wazua Sun, May 3, 2026

Am dying!.......Who cares.
#1 Posted : Wednesday, December 08, 2010 10:40:17 AM

On Saturday night a smelter at the Tononoka steel mill in Dandora exploded after some additive were added causing an over reaction killing 4 pple and injuring 19 others with serious burns.

There are two big smelters in the area whose level of safety not only to the employees but also the surrounding community is overlooked....The level of pollution in that area makes me wonder what the relevant authorities are doing.

Back to the accident, the company is not operating at the moment, and I think, the reason is repairs being done to the smelter, as opposed to a thorough investigation into the cause of the explosion....NO media house has even taken up the challenge of finding out what was the reason.

Who really is responsible for the safety of thousands of Kenyans working in such hazardous working environment.Apart from the explosion how can people exposed to high level of pollution ever live to enjoy their retirement.
IDP
#2 Posted : Wednesday, December 08, 2010 11:11:35 AM

If you are a "koroga" you are tied with sacks and water is poured on you as you approach the 1000 degree kilns. Harafu muhindi anasema koroga sasa koroga sawa sawa. You koroga the liquid metal. If u over stay you catch fire!

Human rights never get to the poor of the poor.Shame on you

sky5
#3 Posted : Wednesday, December 08, 2010 11:55:22 AM

Very sad that Kenyans die this way.

Was the matter reported to the police or the ministry of labour or NEMA? Someone should take it up with them.
Ms Mkenya
#4 Posted : Wednesday, December 08, 2010 12:05:37 PM

selah wrote:
On Saturday night a smelter at the Tononoka steel mill in Dandora exploded after some additive were added causing an over reaction killing 4 pple and injuring 19 others with serious burns.

There are two big smelters in the area whose level of safety not only to the employees but also the surrounding community is overlooked....The level of pollution in that area makes me wonder what the relevant authorities are doing.

Back to the accident, the company is not operating at the moment, and I think, the reason is repairs being done to the smelter, as opposed to a thorough investigation into the cause of the explosion....NO media house has even taken up the challenge of finding out what was the reason.

Who really is responsible for the safety of thousands of Kenyans working in such hazardous working environment.Apart from the explosion how can people exposed to high level of pollution ever live to enjoy their retirement.

@ Selah, having seen this, please report it now.. Unless a responsible Kenyan reports.. we cannot blame the authorities for non-reaction.
....above all, to stand.
#5 Posted : Wednesday, December 08, 2010 12:28:08 PM

Ms Mkenya wrote:
selah wrote:

@ Selah, having seen this, please report it now.. Unless a responsible Kenyan reports.. we cannot blame the authorities for non-reaction.

We would rather offer pro bono advice to politicians....Sad Sad
#6 Posted : Wednesday, December 08, 2010 12:38:50 PM

Ms Mkenya wrote:

I was told about the incident yesterday....The accident happened on Saturday night Around 1am so many pple are unaware of the incident apart from those who live near the plant and the staff who I doubt would do anything for fear of victimization...The company is well secured so unless one of the staff report this...The company will resume work like nothing happened.
#7 Posted : Wednesday, December 08, 2010 1:00:09 PM

Tononoka steel mill
Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you

wazua being an influential site just like the wikileaks ,I believe that justice will be done to the family of the departed 4 and the injured workers.Meanwhile , Selah ,Go to police now and if nothing is done , report back here and we shall ensure that the matter comes to light.

Kwanza heko kwako , for letting us knowApplause .

Incase you feel something corrupt is going on between the respective authorities and the Company , We, the PLO Mboys are ready to pounce , feed us on >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>Pray Pray Pray
#8 Posted : Wednesday, December 08, 2010 1:18:44 PM

Tononoka steel mill
Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you

wazua being an influential site just like the wikileaks ,I believe that justice will be done to the family of the departed 4 and the injured workers.Meanwhile , Selah ,Go to police now and if nothing is done , report back here and we shall ensure that the matter comes to light.

Kwanza heko kwako , for letting us knowApplause .

Incase you feel something corrupt is going on between the respective authorities and the Company , We, the PLO Mboys are ready to pounce , feed us on >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>Pray Pray Pray

and when you go, make sure you keep trail of records like time of visit, attended to by, places etc...

We need to shout out about it enough times!
#9 Posted : Wednesday, December 08, 2010 1:46:55 PM

I wrote a letter to NEMA complaining on the level of pollution by the two smelters about two months ago ,Nothing has changed since then. The smoke emitted when you pass through there be it Night or day is too much.And I pity people who leave near the companies.....So @ radio & @ newfarer taking this issue to the relevant authority I hav done I just hope the guys who were killed or injured could get justice while future accidents like this can be avoided.
#10 Posted : Wednesday, December 08, 2010 3:54:01 PM

@Selah - You are on the right track. You didn't keep quiet. You shared. Now go a step ahead and make some calls - NEMA, Kanjo, Police, PLO, Media Houses - K24 loves this kind of stories by the way, Letters to editors,NGOs that deal promarily with human rights etc. Someone is bound to take the matter up.