wazua Tue, Jul 22, 2025

Online trading
Surealligator
#21 Posted : Friday, December 10, 2010 12:32:03 PM

FundamentAli wrote:
Surealligator wrote:
There is a company called HBL in the selection. It comes before HFCK. Which company is this?

It must be the suspended Hutchings Beemer Ltd.

@FundamentAli

That's a good one. I forgot the furniture outfit, Biemer on Rough Bunch Rd. These guys were in the same class as Deacons, Olympia and Supreme Furnitures (guaranteed to fail sooner than later).

@Likeyou

Hope you are of the fair sex and your appreciation will be highly accepted.

@Vestor

Sasa hi data ya foreigners buyin KCB and Co enmasse umefinya burton gani kwa site? Am asking cauze I don't know.
Go overdrive in purchasing the goods when there's blood on the streets, expecially if the blood is your own
vestor
#22 Posted : Friday, December 10, 2010 12:39:23 PM

@ Surealligator. Right click any top tab, e.g security name or security code. Then choose columns option, you will have so many info you can add to your columns including the foreign buys and sells.
Surealligator
#23 Posted : Friday, December 10, 2010 1:03:02 PM

vestor wrote:
@ Surealligator. Right click any top tab, e.g security name or security code. Then choose columns option, you will have so many info you can add to your columns including the foreign buys and sells.

@Vestor

Thanks men. Am now doing it like a pro. Lakini, when I set up the securities (why are they called securities instead of risks?)I wanted to observe for the next few days, I was beside myself in glee. Then I switched off to attend to other issues. On returning, my settings had been ignored. Can I do something about it to avoid having to reset my preferences every now and then.

@Likeyou

Where have you gone? Are you a seaport or a submarine?
Go overdrive in purchasing the goods when there's blood on the streets, expecially if the blood is your own
vestor
#24 Posted : Friday, December 10, 2010 1:52:19 PM

@Surealligator,he he he,ati risks,kweli kabisa,you surely are a pro, am off the comp,but go to the options of adding or deleting securities,the lst option is save tble or smthing.
Surealligator
#25 Posted : Friday, December 10, 2010 3:11:35 PM

vestor wrote:
@Surealligator,he he he,ati risks,kweli kabisa,you surely are a pro, am off the comp,but go to the options of adding or deleting securities,the lst option is save tble or smthing.

@Vestor

Thanks men, now I think next week will be spent on the site. Have a beautiful long weekend.
Ilikeyou
#26 Posted : Friday, December 10, 2010 4:35:31 PM

Surealligator!

I posted my appreciation msg @ 11:27:11 AM.

And Thanks again.

Iam on & off this site.
sheep
#27 Posted : Friday, December 10, 2010 8:49:24 PM

there is a very interesting research carried out by prof.shiller that show investors who switched to online brokerage used to outperform the market by an average of 2%....soon after they switch they tend to underperform the market by an average of 3%.
The utimate goal of investing is to buy low sell high;if we re-write this core equation in psychology terms it becomes buy fear sell greed.
Surealligator
#28 Posted : Tuesday, December 14, 2010 3:43:58 PM

vestor wrote:

@Vestor

Now, the site tells me that my password will shortly expire. How do you avoid this kind of threat?

On the other hand, the watch list has not data. It's showing zero zero through out. Does that mean data is not being updated on the site or my Ipad is faulty?
vestor
#29 Posted : Tuesday, December 14, 2010 4:50:14 PM

@ Surealligator, Its not a threat, I think the guys have put a maximum of 15 days before passwords expire.But you still have an option of changing your password anytime, so keep changing before the 15 days expire.Not sure why it shows zeros, Iwill try and find out and post my findings.Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly I am trying to loook for blood in the street.Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
lovely2010
#30 Posted : Tuesday, December 14, 2010 9:09:48 PM

I need some info on different stockbrokers. I would like to know which stockbroker has online services and their commission, apart from cfc. Be it platform or email I'll appreciate. Sterling they have email but charge 2.2% commission. Cfc if you do your maths well, assuming you place an order of less than about Ksh.5500 they'll charge you 2.1% plus stamp duty which is ok but there is additional fee they charge of about Ksh.100, they actually try to find many ways of taking your money, they charge even share trasfers yet others dont. I have been with them for 4yrs. dyer and blair they dont have online servives, same with standard investment bank, infact I was at SIB today but they told me they were too busy they have no time to tell me if they have or dont have online services....

Please I need your views on different stock brokers....
Surealligator
#31 Posted : Wednesday, December 15, 2010 9:23:52 AM

lovely2010 wrote:
I need some info on different stockbrokers. I would like to know which stockbroker has online services and their commission, apart from cfc. Be it platform or email I'll appreciate. Sterling they have email but charge 2.2% commission. Cfc if you do your maths well, assuming you place an order of less than about Ksh.5500 they'll charge you 2.1% plus stamp duty which is ok but there is additional fee they charge of about Ksh.100, they actually try to find many ways of taking your money, they charge even share trasfers yet others dont. I have been with them for 4yrs. dyer and blair they dont have online servives, same with standard investment bank, infact I was at SIB today but they told me they were too busy they have no time to tell me if they have or dont have online services....

@Lovely

Only CFC has online trading platform. They charge 0.9% commission and you buy the shares personally. In other words, you don't need the broken brokers anymore once you are on line.

Other brokers and investment banks (Some of these brokers just wanted the name 'bank' next to their names but they are still the old snouted brokers with no holds barred attitudes, warts and all) are still so backward and slow but am sure they wont become Obsolete as some of us will still demand their poor quality services. We are our own undoing when it comes to demanding adult or human friendly services.

Most of the brokerage firms accept orders by E-mail but their staff hate the process and usually ignore the same. Trouble is, E-mail orders are easy to send and at times clients over send orders till they don't know where they stand at any given time, make orders while account is negative squared etc. When an old order goes through at unfavorable terms, the client takes the brokerage firm staff to task.

So, the idea is go to a mature stock broker, identify a staff member in the firm whom you can connect via E-mail. Build trust and confidence with him/her. Game shot.

I only went to CFC cauze of the online platform, otherwise, I know their poor reputation.

SIB is another funny establishment that only works well for agents who buy and sell on behalf of some rural clients etc. It has a banking hall with more than half of the counters empty while service is painfully slow. You can pay them in cash but they cant pay you in cash but still claim to be a bank. This guys survive cauze of the old boy connection networks, period. When staff finally give you an ear, they claim their internet system has been having problems, server is down, we did not receive your E-mail order, your order was above market and some other juvenile excuses.

Lovely, am killing time as I wait for Ocampo's verdict on the most culpable PEV mastermind imps. In the meantime, am telling you some truth that is hard to come by.

If you can get a foot into Kestrel Capital, do so but avoid the receptionist. Otherwise, go to CFC FS at the junction of Kimathi street and Kenyatta avenue 1st floor and get into online trading. African Alliance are also good. NIC financials are excellent. If you are not in Nairobi, use Equity branches but the guys behind the counter have no clue why shares are called stocks or the prevailing prices for specific shares.
githundi
#32 Posted : Wednesday, December 15, 2010 11:02:00 AM

Surealligator wrote:
lovely2010 wrote:

@Lovely

Only CFC has online trading platform. They charge 0.9% commission and you buy the shares personally. In other words, you don't need the broken brokers anymore once you are on line.

Other brokers and investment banks (Some of these brokers just wanted the name 'bank' next to their names but they are still the old snouted brokers with no holds barred attitudes, warts and all) are still so backward and slow but am sure they wont become Obsolete as some of us will still demand their poor quality services. We are our own undoing when it comes to demanding adult or human friendly services.

Most of the brokerage firms accept orders by E-mail but their staff hate the process and usually ignore the same. Trouble is, E-mail orders are easy to send and at times clients over send orders till they don't know where they stand at any given time, make orders while account is negative squared etc. When an old order goes through at unfavorable terms, the client takes the brokerage firm staff to task.

So, the idea is go to a mature stock broker, identify a staff member in the firm whom you can connect via E-mail. Build trust and confidence with him/her. Game shot.

I only went to CFC cauze of the online platform, otherwise, I know their poor reputation.

SIB is another funny establishment that only works well for agents who buy and sell on behalf of some rural clients etc. It has a banking hall with more than half of the counters empty while service is painfully slow. You can pay them in cash but they cant pay you in cash but still claim to be a bank. This guys survive cauze of the old boy connection networks, period. When staff finally give you an ear, they claim their internet system has been having problems, server is down, we did not receive your E-mail order, your order was above market and some other juvenile excuses.

Lovely, am killing time as I wait for Ocampo's verdict on the most culpable PEV mastermind imps. In the meantime, am telling you some truth that is hard to come by.

If you can get a foot into Kestrel Capital, do so but avoid the receptionist. Otherwise, go to CFC FS at the junction of Kimathi street and Kenyatta avenue 1st floor and get into online trading. African Alliance are also good. NIC financials are excellent. If you are not in Nairobi, use Equity branches but the guys behind the counter have no clue why shares are called stocks or the prevailing prices for specific shares.

@ Surealligator, by look of it, Cfc online is a good deal. Please confirm whether; 0.9% is the comm. for online service or brokerage comm. and any other applicable charges?, is it a must to open a Cfc bank a/c and can i direct my dividends to another bank and advise on any other charges. I operate with equity and they can't adress my needs as per above queries.
Democracy does not belong to the dead
My 2 cents
#33 Posted : Wednesday, December 15, 2010 11:07:42 AM

The 0.9% is a promotional deal for the month of December ONLY and only for new accounts, not existing ones. Rumour has it that they will drop their commission to 1.5% down from 2.1% next year.

These rates do not includes other levies, stamp duty etc
Surealligator
#34 Posted : Wednesday, December 15, 2010 11:25:10 AM

githundi wrote:

@ Surealligator, by look of it, Cfc online is a good deal. Please confirm whether; 0.9% is the comm. for online service or brokerage comm. and any other applicable charges?, is it a must to open a Cfc bank a/c and can i direct my dividends to another bank and advise on any other charges. I operate with equity and they can't adress my needs as per above queries.

@Githundi

You have a very interesting name. The 0.9% rate is introductory but I believe the rate will be maintained around that level compared to others who charge 2.12% or 1.5% if you know your way around.

You don't need to open CFC stanbic account. You only need the CFC Fs (I think its called CSFS)account as you would have one from a broker. For other bank services, you can use any bank of your choice.

You can direct your dividends to another bank but best one is KCB Simba account as it has no ledger fees etc and you only access it 4 times a year.
jawz1
#35 Posted : Wednesday, December 15, 2010 11:28:30 AM

My 2 cents wrote:
The 0.9% is a promotional deal for the month of December ONLY and only for new accounts, not existing ones. Rumour has it that they will drop their commission to 1.5% down from 2.1% next year.

These rates do not includes other levies, stamp duty etc

No wonder I still get charged the old rates when using the online system Sad
"When the pupil is ready to learn, a teacher will appear." -- Zen proverb
githundi
#36 Posted : Wednesday, December 15, 2010 1:28:08 PM

Surealligator wrote:
githundi wrote:

@Githundi

You have a very interesting name. The 0.9% rate is introductory but I believe the rate will be maintained around that level compared to others who charge 2.12% or 1.5% if you know your way around.

You don't need to open CFC stanbic account. You only need the CFC Fs (I think its called CSFS)account as you would have one from a broker. For other bank services, you can use any bank of your choice.

You can direct your dividends to another bank but best one is KCB Simba account as it has no ledger fees etc and you only access it 4 times a year.

@ My 2 cents, thanks for the clarification, i can see it's the right time. @ Sure alligator, thanks for the complement and mind you, am among the few who operate by my real name in Wazua, thanks to for the info about CFCF, i have a free a/c and the more we reduce the charges the high the net gain on our transactions.
Democracy does not belong to the dead
cnn
#37 Posted : Thursday, December 16, 2010 4:13:34 PM

So Suntra have also introduced online trading,the rest of the brokers and investment banks have to up their act in the coming year following CFC and Suntra,i hope mine does.
qw25041985
#38 Posted : Thursday, December 16, 2010 4:30:07 PM

i hope Jimnah Mbaru is rewading the latest developments in online trading .Dyer & Blair need to style up and put up a SECURE (key word here is SECURE)system for online trading.
But before we all rush in to trade online .WE should consider how secure this sytems are ???????So far CFC's system we concluded is insecure i wonder how Suntra is doing ???
Your future depends on your dreams so go to sleep !
young
#39 Posted : Thursday, December 16, 2010 6:21:03 PM

@Surealligator or any one else, please educate me on this. I am refering to Suntra Investment bank, are they fully back on stream, ie fully operational ?

We subscribed to Suntra nominees for my kid many years back but the last I heard was that Suntra is almost going the way of moribound discount brokers.

It will be a cheering news if they are fully back up.
The wazua spirit as members is to educate and inform and learn from others within the limit of what we know in any chosen area irrespective of our differences in tribes, nationalities, etc. .
jerry
#40 Posted : Thursday, December 16, 2010 6:37:59 PM

@young. Suntra moribund? I don't think they are near there but I also doubt if they've a website! However, they do OTC for cic. Mo info plse?
The opposite of courage is not cowardice, it's conformity.