wazua Sat, Nov 16, 2024

Mindspeak: Aly Khan Satchu with Liza Mucheru-Wisner
#1 Posted : Monday, November 29, 2010 5:31:08 PM

Hmmmn I attended, rather reluctantly at first, Mindspeak on Saturday. And the lady who graced the event was Liza Mucheru-Wisner at 30 yrs of age, married with two sons.

Now the first thing that struck me was that it was a full house. I mean, this Aly-Khan Satchu gig has grown in leaps and bounds. Kudos for the man's perseverance and spirit of contribution to the community.

Yes yes she has presence. And yes again she can sell herself. But the thing that struck me odd, wowing me at the same time, is that she comes across like a nice person. I'd have normally expected outstanding brilliance, cut-throat, ambition etc.

Instead I encountered caring, belief in goodness of people, outgoing and charm, and doesn't give up easy. Are this the new cutting edge qualities in this century?

Anyways, wanted to share her fabulous Trump Lessons:
1. Passion - love what you do
2. Lean Sales - sell your self
3. Improve - education as a foundation
4. Enough already! - focus
5. Be tough and courageous
6. Work hard - get lucky
7. Serve - share your gifts
8. Trust God & be true to yourself

Were you there? Do you think she'll win the apprentice noting she's among the last 3 finalists?

anasazi
#2 Posted : Monday, November 29, 2010 6:34:26 PM

Didn't go for that, but I heard that her dad is Joseph Mucheru? (Google's Lead for Sub Saharan Africa). I wondered if it was possible since Mucheru looks rather young. Or did I hear wrong?
Form is temporary, class is permanent
liomungai
#3 Posted : Monday, November 29, 2010 6:39:33 PM

@anasazi, No - They are Brother and Sister i.e siblings... yaani not in Christ
People who look for easy money invariably pay for the privilege of proving conclusively that it cannot be found on this sordid earth
#4 Posted : Tuesday, November 30, 2010 2:45:40 PM

@Muganda, it was nice to hear all the messages she had at that presentation...it was so full, guys were seated at the stairs!!!
But what I picked is alot of young Kenyans doing great things...
#5 Posted : Tuesday, November 30, 2010 3:38:16 PM

Wow, i missed this! Thanks Muganda for sharing the lessons!
anasazi
#6 Posted : Tuesday, November 30, 2010 3:40:40 PM

Ohhhhhhh. Inakaa niliskia vibaya. Haya, that must be a family of high flyers right there.
Form is temporary, class is permanent
#7 Posted : Tuesday, November 30, 2010 4:42:53 PM

Na wewe AKS hapana shika bibi ya wenyewe hivyosmile
#8 Posted : Tuesday, November 30, 2010 5:57:00 PM

Happy to share. A few more pointers on her homecoming:

--Family appears well educated. She attended Brookhouse where she excelled in sports - member of Kenya Golf ladies team. She got a golf scholarship to study in US.
--She talked about the stark contrast in her homecoming between Brookhouse and public schools in Kibera; with a mission to narrow the discrepancy.

--Her role model is her late Dad; the Kenyan golfing legend John Mucheru
--She got married before she graduated and most touching moment of the presentation was when she recounted how her mother came for her graduation and just accepted her husband as part of their family.

A female version of the event: http://akirachix.com/201...ith-liza-mucheru-wisner/
#9 Posted : Friday, December 03, 2010 12:13:39 PM

Oops....Finally got "fired"....but she made a big mark!
#10 Posted : Friday, December 03, 2010 1:47:05 PM

Oops....Finally got "fired"....but she made a big mark!

wishing her all the best....
#11 Posted : Friday, December 03, 2010 1:52:41 PM

Hmmmn, so she must have known when she was in Kenya she was already out! A friend opined she would not be in Kenya otherwise...

Her team partner - Brandy - looked competent and tough as nails; former corporate attorney, very qualified, valedictorian UCLA. She says: "I have trained my entire life to work for you sir... personality, drive, experience"

Liza Mucheru-Wisner is very likable though - Trump likes her, so clear. Liza almost doesn't want to put anyone down, say who's weaker - such a unexpected person in the boardroom, so grateful. It's clear she came so far, as an outsider; she didn't win over her competitors and everyone gave her a hard time.

http://tv-flix.com/the-apprentice-1012/

drake
#12 Posted : Friday, December 03, 2010 2:22:23 PM

muganda wrote:

....almost doesn't want to put anyone down, say who's weaker - such a unexpected person in the boardroom, so grateful.... she didn't win over her competitors and everyone gave her a hard time.

"Meekness" = weakness; more so in the corporate world.

Your adversary will realize this & capitalize on it ....which explains why the other contestants "gave her a hard time" ...it may very well have been her undoing.

Hell, look at Obama.
sheep
#13 Posted : Friday, December 03, 2010 6:26:04 PM

I detest egomaniacs like Trump...i cant stand pple like him
The utimate goal of investing is to buy low sell high;if we re-write this core equation in psychology terms it becomes buy fear sell greed.