wazua Sun, May 3, 2026

Kikuyu Burial.. Question?
PuthyKrasha
#1 Posted : Friday, December 24, 2010 9:41:43 AM

The other day we Buried my dear friend,...He hails from Nyeri, now i dint make it to the morgue reason being i was commuting from Nairobi and the proceeding were to start as early as 8.am.. i reached at 9:30 a.m, as the hearse made its way into his family's farm,...
Nways just wanted to know, why is it that kikuyuz dont let guys pay their respect once the body fikaz the boma...the coffin was shut,service mara hio,hio and then burial...
some told me that the kikuyu are scared of the dead, and it got me thinking even one of their own..from where i am from, they make sure everyone says their Goodbyes...
If i showed you where i live, you would think that i was hiding.
Ms Mkenya
#2 Posted : Friday, December 24, 2010 10:26:02 AM

I wouldn't say they are scared of the dead. They just don't see the need to keep the body for long. Kama ni kuzika, unazika. In their funerals, you view at the morgue only. And by the way, once a person dies, you are buried within a week more or less..

I actually prefer this to the ones where a guy's coffin is open all night and people are sleeping in the same house!! I would not find sleep.... Maybe i have an overactive mind..
....above all, to stand.
mzeekijana
#3 Posted : Friday, December 24, 2010 11:10:22 AM

I believe the best is to bury the dead IMMEDIATELY kama ni Kikuyu, Jaluo or what ever tribe it is..Kwani wale ambao hawakumuona when they last come and see the body what difference does it make??? If yiou managed to pray for him before burial it's good but if you did not then there is no need of kungojea the rest.Just pray for him infront of his grave and God will hear your prayers...
PuthyKrasha
#4 Posted : Friday, December 24, 2010 11:38:51 AM

mzeekijana wrote:
I believe the best is to bury the dead IMMEDIATELY kama ni Kikuyu, Jaluo or what ever tribe it is..Kwani wale ambao hawakumuona when they last come and see the body what difference does it make??? If yiou managed to pray for him before burial it's good but if you did not then there is no need of kungojea the rest.Just pray for him infront of his grave and God will hear your prayers...

U obviously haven't lost a loved one...
If i showed you where i live, you would think that i was hiding.
Murira Ikihia
#5 Posted : Friday, December 24, 2010 11:40:06 AM

This is one of the cultural values in my community. We demonstrate respect for person when he is alive and by standing in solidarity with his household but not necessarily by public mourning. We also bury our dead within a decent time frame - sufficient to assemble all relevant relatives and friends - but not everyone. In fact it is considered to be in bad taste for individuals who could not give the deceased the time of the day during his/her life to mourn more than the bereaved. In other cultures such the Luos and Jamaicans - feasting, dancing and expensive mourning outfits are considered essential parts of the ceremony for families that can afford. Kikuyu mourners did only take any meals in a bereaved household until the 1970s. I remember attending a funeral of an old lady in 1960s - which was concluded before some of the sons had arrived. Many of us have difficulties understanding why a family such as that of Akuku Danger would defer the funeral for such a long time. Giving time to MPigs to wash their dirty linen in such a solemn occasions is probably the next worst choice I can think of. I would urge all communities to think seriously about this malfeasance unless the deceased was a politician. Let families mourn in peace without the kind of drama that we have been treated to. Finally, we consider it to be an act of honour to finance the funerals of our loved ones without having to push total strangers to chip in. I suspect that this is largely driven by inclusion of unnecessary expenses - including hosting opulent feasts for mourners in households that can afford and even those that can't. If you doubt the economic impact of these choices, read some studies on HIV/AIDS in Nyanza. You be shocked. God help us to make the right choices even in these difficult matters.
Njore
#6 Posted : Friday, December 24, 2010 12:20:00 PM

Murira Ikihia, you have eloquently put the point across. I wonder what memories of the deceased one would like to keep when they are in the moribund state. I remember of a case where a good friend of mine was involved in a fatal accident that had his cranium shattered. Unfortunately, I was part of the advance team to the morque on the burial day to ensure that the head was reconstructed to a presentable form. I can asssure you that his last image will haunt me for the rest of my life.
@PuthyKrasha, if you anything to do for someone, do it when they can appreciate it and not when they are past tense!
sheep
#7 Posted : Friday, December 24, 2010 12:35:58 PM

Njore wrote:
Murira Ikihia, you have eloquently put the point across. I wonder what memories of the deceased one would like to keep when they are in the moribund state. I remember of a case where a good friend of mine was involved in a fatal accident that had his cranium shattered. Unfortunately, I was part of the advance team to the morque on the burial day to ensure that the head was reconstructed to a presentable form. I can asssure you that his last image will haunt me for the rest of my life.
@PuthyKrasha, if you anything to do for someone, do it when they can appreciate it and not when they are past tense!

arrrghhh...hio ni mbaya sana...hii mambo ya viewing the body is very bad...some psychos aka womens guild and others derive some form of pleasure...
The utimate goal of investing is to buy low sell high;if we re-write this core equation in psychology terms it becomes buy fear sell greed.
#8 Posted : Saturday, December 25, 2010 9:13:28 PM

......i would rather view the ash...
Tokyo
#9 Posted : Sunday, December 26, 2010 4:41:10 AM

burn the dead before the third day after death. preserve the ash .
OR donate the body to a research center.
Alternatively, Harvest the organs.A dead body is like a scrap or damaged car.Get the spare parts for the one that can be repaired.
work to prosper
murenj
#10 Posted : Sunday, December 26, 2010 7:08:03 AM

From the psychological point of view, rites associated with mourning have therapeutic value to the bereaved helping them cope with the loss of the beloved one. This ensures that those left behind are psychologically healthy. No room for innuendos here.