wazua Mon, Sep 22, 2025

33 Pages«<2728293031>»
KQ in 2010-11 (Boom, Bust or Blah)
#561 Posted : Wednesday, December 15, 2010 3:31:06 PM

X13united wrote:
Where did this plane to Rome come from. Is it a shift from another route, or may be on hire?
Good question. Only 3x per week so perhaps re-deployment from another route. I think its a 767
bird_man
#562 Posted : Monday, December 20, 2010 10:58:41 AM

Is my richdata playing tricks on me or did someone just purchase 8,700shares @ 9.6sh?
Surely it must be my data.
Formally employed people often live their employers' dream & forget about their own.
Mali
#563 Posted : Monday, December 20, 2010 11:34:21 AM

Was shocked too! 9.60! damn!
#564 Posted : Monday, December 20, 2010 12:10:45 PM

Huh... KQ at 45.75 or so...
#565 Posted : Tuesday, December 21, 2010 10:44:20 AM

Holiday season, kawa travel time then Europe airports are almost on total shut down. Yaani who cursed KQ? When all things are looking up something always seems to crop up.

#566 Posted : Tuesday, December 21, 2010 11:02:27 AM

Holiday season, kawa travel time then Europe airports are almost on total shut down. Yaani who cursed KQ? When all things are looking up something always seems to crop up.

@2012 its pretty simple..

Its an airline stock a.k.a ulcers central..

No matter How cheap KQ looks rIght now i still wouldn't touch it cos of suprises
#567 Posted : Tuesday, December 21, 2010 11:11:07 AM

guru267 wrote:
No matter How cheap KQ looks rIght now i still wouldn't touch it cos of suprises

They are not even surprises they're more like a shocker followed by a thousand aftershocks thereafter. Now I'm certain that I would not touch it even @30/-

the deal
#568 Posted : Tuesday, December 21, 2010 11:29:15 AM

Current Press Releases
Kenya Airways
Kenya AirwaysCurrent Press Releases
Kenya Airways
Kenya Airways Flight Status for flights in and out of Europe

20th Dec, 2010
FLIGHT STATUS
KQ116 NAIROBI TO AMSTERDAM ON SCHEDULE
KQ117 AMSTERDAM TO NAIROBI ON SCHEDULE
KQ113 PARIS Charles De Gaulle (CDG) TO NAIROBI ON SCHEDULE
KQ101 LONDON HEATHROW TO NAIROBI ON SCHEDULE CHECK IN AS NORMAL
KQ102 NAIROBI TO LONDON HEATHROW DELAYED

Click here to read the Re-booking policy

That was just some sensational reporting from Business Daily.
#569 Posted : Tuesday, December 21, 2010 11:55:15 AM

I just checked with KQ for some folks... Flights back to normal... There is some backlog [passengers in Paris & London] but as long as the weather stays OK, they will get the folks to where they want.

Plus people prefer DIRECT flights after a long stay at the airport. No need to take connecting flights...
bartum
#570 Posted : Tuesday, December 21, 2010 4:26:46 PM

guru267 wrote:

@2012 its pretty simple..

Its an airline stock a.k.a ulcers central..

@guru267 and @2012 totally with you--ulcers central fullstop.airline stock once burnt myself so once bitten twice shy
#571 Posted : Wednesday, December 22, 2010 4:47:51 PM

Fm Msa, naona all airlines ni fulu fulu condition. Hovever, as intimated above, surprises abound in ths sector..
Aguytrying
#572 Posted : Wednesday, December 22, 2010 6:01:41 PM

When will i ever leave this share!! Too young to get ulcers.
The investor's chief problem - and even his worst enemy - is likely to be himself
#573 Posted : Wednesday, December 22, 2010 10:04:25 PM

Fm Msa, naona all airlines ni fulu fulu condition. Hovever, as intimated above, surprises abound in ths sector..

That sector is busy... when available, they have a 767-300 on the route!
#574 Posted : Wednesday, December 22, 2010 11:04:13 PM

The 767 is ocassional. There are I think 2 or 3 737's fully dedicated. Every 20 or 30 min a 737 is taking off fm HKMO! Jetlink have a similar frequency, giving the true definition of a festive season.
#575 Posted : Thursday, December 23, 2010 12:38:55 PM

The 767 is ocassional. There are I think 2 or 3 737's fully dedicated. Every 20 or 30 min a 737 is taking off fm HKMO! Jetlink have a similar frequency, giving the true definition of a festive season.

There are two 737-300s that I am aware of... Not sure why the 767-300 was being used... Perhaps they had cargo as well? No idea!

One advantage of using a 767 is the flight was 35 mins! The rest of the 1 hour was waiting to take off & getting to the gate!
Ric dees
#576 Posted : Thursday, December 23, 2010 1:54:18 PM

I don't know whether am old fashioned or what but why would any-one want to fly to Mombasa during the holidays! when the drive down has a much better experience!! or is it just another of a queer habits!

The greatest danger in times of turbulence is not the turbulence; it is to act with yesterday's logic.
#577 Posted : Thursday, December 23, 2010 1:58:40 PM

Ric dees wrote:

I don't know whether am old fashioned or what but why would any-one want to fly to Mombasa during the holidays! when the drive down has a much better experience!! or is it just another of a queer habits!
I was flying solo + time crunch. BTW, IMHO the cost of driving to Mombasa [alone] is higher than flying...

Best case: 50 litres to Mombasa = 4,700/- + wear & tear + traffic + stress + time

[BTW, the cost of flying should include cab fares to/from the airports]

An advantage of having your own car is no need to use cabs/tuktuks/rentals + convenience
#578 Posted : Thursday, December 23, 2010 2:10:13 PM

Last time (11th Dec) I looked across at the Old Airport apron (The Air-force), I saw two 737s parked that seemed like they were undergoing a paint job. I suspect these were the leased kites from KLM, so probably they haven't finished with the paint-job, hence lack of 737s on the Msa route, where they were to be deployed on a full-time basis.
#579 Posted : Thursday, December 23, 2010 2:30:28 PM

Gordon Gekko wrote:
Last time (11th Dec) I looked across at the Old Airport apron (The Air-force), I saw two 737s parked that seemed like they were undergoing a paint job. I suspect these were the leased kites from KLM, so probably they haven't finished with the paint-job, hence lack of 737s on the Msa route, where they were to be deployed on a full-time basis.

Interesting. Why would they be re-painting them during the PEAK travel season??? I wonder if there is drop in African traffic thus the availability of the 767?

[BTW, as a shareholder, I don't care if the leased planes are in KLM colors. Kwani? Passengers watakata to fly in the planes? These are mainly for NBO-MBA routes]
#580 Posted : Thursday, December 23, 2010 6:52:21 PM

@vvs n gg, I think the lease was to last only 2months, n its already xpired. Two months ago there were 2 blue kq 737s (in what appered to be KLM livery with large white words "Kenya airways") plying msa route. No longer there.