wazua Mon, Jul 21, 2025

Can one make money on the Stock exchange by following stock guru's?
the deal
#1 Posted : Thursday, December 16, 2010 1:54:20 PM

When i was having lunch this subject crossed my mind...

Can you make money on the NSE by following the like's of Stockmaster,VVS,Aly Khan Satchu,Madam Guru,Qw the T.a Jamaa and surealligator of the Eaagards fame or you are better off by doing your own thing?
My 2 cents
#2 Posted : Thursday, December 16, 2010 2:08:11 PM

NO
Gatheuzi
#3 Posted : Thursday, December 16, 2010 2:10:31 PM

the deal wrote:
When i was having lunch this subject crossed my mind...

Can you make money on the NSE by following the like's of Stockmaster,VVS,Aly Khan Satchu,Madam Guru,Qw the T.a Jamaa and surealligator of the Eaagards fame or you are better off by doing your own thing?

It is good to hear what others say, but you head should inform your final judgment. Note that you have no proof if they are making in real life, except for @ stocksmaster who has made his investing public.
Time is money, so money is time. Money saved is time gained in reverse! Money stores your life’s energy. You expend your energy, get paid money, and store that money for a future purchase made in a currency.
The Merchant
#4 Posted : Thursday, December 16, 2010 2:34:36 PM

I suppose you can if you make them your investment advisors so they practically work for you. If they are just tipping you off you gotsa be careful men....Do your own research and if can't hire a professional.
qw25041985
#5 Posted : Thursday, December 16, 2010 2:52:16 PM

One famous investor once said that NO investor/trader is an Island.and in forex trading the sayin couldnt be any more relevant.Hearing other investors opinions is very important in buliding good desicions.There are very many investors who are experienced in this forum and i would ask you to read what they have to say weigh their reasoning and make you decisions.but the bulk of hardwork shld be done by you.
So yes incoperating experienced investors ideas in your investing is a viable strategy.
By the way i am humbled first to be called an investment guru and secondly a t.a (technical analysis) guru .but yes i use allot of t.a in indexes and commodities trading.
Your future depends on your dreams so go to sleep !
bartum
#6 Posted : Thursday, December 16, 2010 2:56:30 PM

yes only if you are paying them for the service
Aguytrying
#7 Posted : Thursday, December 16, 2010 3:17:30 PM

You can if you combine it with your own research. Get their opinions, combine it with yours, and make decisions.
The investor's chief problem - and even his worst enemy - is likely to be himself
My 2 cents
#8 Posted : Thursday, December 16, 2010 3:55:13 PM

Do not follow the crowd. Ignore the market, the crowd, and its fashions.

Have fixed investment principles.

Do not put your eggs in many baskets. Put all your eggs in one basket – and proceed to watch that basket.

Do not rely on outside analysis. Do your own research – and do it thoroughly.

Do not often act on a hunch. Always have sound, well-argued, well-researched reasons for your investments.

Do not place small amounts in each basket. Only buy if you are prepared to put at least 10% of your net worth into the stock.

Do not watch the market intently. Do not switch holdings frequently. Expect to hold your investments for ever. Do not avoid holding cash.

(WB)
Tommy
#9 Posted : Thursday, December 16, 2010 7:15:39 PM

yes it is possible, but only if the gurus give the fundamentals and facts behind every decision. i also believe that with the guidance of the gurus you should not close your eyes
Don't wait for the Last Judgment. It happens every day. ~Albert Camus, The Fall, 1956
#10 Posted : Friday, December 17, 2010 12:06:33 AM

Do your OWN research... What we offer are opinions... And who knows we are not lying to you?

I am a fan of KenolKobil but maybe I want to sell so I 'talk it up' or I want to 'talk it down' coz I want to buy...
ProverB
#11 Posted : Friday, December 17, 2010 7:53:43 AM

@the Deal..why do i feel like you are taking people on a ride?? u've been on this game longer than most and u know the ropes better too..
..ama ni for the benefit of those who never asked? smile smile
..Let your light so shine before men, that they may see your good works, and glorify your Father which is in heaven...Matt5:16
- 1769 Oxford King James Bible 'Authorized Version
#12 Posted : Friday, December 17, 2010 8:34:38 AM

this is a good question. most of us here tend to portray the best part of us. if i may give myself an example; i always talk confidently about KPLC yet i never mention that i got burnt by Express Kenya.
lesson; some of the discussions here are more of confirmatory tests and not the real strategy, you should have done your thing and decided whether to invest or not, how much and for how long. after all that, this is the best place for fine tuning. not the other way round.
ProverB
#13 Posted : Friday, December 17, 2010 8:46:48 AM

Sober wrote:
this is a good question. most of us here tend to portray the best part of us. if i may give myself an example; i always talk confidently about KPLC yet i never mention that i got burnt by Express Kenya.
lesson; some of the discussions here are more of confirmatory tests and not the real strategy, you should have done your thing and decided whether to invest or not, how much and for how long. after all that, this is the best place for fine tuning. not the other way round.

nice illustration here..to distinguish value investing from momentum investin

..stocksmaster has listed KPLC,Kenolkobil,KCB and DTK as buys at current prices..
..comparing value to price..he is spot on..

the more the people focus on these four counters..the higher the demand..prices rise..and pretty soon the "basis" upon which stocksmaster made that list does not hold anymore and he says "sell".. if those who bought based on his opinion do not follow him to the exit..they will burn.

A guru will work for you if you follow him thro a trade..entry-exit..or exit to entry point.. and NEVER change reason/basis for why take an action midway through the transaction! hio sasa ndio ABK! smile

why did you buy express?
..Let your light so shine before men, that they may see your good works, and glorify your Father which is in heaven...Matt5:16
the deal
#14 Posted : Friday, December 17, 2010 9:52:40 AM

ProverB wrote:
@the Deal..why do i feel like you are taking people on a ride?? u've been on this game longer than most and u know the ropes better too..
..ama ni for the benefit of those who never asked? smile smile

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly this is a questions for those who never asked and our guests...i'm a guru too you can follow me...i suggest sell all your shares and put in KQLaughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
ProverB
#15 Posted : Friday, December 17, 2010 10:03:32 AM

the deal wrote:
...i'm a guru too you can follow me...i suggest sell all your shares and put in KQLaughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

..you know i would..if i was convinced. One "6-Months" very good results against a backdrop of 5year pathetic history is not good enough for me.

I guess that means we only follow gurus that confirm our own judgement uh?
the deal
#16 Posted : Friday, December 17, 2010 10:06:54 AM

ProverB wrote:
the deal wrote:
...i'm a guru too you can follow me...i suggest sell all your shares and put in KQLaughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

..you know i would..if i was convinced. One "6-Months" very good results against a backdrop of 5year pathetic history is not good enough for me.

I guess that means we only follow gurus that confirm our own judgement uh?

Look's liked'oh! d'oh! d'oh! smile smile smile
smooth
#17 Posted : Friday, December 17, 2010 12:13:45 PM

In one of the books i read on a stock investor trading habits , he believed in himself and would only hear from any who made more returns in prior years than he did and had proof of it . In essence , if you your gains were more than his then he would trust you as an advisor.
I enjoy the arguments and thoughts of most here , but if a case is raised is on a stock i have an interest in then i go through all related info on the web and then make my decision.

#18 Posted : Friday, December 17, 2010 12:56:49 PM

@the deal

You'll make some pocket change here and there in the short term but you'll eventually get burned for putting too much faith in other people's opinion. Someone gave an example once of this mentor who told his protégé to jump off a cliff and he wont get hurt and sure enough when he jumped the water below cushioned his fall and he did not get hurt from the fall but he drowned.

Do the research for yourself and invest long-term in the counter you feel safe in othewise if someone shouts Unga and you jump in, tomorrow Sasini and wewe huyo, you will burn your fingers. Guaranteed.

#19 Posted : Friday, December 17, 2010 2:11:07 PM

@the deal

You'll make some pocket change here and there in the short term but you'll eventually get burned for putting too much faith in other people's opinion. Someone gave an example once of this mentor who told his protégé to jump off a cliff and he wont get hurt and sure enough when he jumped the water below cushioned his fall and he did not get hurt from the fall but he drowned.

Do the research for yourself and invest long-term in the counter you feel safe in othewise if someone shouts Unga and you jump in, tomorrow Sasini and wewe huyo, you will burn your fingers. Guaranteed.

2012. you are right. another thing, if someone tells you that he's never lost at the bourse, he's lying.