wazua Mon, Dec 23, 2024

Should I invest in KPLC rights ?
#21 Posted : Sunday, December 05, 2010 12:54:53 PM

@youcant... LOL... That is hilarious!!! Nice one!

For @YCAPSBIGSHIT seems if he combines forces with @qw they can head

TEAM ALL-CAPS

Laughing out loudlyLaughing out loudlyLaughing out loudlyLaughing out loudlyLaughing out loudly. Wacha kunimaliza
#22 Posted : Sunday, December 05, 2010 12:58:54 PM

bartum wrote:
i will head diamond, and a team player at kplc and deputise in CIC

For CIC, you can only join if you get direct nomination from BOTH PKoli and Sasha.Laughing out loudly (PKoli, umenyamaza sana. Hope you're doing good.)
bartum
#23 Posted : Sunday, December 05, 2010 3:00:01 PM

youcan'tstopusnow wrote:
bartum wrote:
i will head diamond, and a team player at kplc and deputise in CIC

For CIC, you can only join if you get direct nomination from BOTH PKoli and Sasha.Laughing out loudly (PKoli, umenyamaza sana. Hope you're doing good.)

i hope i will be nominated by pkoli as i will nominate her for top seat in cic lakini sasha will be secretary
Aguytrying
#24 Posted : Sunday, December 05, 2010 8:08:29 PM

@ycnt. Nice one. Ill deputise team dtb, with an aim to head it someday.
The investor's chief problem - and even his worst enemy - is likely to be himself
#25 Posted : Monday, December 06, 2010 10:18:48 AM

mkonomtupu wrote:
KPLC knows the directions to your house when it wants to disconnect power but you have to provide a map when you want re-connection.

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly so true...

Aguytrying
#26 Posted : Monday, December 06, 2010 10:51:15 AM

With the rights price for kplc not coming down past 3 bob, im begining to consider my options. I suspect the price is bound to drop by 15th when the trading of the rights is closing, but what if it doesnt go lower. I'v also noticed that counters i have great interest in have very low demand and high supply DTK, JUB ( im thinking this may be partly attributable to ppl cashing in for the rigths) making these counters so attractive, that i may not be able to resist. so im really thinking, should i invest in kplc rights? between now and 15th, will determine my course of action. what i can say is me buying them, is not as ground in stone as it was before.
The investor's chief problem - and even his worst enemy - is likely to be himself
#27 Posted : Monday, December 06, 2010 10:58:39 AM

HFCK or Bralirwa have better hope...
#28 Posted : Monday, December 06, 2010 11:54:55 AM

Aguytrying wrote:
With the rights price for kplc not coming down past 3 bob, im begining to consider my options. I suspect the price is bound to drop by 15th when the trading of the rights is closing, but what if it doesnt go lower. I'v also noticed that counters i have great interest in have very low demand and high supply DTK, JUB ( im thinking this may be partly attributable to ppl cashing in for the rigths) making these counters so attractive, that i may not be able to resist. so im really thinking, should i invest in kplc rights? between now and 15th, will determine my course of action. what i can say is me buying them, is not as ground in stone as it was before.

If you're investing for the long term (which you should) then anything below 27/- is great. If it's for speculating purposes then any price would either be great or terrible. My advice, add KPLC to your portfolio at this period.

Aguytrying
#29 Posted : Monday, December 06, 2010 12:13:35 PM

Aguytrying wrote:

If you're investing for the long term (which you should) then anything below 27/- is great. If it's for speculating purposes then any price would either be great or terrible. My advice, add KPLC to your portfolio at this period.

thanks for this, my faith was wavering a bit. Theres just something about DTK at 130 that makes me want to buy buy buy. patiently waiting for mr market to accept my bid(if he will)
#30 Posted : Monday, December 06, 2010 12:25:09 PM

mkonomtupu wrote:
KPLC knows the directions to your house when it wants to disconnect power but you have to provide a map when you want re-connection.

Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause

I read the following somewhere and thought it was funny:

Sasa hawa KPLC wako na rights issue ama ni lights issue?
Aguytrying
#31 Posted : Monday, December 06, 2010 12:43:26 PM

mkonomtupu wrote:

Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause

I read the following somewhere and thought it was funny:

Sasa hawa KPLC wako na rights issue ama ni lights issue?

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly very funny. ignorance is bliss (what you dont know...will kill you)
#32 Posted : Wednesday, May 29, 2019 1:46:07 AM

LOL... Let's just split the group into Team KCB & Team KPLC... I will head Team KPLC... @sparkly can head Team KCB...

@Sparkly has been beating me over the head since 2010. d'oh!

My transformation on the road to Damascus came in 2012 after which I started coming out of GoK-Controlled firms except KenyaRe. I exited KPLC and KQ in entirety except for odd lots. Applause

Very expensive lessons but I am glad I learnt them in good time otherwise it would have been even more expensive.

KPLC and KQ went from less to more GoK control.
KCB went the other way.
The results are there for all to see.

Own your mistakes. The lesson is to learn from one's mistakes.
wukan
#33 Posted : Wednesday, May 29, 2019 1:24:02 PM

mkonomtupu wrote:
energy sector is good to invest in there is a lot of potential but KPLC is just one lame duck company that has no ambition. This is a company that at times tells its consumers not to consume its products. As Maina Kageni said KPLC knows the directions to your house when it wants to disconnect power but you have to provide a map when you want re-connection. It has too much red tape in its procurement and it will now be worse as the government now has majority stake. The management and staff are just uninspiring. IMO 10billion in rights issue is modest to achieve the task ahead.
KPLC is giving government majority shareholding to qualify for sovereign guarantees for its future debts so it will taking a lot of debt now that the balance sheet is clean.
Looking at the information memorandum for KPLC and KCB i would rather go with KCB

Applause profound
Ebenyo
#34 Posted : Thursday, May 30, 2019 9:39:12 AM

LOL... Let's just split the group into Team KCB & Team KPLC... I will head Team KPLC... @sparkly can head Team KCB...

My transformation on the road to Damascus came in 2012 after which I started coming out of GoK-Controlled firms except KenyaRe. I exited KPLC and KQ in entirety except for odd lots. Applause

Very expensive lessons but I am glad I learnt them in good time otherwise it would have been even more expensive.

KCB went the other way.

Whoever says he has never lost money in stocks is lying.
Towards the goal of financial freedom
Ericsson
#35 Posted : Thursday, May 30, 2019 10:32:33 AM

KCB went the other way.

Learn from one's and others mistakes
Wealth is built through a relatively simple equation
Wealth=Income + Investments - Lifestyle
#36 Posted : Tuesday, September 24, 2019 2:49:17 AM

What an awful call I made. I am glad I bailed out in 2012 after I soured on government firms except Kenya Re.

@sparkly - You would have handily won this if I had held on until 2019. The dividend from KCB exceeds the value of KPLC shares!
#37 Posted : Tuesday, September 24, 2019 6:20:39 PM

The dividend from KCB exceeds the value of KPLC shares!

Ericsson
#38 Posted : Tuesday, September 24, 2019 8:26:07 PM

guru267 wrote:
The dividend from KCB exceeds the value of KPLC shares!

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Applause Applause
Parable of the talents
Wealth is built through a relatively simple equation
Wealth=Income + Investments - Lifestyle