wazua Sat, Nov 16, 2024

Urban Spin!!!
#1 Posted : Thursday, December 16, 2010 11:07:09 AM

Okay so you must know of the famed Tony Mochama, also known as Smitta Smitten, he of the Vodoski fame. Apart from dipping into urban creative poetry, he was once a young budding entepreneur and trained as a lawyer. I heard he'd once won a scholarship for creative writing overseas.

But have you heard of Francis Karugah of MediaMadness/Frankierants, also known as YEYE; goes to great lengths to conceal his identity allegedly via fictitious name Pius Kamuiru. So successful is he with his style that any attempts at correct writing fall flat.

To showcase his work and if @Wazuazu allows, crass admittedly, but this young man today penned a missive to his loyal fan base:

BitchFest!!! Some guys on this blog behave as if we signed a contract with peeps. We are done with the idiocy, daft comments, unsolicitated advice and plain silliness by some ignoramuses who find their way here onto this blog!

Kwani hii blog ni ya baba yako! Nyayako Acrobat! NKT! Yaani some idiots come here to tell us what to write and what goss they want or else? Or else what!!!!! You can f*** off!

Ata kama we have 0.5 comments bado blog itakuwa! Na si lazima usome hii blog, na sii lazima ati you comment! Hii Blog haijawai kulipia mototo ya mtu school fees!

Some idiots think ati hii blog ni public company na kila siku ni AGM ? Umewai kuona hii blog stock market, na mko na shares? Ama kuna mutu hapa ameulizwa atusaidie na mawaitha! Shenzi types!

Did we give you a questionnaire asking what are your views and opinions? Ama tulifanya referedeum ya blog ? ‘Tafadhali tuma sms with your yes no opinion.?’

More... http://www.frankierants.com/bitchfest/
#2 Posted : Thursday, December 16, 2010 11:27:35 AM

some typos here and there.. how mad was frankierants?

i personally cant understand Tony Mochama when he writes under the pseudo 'smitten' the lingua-franca is limited to a few campus kids from i dont know where...
#3 Posted : Thursday, December 16, 2010 2:16:50 PM

@poundfoolish on the contrary, very deliberate calm mind. I actually think the typos, insults, tribal slants, slang are part of what makes him Frankierants, much in the same way Mochama has his own language.

Is that a thing with creativity, to create your own language too?
--switching between English, Sheng, Swahili in line
--intermittent use of WTF!, f**k, shit etc.
--new expressions like 'Nyanyako Acrobat', 'Nktesticles', 'Montezuma Hatuendi'

Don't know how true those allegations that he was always on CapitalFM's case because they refused to give him a job there were? But a month or so ago, allegations were some company acquired Media Madness or something in that line.

#4 Posted : Thursday, December 16, 2010 2:34:56 PM

In the same site they are saying the Standard Group (SG) is buying PRIME OUTDOORS they want to venture into billboard advertising.

will they be able to fight the mammoth magnet venture.
KenyanLyrics
#5 Posted : Thursday, December 16, 2010 9:44:44 PM

i personally cant understand Tony Mochama when he writes under the pseudo 'smitten' the lingua-franca is limited to a few campus kids from i dont know where...

I don't think there are that many people who understand Smitta. I'm in my early 20s and I have never got what he's talking about. I think he's one of those journalists who are pushed by a media house on the basis of previous awards they have won, but really their star is not that bright. DNG also falls in this category, with Radio Africa pushing him so hard on the basis of that KORA award at the turn of the century
subzero
#6 Posted : Friday, December 17, 2010 11:31:19 AM

so how does francis karugah get to know all that info he has on his website.

anything in the media world, he reports on the site way before regular media houses, any latest gossip, or his well connected

I think its a group of people