wazua Sun, Nov 17, 2024

How to live comfortably
Dod
#21 Posted : Tuesday, December 14, 2010 8:58:18 PM

1. Homes are only a good investment when the value of the home increases.

2. Home values occasionally decrease..like what happened on the West/USA

Your solution – make your home a home and make your investments an investment.

The primary function of a home is a place to live. If you make a profit when you sell your house that is great.

Too many homeowners become real estate speculators instead of house shoppers.
The rich have money working for them; the poor and the middle class are going to work for money.
X13united
#22 Posted : Tuesday, December 14, 2010 9:07:17 PM

If Robert .K bumps on this thread,he will perhaps spank some of our veterans n of course send them back to the 'hallo' n 'new f'. The rule of thumb applies all round n it states- kiyosukis first law- if it is not putting money in your pocket/bank acc/investment plans then its a liability. NOTE: The word is 'put' money n not 'save' rent as some veterans are interpreting.
#23 Posted : Tuesday, December 14, 2010 9:45:50 PM

Bwana x13, keep that vibe of elder,veteran hello away.In your understanding(not just from kiyosaki's rules) why is my residential unit a LIABILITY and not ASSET?
#24 Posted : Tuesday, December 14, 2010 11:59:17 PM

The answer to the question whether a house/home is an asset or a liability mainly lies in the school of thought you come from. From the discussion, its clear that a house may be an asset or may not be an asset. Both could be true.

But when one says a house is a liability, then its totally different from saying a house is not an asset, since something can also be neither an asset nor a liability. The proponents of a 'House is a Liability' need to clarify this without raising any ambiguity in their explanations.

An asset can be defined as anything that has value. Robert K's definition is different in that he says it has to be something that generates cash flow. Again school of thought. IMHO I think its an asset, and when its not, it falls under neither an asset nor a liability. Even if it was mortgaged and its rental income (were it rented out) was below the monthly installment, OR the monthly installments were more than what you were paying as rent previously (if you now live in the house), the difference that you would be paying would still be considered as monthly investment into the home.

Which again would again beg more questions as to whether you can invest in something that can be neither an asset nor a liability. My 2 cents.
Pablo
#25 Posted : Wednesday, December 15, 2010 1:06:17 AM

@kadonye - Wachana na hawa watu.

If your residential home saves you 50k of rent every month. Then it has earned you 50k. Plain and simple.

Those who are saying a house is a liability is cause they dont have one and they see getting one is stress.

Once upon a time I also used to think like them and tried to justify it mostl to myself.
gohill
#26 Posted : Wednesday, December 15, 2010 8:17:07 AM

X13united wrote:
If Robert .K bumps on this thread,he will perhaps spank some of our veterans n of course send them back to the 'hallo' n 'new f'. The rule of thumb applies all round n it states- kiyosukis first law- if it is not putting money in your pocket/bank acc/investment plans then its a liability. NOTE: The word is 'put' money n not 'save' rent as some veterans are interpreting.

Must i always do things as per Kiyosukis first law? I have my own laws and that's why i say that ka plot i have is an asset. Ha came with that law so that he can sell that book to you and take money from you(on a light note lakini).
#27 Posted : Wednesday, December 15, 2010 12:18:07 PM

kadonye wrote:

@kadonye,

Indulge me kidogo for argument sake. If you work for govt and they give you a house to live in during your term of service, would that be your asset?

Of course this one is not an asset!If I build my house on my land, why would this be a liability?Bear in mind the rising rents...I have read Rich dad poor dad and I'm still not convinced.Just 1 hse sio hao kila place.

Am with you on this one 100%.
#28 Posted : Wednesday, December 15, 2010 12:20:31 PM

gohill wrote:
X13united wrote:

Must i always do things as per Kiyosukis first law? I have my own laws and that's why i say that ka plot i have is an asset. Ha came with that law so that he can sell that book to you and take money from you(on a light note lakini).

@gohill.........Some people think that the written word is law. Thats why we have so many schooled people who are not educated.
#29 Posted : Wednesday, December 15, 2010 12:27:15 PM

Pablo wrote:
@kadonye - Wachana na hawa watu.

If your residential home saves you 50k of rent every month. Then it has earned you 50k. Plain and simple.

Those who are saying a house is a liability is cause they dont have one and they see getting one is stress.

Once upon a time I also used to think like them and tried to justify it mostl to myself.

@Pablo.......My exact sentiments. Can't be put any better.

Endeleeni kulipa rent kwa hao ma-landlords if you truly believe owning a house is a liability.
X13united
#30 Posted : Wednesday, December 15, 2010 1:14:58 PM

Guys. As someone said,it all goes back to ones school of thoughts.
babyelephant
#31 Posted : Wednesday, December 15, 2010 1:44:32 PM

My two cents. There is a big diff btwn owning a house in the US/UK vs Kenya. In the US/UK kuna property tax, statutory insurance, maintenance, neighbourhood laws etc...a lot of money to pay every month/year. In some places you cannot even inherit a house for free like here, you have to pay tax on it hata kama ni ya baba yako. Thus, bottom line it "takes" money away from your pocket and i guess is the reason Kiyosaki classifies it as a liability.

The appreciation of the house will only be beneficial if you plan to sell it or if you take a loan against it to do some other business.

Here in Kenya, what you pay to keep your own house is very minimal and this why some members find this logic of a house being a liability 'faulty'.

Also, would you rather put down 5M on a house and save yourself 50K rent monthly, OR would you rather invest 5M in a business and generate enough to pay your rent plus more to invest?

In my opinion, both options are viable to a certain degree.
#32 Posted : Wednesday, December 15, 2010 3:31:35 PM

In my opinion, a house is an investment. Just that the return on investment is very low. As it appreciates, you can sell and move on higher. Investing in a business is little more risky and so you can either make money or lose. not so with your house in kenya. You ALWAYS earn some rent every month.
#33 Posted : Wednesday, December 15, 2010 3:55:57 PM

babyelephant wrote:
My two cents. There is a big diff btwn owning a house in the US/UK vs Kenya. In the US/UK kuna property tax, statutory insurance, maintenance, neighbourhood laws etc...a lot of money to pay every month/year. In some places you cannot even inherit a house for free like here, you have to pay tax on it hata kama ni ya baba yako. Thus, bottom line it "takes" money away from your pocket and i guess is the reason Kiyosaki classifies it as a liability.

Thanks bro.We should think of our context

But guys here have nice points.Thinking about it, it can only be an asset.The question is not whether it is an asset or not.The question is whetgher it is worthwhile buying that asset now or investing it elsewhere
My 2 cents
#34 Posted : Wednesday, December 15, 2010 4:18:31 PM

HOUSE IS AN ASSET!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

So if I choose to live in my house it is not an asset...

but if I rent out the same house for say 30K and then use that money to rent a similar house to live in then it is an asset?????

Cmon do not take Robert Kick-you-in-the-sacki literally

He is rich because you keep buying his bullcrap books
X13united
#35 Posted : Wednesday, December 15, 2010 8:26:44 PM

@babyelephant- you my brother/sister. I back you up,you said it the right way. The 5m is better of somewhere else.
Pablo
#36 Posted : Thursday, December 16, 2010 1:09:36 PM

Who says that getting a home and investing are mutually exclusive????

I home is a real estate investment with all the trappings of the investment plus personal security.

For those who would rather invest the 5M and get returns to pay rent they only misconception here is that the 5M home saves you the rent and appreciates in value. In addition try getting a 3M loan to buy a another investment, see what question your bank will ask you first. DO YOU OWN YOUR HOME??

I once discussed with JM (Equity) and he told me of a kikuyu saying 'mundu dage tonga na ido ciake' roughly translated to mean you cannot get rich with your resources only. You need ideas and financial resources to cross the bridge.

#37 Posted : Thursday, December 16, 2010 2:28:31 PM

"The richest man in babylon" advises you to own the home you live in, let your wife cultivate the garden therein and enjoy the fruits and vegs therefrom. A home is a social investment. It would also cushion you from distress if you lost your source of income, give you time to start another enterprise. 50k in Rent paid is money spent but if applied to repay a mortgage, it gets you 3m worth of equity in your home in 5yrs! I agree with @tototusker that Perhaps rich dad is targeted at the american consumer society where one must have a townhouse, cabin up the mountains and a summer home in hawai, florida or the meditereanian. These homes are clearly not assets. Without fear of contradiction, i state that a personal car is an asset in some instances
PATTIE
#38 Posted : Saturday, December 18, 2010 11:48:00 PM

asset or liability?
i am 2 work 4 20 years b4 retiring.

option1.
rent: 35000/- * 12*20 = 8400000/-
pay the house rent, retire and go home empty handed.

option2.
plot: 500000/-
loan to build a house 3500000/-
total cost 4000000/-
repayment within 5years.
after 5 ers one have a house n no more house rent. retire at 20th er, go 2 shaggs n rent out the house n eat the pension

verdict? so a house is an asset n only time can tell so!! 10 cents
young
#39 Posted : Sunday, December 19, 2010 12:21:31 AM

To live comfortably do not live in a rented house, live in your own house.
Have multiple income streams,rents,dividends,other investment income.
The wazua spirit as members is to educate and inform and learn from others within the limit of what we know in any chosen area irrespective of our differences in tribes, nationalities, etc. .
mwanafunzi
#40 Posted : Sunday, December 19, 2010 8:01:29 AM

mwenza wrote:
gohill wrote:
X13united wrote:

@gohill.........Some people think that the written word is law. Thats why we have so many schooled people who are not educated.

Kiyosaki this kiyosaki that! many people are being fooled by this motivational books.if all investment knowledge was in books then librarians would be millionares.