fall, 1956
madebe
#12 Posted : Sunday, December 26, 2010 10:19:41 AM

double M, city hopper, citi shuttle, kampala coach etc do not buy second hand cars. they dont also want old inefficient cars. truckers can buy second hand cars but they sooner rather than later discover that new is better. dont be focussed only on CMC. GM is owned 17% by centum and new buses are begining to roll out. the motor sector is just waiting for poor results from cmc and then it starts to turn
the deal
#13 Posted : Sunday, December 26, 2010 10:54:18 AM

Well for CMC before you touch them you have to look at this http://www.kmi.co.ke/vehicle_sales_class.php