wazua Sun, Sep 21, 2025

26 Pages«<1718192021>»
Kplc restructure plan out
KIRTI
#361 Posted : Wednesday, December 08, 2010 3:41:15 PM

There is romour in nairobi GOK right has been purchased by Equity bank, Co op bank & centum. It will come on the board by Friday.
#362 Posted : Wednesday, December 08, 2010 4:02:42 PM

KIRTI wrote:
There is romour in nairobi GOK right has been purchased by Equity bank, Co op bank & centum. It will come on the board by Friday.

It's not a rumour. Equity and Centum will be underwriting 30% and 10% respectively (if I'm not wrong).

#363 Posted : Wednesday, December 08, 2010 4:07:19 PM

Underwriting is different from buying Rights...
My 2 cents
#364 Posted : Wednesday, December 08, 2010 4:20:05 PM

I once made asked in a new post....

Does anyone have more information? Typical terms of an underwriting require the underwriter to subscribe for any shares offered but not taken up by shareholders.

Is this the case for the KPLC rights? i.e. Will Equity/Centum take up ONLY the rights that have not been taken up by the market? Or were they given the government rights outright?

There was no response, so I guess no one knows
#365 Posted : Wednesday, December 08, 2010 4:27:04 PM

My 2 cents wrote:
Will Equity/Centum take up ONLY the rights that have not been taken up by the market?
Yes.
#366 Posted : Wednesday, December 08, 2010 4:54:05 PM

My 2 cents wrote:
I once made asked in a new post....

Does anyone have more information? Typical terms of an underwriting require the underwriter to subscribe for any shares offered but not taken up by shareholders.

Is this the case for the KPLC rights? i.e. Will Equity/Centum take up ONLY the rights that have not been taken up by the market? Or were they given the government rights outright?

There was no response, so I guess no one knows

@my 2 cents yes they can only take up rights subscribed for through underwriting but nothing stops them from buying G.O.K rights off the market....

BTW I was at D&B today there were loads of people... 90% of whom were going for K.P.L.C rights on the market... Sweet Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

KIRTI
#367 Posted : Wednesday, December 08, 2010 4:59:02 PM

It's not a rumour. Equity and Centum will be underwriting 30% and 10% respectively (if I'm not wrong).[/quote]
EB & Centum have severally undertaken to take up to 40% and 10% of the right respectively.If GOK will not sale their right before 15th Dec, then right will be lapse. GOK have sold their right with premium to EB, Centum & Co Op. bank.
Sufficiently Philanga....thropic
#368 Posted : Wednesday, December 08, 2010 6:02:58 PM

awaiting those serious trades early next week, the direction the share will take once the rights stop trading on 15th, and the impact on the stock when the oversubscription is finally announced!
@SufficientlyP
TUPAC
#369 Posted : Wednesday, December 08, 2010 6:33:16 PM

KIRTI wrote:

It's not a rumour. Equity and Centum will be underwriting 30% and 10% respectively (if I'm not wrong).

EB & Centum have severally undertaken to take up to 40% and 10% of the right respectively.If GOK will not sale their right before 15th Dec, then right will be lapse. GOK have sold their right with premium to EB, Centum & Co Op. bank.[/quote]
those guys saying gov. rights have been taken by equity, coop and centum how sure are you?is it just rumours or you can substanciate?
after all the gov. can choose whom to sell the rights to! but really do they have to take all the rights without leaving a good fraction to the mwananchi? sasa hii ni mbaya sana!!!
...things fall apart...the centre cannot hold..mere anarchy is loosed upon the world...w b yeats
innovator
#370 Posted : Wednesday, December 08, 2010 8:48:36 PM

If the market cannot push the price beyond sh3 without governments supply, why would somebody complain if they were offered to equity or anybody else.
seems the supply is enough for the market even without the government rights.
Aguytrying
#371 Posted : Wednesday, December 08, 2010 10:38:13 PM

Today the were trades at 2.65 for the rights. Leaving the demand at 2.80-2.70. Unless u know the exact price to bid, its hard to get gov rights. Your high bid will just be left hanging.
The investor's chief problem - and even his worst enemy - is likely to be himself
jerry
#372 Posted : Thursday, December 09, 2010 1:00:20 AM

@innovator. We want to acquire the rts more cheaply.
The opposite of courage is not cowardice, it's conformity.
#373 Posted : Thursday, December 09, 2010 8:44:12 AM

KIRTI wrote:

underwritting for EB is 40% and not 30%.
#374 Posted : Thursday, December 09, 2010 5:57:50 PM

TUPAC wrote:

those guys saying gov. rights have been taken by equity, coop and centum how sure are you?is it just rumours or you can substanciate?
after all the gov. can choose whom to sell the rights to! but really do they have to take all the rights without leaving a good fraction to the mwananchi? sasa hii ni mbaya sana!!!

@TUPAC G.O.K can sell to whoever they want then not why sell to the underwriters??? Especially when they are willing to pay...

James Mworia said Centum would make a killing from the rights issue... How will they do it if the rights issue is fully subscribed by shareholders??? They won't get a single right they underwrote...

The only way I see him making a killing is applying for G.O.K rights.... Same goes for James Mwangi and Equity...
TUPAC
#375 Posted : Thursday, December 09, 2010 6:32:55 PM

guru267 wrote:
TUPAC wrote:

@TUPAC G.O.K can sell to whoever they want then not why sell to the underwriters??? Especially when they are willing to pay...

James Mworia said Centum would make a killing from the rights issue... How will they do it if the rights issue is fully subscribed by shareholders??? They won't get a single right they underwrote...

The only way I see him making a killing is applying for G.O.K rights.... Same goes for James Mwangi and Equity...

@guru thankyou for that rejoinder. now whats the best strategy for this thing? was hoping to grab a bit of the gova rights cheaply on the market but i feel 3bob is a bit high! unlike kcb whose rights went down to 50 cents. sasa do you think shareholders who apply for extra shares watapata more than the guaranteed 1000 extra shares?
...things fall apart...the centre cannot hold..mere anarchy is loosed upon the world...w b yeats
#376 Posted : Friday, December 10, 2010 6:07:27 PM

Aguytrying, seems you spoke too soon. Rights price crashed to 2 bob today. 4.69 million of them traded
#377 Posted : Friday, December 10, 2010 6:49:59 PM

youcan'tstopusnow wrote:
Aguytrying, seems you spoke too soon. Rights price crashed to 2 bob today. 4.69 million of them traded

@youcan't this is what I wanted... I did not touch the rights at a 3-5bob premium but the second these things fall below 2bob i'm in slowly by slowly... smile
Tommy
#378 Posted : Friday, December 10, 2010 7:29:09 PM

@for me buying the right for more than sh1.50 is expen. so i will adopt a wait n c att. n btw do rights issue attract brokers comm?
Don't wait for the Last Judgment. It happens every day. ~Albert Camus, The Fall, 1956
Aguytrying
#379 Posted : Friday, December 10, 2010 9:23:21 PM

youcan'tstopusnow wrote:

yes i did. They were stuck on 3bob so long, i thought that was it. Could gov be unleashing them slowly. Trades volumes have picked up over the last few days. Now back to the drawing board.
The investor's chief problem - and even his worst enemy - is likely to be himself
underweight
#380 Posted : Saturday, December 11, 2010 9:28:23 AM

HOW POSSIBLE IS THIS? Was at Equity Custodial finding out on financing on the right issue. Surprisingly I was advised not to bother buying the rights from the Market and instead apply for as much additional rights as I can afford n am guaranteed full allocation! I smell a slight under/oversubscription. Tue and wed will give a beta picture if its not extended! Out to you guys!
"A bad decision made now is beta that a good one made later!!"