wazua Sat, Sep 20, 2025

Trading of Renounceble rights now underway, forget kitu kubwa!
Aguytrying
#21 Posted : Thursday, December 02, 2010 11:18:06 AM

guru267 wrote:
Bmisoka wrote:
IMHO it will be hard for KPLC to raise all the 9.5 billion .
KCB is more of a bluechip company but it missed its target by 3 billion; its hard to see a parastatal raising 9.5 billion. Foreigners especially are likely to shun it coz of mzungu 'swamp of corruption' sentiment.
Anyone who oversubscribed to KCB got full allocation, i expect the same thing will happen with KPLC.

Welcome to the game @Bmisoka K.PL.C and K.C.B are completely different.. Speaking from very credible sources.. The interest in the K.P.L.C rights is very high..

I mean today they even traded higher than the actual share on the market... smile Plus there are only 7000 shareholders as opposed to K.C.B's hundreds of thousands...

I don't think any of these will be willing to sell their rights at less than they are currently asking for(4-6)... And i also believe that G.O.K rights have already been pre sold to the big boys all we need to see are the trades...

So I wonder where guys interested in this rights issue but aint shareholders will find these rights... Certainly not from me, @VVS, @2012, and the rest on wazua smile

We certainly hope we can find them from somewhere. fingers crossed.
The investor's chief problem - and even his worst enemy - is likely to be himself
#22 Posted : Thursday, December 02, 2010 12:27:58 PM

Bmisoka wrote:
IMHO it will be hard for KPLC to raise all the 9.5 billion

Haiya! Umekunywa changaa ya @YBC? I smell an OVER-SUBSCRIPTION...
Sufficiently Philanga....thropic
#23 Posted : Thursday, December 02, 2010 12:38:08 PM

Bmisoka wrote:
IMHO it will be hard for KPLC to raise all the 9.5 billion

Haiya! Umekunywa changaa ya @YBC?

lol!
wonder why guys would think 9.5B is hard to raise with the high liquidity in the market!
Kwanza a firm in the energy sector, with absolutely no competitor!
Surely that drink must be stronger than changaa!
@SufficientlyP
Aguytrying
#24 Posted : Thursday, December 02, 2010 1:00:58 PM

@SPT. thanks bro. im now in the know.
The investor's chief problem - and even his worst enemy - is likely to be himself
#25 Posted : Thursday, December 02, 2010 1:28:35 PM

guru267 wrote:
So I wonder where guys interested in this rights issue but aint shareholders will find these rights... Certainly not from me, @VVS, @2012, and the rest on wazua smile

.............And certainly not from me.
sean_george
#26 Posted : Thursday, December 02, 2010 1:57:21 PM

mwanahisa wrote:
Bmisoka wrote:
KCB is more of a bluechip company but it missed its target by 3 billion; its hard to see a parastatal raising 9.5 billion. Foreigners especially are likely to shun it coz of mzungu 'swamp of corruption' sentiment.
Anyone who oversubscribed to KCB got full allocation, i expect the same thing will happen with KPLC.

Bmisoka, I also welcome you to Wazua. I note that this is your maiden post, so I think congratulations are in order.

KCB and KPLC have different dynamics e.g. KCB's was the 3rd rights issue within this decade. Not so for KPLC. In KCB's case investors were somewhat leery or jaded with the constant cries/appeals for more money from the Board/Mgt and some folks felt that they did not have too much to show for it. I happen to have taken a contrary position but that's not the point.

9.5 Billion is not exactly a lot of money these days, so we will not even need foreigners to mop the whole issue up. Both KenGen's IPO and their PIBO raised close to 30B which shows you money is there. All it requires is for investors to be convinced they can make money.

9.5 billion IS a lot of money these days (people are conservative after the 2008/9 downturn, unlike the euphoria / hysteria b4).
Kengen's PIBO was a bond, meaning guaranteed returns (meaning conservative institutions banks insurance companies could buy heavily into it), yet it still had to be sweetened - 12.5% coupon, tax free.
With the NSE in a bear run - down 250 points (5.5%) in november - who will apply for the govt's share of the rights (worth 6.65 B). If you count out foreigners, and banks which prefer bonds and giving loans, centum which prefers real estate of late, pesa itatoka wapi?
#27 Posted : Thursday, December 02, 2010 2:12:35 PM

sean_george wrote:
mwanahisa wrote:
Bmisoka wrote:

Bmisoka, I also welcome you to Wazua. I note that this is your maiden post, so I think congratulations are in order.

KCB and KPLC have different dynamics e.g. KCB's was the 3rd rights issue within this decade. Not so for KPLC. In KCB's case investors were somewhat leery or jaded with the constant cries/appeals for more money from the Board/Mgt and some folks felt that they did not have too much to show for it. I happen to have taken a contrary position but that's not the point.

9.5 Billion is not exactly a lot of money these days, so we will not even need foreigners to mop the whole issue up. Both KenGen's IPO and their PIBO raised close to 30B which shows you money is there. All it requires is for investors to be convinced they can make money.

9.5 billion IS a lot of money these days (people are conservative after the 2008/9 downturn, unlike the euphoria / hysteria b4).
Kengen's PIBO was a bond, meaning guaranteed returns (meaning conservative institutions banks insurance companies could buy heavily into it), yet it still had to be sweetened - 12.5% coupon, tax free.
With the NSE in a bear run - down 250 points (5.5%) in november - who will apply for the govt's share of the rights (worth 6.65 B). If you count out foreigners, and banks which prefer bonds and giving loans, centum which prefers real estate of late, pesa itatoka wapi?

am willing to buy your rights off market!
BTW,6.65B is a drop in the ocean and Banks and Foreign investor don't even need to take the plunge for the rights issue to be successful.
As we speak, the big players are already in the loop, my brother, just keep checking the market, late next week and early next week but one, you'll see some heavy trading.
If only you saw what am seeing!
And please, don't compare KPLC with KCB again!
@SufficientlyP
#28 Posted : Thursday, December 02, 2010 3:13:13 PM

LOL... @sean-g

Centum has underwritten 10% of the Offer. So please do some research before throwing out your lies on this forum! ["centum which prefers real estate of late"]
Equity Bank has underwritten 40% of the Offer. ["If you count out foreigners, and banks which prefer bonds and giving loans"] So expect EIB to be lending to support the Rights Offer!
sean_george
#29 Posted : Friday, December 03, 2010 10:14:33 AM

http://www.businessdailyafrica.com/Corporate%20News/Treasury%20set%20to%20pocket%20millions%20from%20KPLC%20rights/-/539550/1065448/-/ct1kuoz/-/index.html

Business daily today - dealers said they expect the rights issue price to settle at between Sh1 and Sh1.50 once government starts selling its shares.
My 2 cents
#30 Posted : Friday, December 03, 2010 10:29:55 AM

sean_george wrote:
http://www.businessdailyafrica.com/Corporate%20News/Treasury%20set%20to%20pocket%20millions%20from%20KPLC%20rights/-/539550/1065448/-/ct1kuoz/-/index.html

Business daily today - dealers said they expect the rights issue price to settle at between Sh1 and Sh1.50 once government starts selling its shares.

The dealers have no clue of future prices just like you and I.
#31 Posted : Friday, December 03, 2010 10:38:38 AM

If the dealers were the ones decidingthe prices, then MMS would be trading Bt over 60. Hey talked positively about it. Some me these guys are worse off than me.
#32 Posted : Friday, December 03, 2010 12:19:36 PM

I repeat The G.O.K rights have already been sold...
#33 Posted : Friday, December 03, 2010 1:06:01 PM

guru267 wrote:

I agree with you on this, book building was done with the big players and thats a closed chapter!Only what remains is for the "crosses" to be made.
This is what @sean has failed to see all this long!
@SufficientlyP
alikujia
#34 Posted : Friday, December 03, 2010 1:24:47 PM

guru267 wrote:

any wikileak of price sold?

Certainly, with equity/centum underwriting, everything will be taken up. But ?? is majority og govt rights at what price? Otheriwise say buying at24, we small guys will hang up dry for sometime waiting for the 19.5 troop to arrive already loadded with 30% prof before you even breakeven.
Wiztec
#35 Posted : Friday, December 03, 2010 1:28:01 PM

Aii Guru, how sure are you? i guess they will come next week. the share is doing very well though i dougt YBC will get his predctions
Wiztec
#36 Posted : Friday, December 03, 2010 2:43:14 PM

Anyone who knows the rights volumes traded so far today? rich doesnt seem to have them. please post.
#37 Posted : Friday, December 03, 2010 4:57:54 PM

870k. High of 4. Low of 3. Use this site. www.knowing.co.ke/wap/stocks.asp
#38 Posted : Friday, December 03, 2010 5:46:16 PM

It has been a good three trading days. I an waiting to see how five trading days in a row would result to.
Aguytrying
#39 Posted : Friday, December 03, 2010 9:39:15 PM

The business daily article linked above, may not be reliable in estimating the rights price, but its certainly what everyone wants to hear. And at this time, of anticipation and uncertainty it may get the best of some. Today i strongly considerd buying at 3bob. Ill wait 4 them gov shares...guru i hope u are wrong. Coz if ur not, we're screwed.
#40 Posted : Saturday, December 04, 2010 1:48:48 AM

Aguytrying wrote:
The business daily article linked above, may not be reliable in estimating the rights price, but its certainly what everyone wants to hear. And at this time, of anticipation and uncertainty it may get the best of some. Today i strongly considerd buying at 3bob. Ill wait 4 them gov shares...guru i hope u are wrong. Coz if ur not, we're screwed.

@Aguytrying if investors knew they could get G.O.K rights at 1bob - 1.5bob as the article reports then why would they be paying 3bob - 4.5bob like they are doing???

I dont think many out there have hope of getting these rights but let's wait and see...