wazua Fri, Nov 15, 2024

Best Hospitals in Nairobi
young
#1 Posted : Tuesday, December 07, 2010 5:43:51 PM

Which are the best hospitals in Nairobi in handling terminal diseases like Diabetis, Cancer, Heart Diseases etc ?
The wazua spirit as members is to educate and inform and learn from others within the limit of what we know in any chosen area irrespective of our differences in tribes, nationalities, etc. .
myk
#2 Posted : Wednesday, December 08, 2010 4:00:27 PM

sijui
Mtu Biz
#3 Posted : Wednesday, December 08, 2010 5:23:22 PM

Depends,

On what you can afford, and what you mean by

'best'.

In this country, many times best = most expensive
Sola Scriptura

Ms Mkenya
#4 Posted : Thursday, December 09, 2010 8:34:58 PM

@ young, what is it you want to know in terms of 'best'. Whats aspects are u looking for? Your question is too broad.
....above all, to stand.
#5 Posted : Thursday, December 09, 2010 8:42:39 PM

young wrote:
Which are the best hospitals in Nairobi in handling terminal diseases like Diabetis, Cancer, Heart Diseases etc ?

@young - State what you want specifically. For example "I have a diabetes patient who... [give some details]...."

Wazua is a very resourceful place and the members are not selfish with information. Whenever a person asks something specific, they get very useful info. My two Zim cents.
young
#6 Posted : Friday, December 10, 2010 1:24:05 AM

Thanks to you all, and apologies if my question is not clear.

I do not have any case in mind it is just a general thought on what is happening in Nigeria, west Africa where I reside.

There has been an upsurge of terminal diseases most often traceable to stress and modern livestyle , but there are no good hospitals locally to handle them in terms of medical personnel and equipments.

We now have situations where ailments are wrongly diagnosed or correct diagnoses is done late and recommendation for medical solution in Europe /America and of recent India are made.This makes it very exhorbitant as you have to consider air tickets and other sundry expenses before the medical bills.

My question is, does the same thing happen in Kenya or are there specialist govt or private hospitals with the right equipmens and manpower that can handle some of the terminal ailments mentioned above , If there is can you mention them and their specific area of specialisation ?
To my mind there is none in Nigeria, which I believe it is just too bad.

It is just a general question just for comparison, and nothing more.
The wazua spirit as members is to educate and inform and learn from others within the limit of what we know in any chosen area irrespective of our differences in tribes, nationalities, etc. .
mjuaji wa stocks
#7 Posted : Friday, December 10, 2010 8:37:34 AM

Hi young;

Bad to hear that such a rich country like naija doesnt have good hospitals for its citizens.
Well; terminal illnesses are on the rise in africa....probably because we have left our old healthy ways and are trying to ape the west Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you

Secondly; there is a high possibility of toxic waste to africa......inform of poor quality products from the east and EU too...even the U.S

Did i hear someone say that dasani has a carcinogen in it....that it did not get approved for sale in the uk??? But here in africa...it is the darling of many.

There are other reasons as well!!

To answer your question....check the following

1. Cardivascular diseases/Diabetes.....karen hosp
2.Cancer et al.....NBI hosp/kenyatta national hosp and aga khan hosp.

Kenyatta is far the best interms of cost and presence of consultants.....but most of the time congested.

I hope this helps!!!
God gave me the power to make wealth ... Blessed the work of my hands & enabled be A SELF MADE BILLIONAIRE ...... TO GOD THE FATHER OF MY LORD JESUS CHRIST; BE THE GLORY NOW & FOREVER MORE!

#8 Posted : Friday, December 10, 2010 9:02:38 AM

@Young, I understand you. Been there and have heard of the tales of poor medical facilities in the land of Oga. I have also had the opportunity of experiencing health care in the general West Africa region. A colleague almost died of malaria in Liberia despite the UN facility, we had to fly him to Nairobi Hospital.

Kenya (Nairobi) in particular has some of the best hospitals in the region in terms of capacity (presence of consultants), facilities (modern equipment) and nursing. However the cost element tends to be exorbitant too especially in private hospitals (Many Kenyans seek specialized treatment in India where it is cheaper).

You sound like you have been away too long lakini you can sample several hospitals in Nairobi and choose your "best": Nairobi Hospital, Aga Khan, MP Shah, Kenyatta Hospital, Kijabe, Gertrude's, Karen etc.