wazua Sat, Nov 16, 2024

Ian Mbugua - TPF4
#1 Posted : Sunday, November 28, 2010 8:28:01 PM

...I have just watched Ian Mbugua tear to pieces Steve for his choice of a Luo song, that will not be understood by many. As usual it was 'poor diction'. But sober Steve answered back very intelligently that he cant please anybody and when he chooses a song he has his target audince in mind. Ian looked so embarrased by this challenge. But I think the guy is not as knowledgeable about music as people think. Lingala music is enjoyed by millions of people around the world and they dont understand a word of it....
#2 Posted : Sunday, November 28, 2010 8:33:45 PM

I read somewhere that ian went to Thogoto ttc. I thought he'd gone through a fancy university
#3 Posted : Sunday, November 28, 2010 8:43:13 PM

...Thogoto trains primary school teachers...He can make a very excellent primary school teacher!!!
#4 Posted : Sunday, November 28, 2010 8:47:12 PM

Shak wrote:
I read somewhere that ian went to Thogoto ttc. I thought he'd gone through a fancy university

Yeah you are right. Ian is actually a teacher at Brookside where he teaches Music and Drama and also sings in his church choir. For more on Ian Mbugua, click on the link below.

About Ian Mbugua
mwanahisa
#5 Posted : Sunday, November 28, 2010 8:47:28 PM

Ian was really off point on that and kudos to Steve for an apt response. I was also a bit put off by Edu's comments on Ian but I guess Ian deserved it with his unfair comments regarding Ramogi night. I really enjoyed the Nyar Suba song even if I couldn't understand most of it.
#6 Posted : Sunday, November 28, 2010 8:53:18 PM

I dont watch tpf but I don't like the inference made by the poster that thogoto teachers is a bad place.

I blame this on the sonko youth not reading history.

At the time Ian was in college, there was only one university and KU as a teachers college. Going to thogoto was a great thing back then. In fact, I would put him among the brightest in the country.

Just because you go to these 100+ kenyan "universities" does not make you brighter than Ian.
YOUNG ECONOMST
#7 Posted : Sunday, November 28, 2010 11:07:51 PM

That's the wrath you attract when you try to smack people as if you were perfect. Its then that people start digging back into your history and find out that after all you are a graduate of TTC and a music teacher somewhere. If he were as perfect as he portrays himself, he should be something much better to write home about.
Whats wrong in a song just because you dont understand the language. YAK, his jugdment on the basis of the language of the song leaves alot to be desired, he just lowered the respect he upheld just by that statement. Ian we know that you are a sadist but this time as you like saying
"you were way out of the key".Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you Sad d'oh! d'oh!

"The opportunity of a lifetime must be seized during the lifetime of the opportunity."
#8 Posted : Sunday, November 28, 2010 11:45:04 PM

i find the lady judge to be the most objective. IAN ABK !!

By the way, i think Rachel sang very well. She deserves to win.
#9 Posted : Monday, November 29, 2010 8:08:24 AM

Until I saw in the newspapers that Ian actually has a family...I used to think ni mtu wa kufunguwa ama kufunguliwa boot
#10 Posted : Monday, November 29, 2010 8:23:26 AM

...I have just watched Ian Mbugua tear to pieces Steve for his choice of a Luo song, that will not be understood by many. As usual it was 'poor diction'. But sober Steve answered back very intelligently that he cant please anybody and when he chooses a song he has his target audince in mind. Ian looked so embarrased by this challenge. But I think the guy is not as knowledgeable about music as people think. Lingala music is enjoyed by millions of people around the world and they dont understand a word of it....

There was black out where we live. Thanks.
#11 Posted : Monday, November 29, 2010 8:24:19 AM

Baaba Maal, Selif Keita, Yossour N'dour, Late Franco Makiadi and many other African stars have recieved INTERNATIONAL recognition and stardom...Nobody cares about the language they sing in as long as the voice and the beat is fine...
....and just to help him DICTION means 'clarity with which somebody pronounces words when speaking or singing'. It has nothing to do with understanding a different language. You can have good or poor diction in Luo, Kikuyu, English etc.
....On this one Bwana Judge owes people an an apology!!!
...He unfairly kicked out K-Denk out of the competition when the boy was a darling to many simply because he could not pronounce swahili words.
majimaji
#12 Posted : Monday, November 29, 2010 8:39:13 AM

@ Yesuwangu, I must live in your neighbourhood.
#13 Posted : Monday, November 29, 2010 9:39:30 AM

I think I'm the wrong person to reply to this thread because I tend to agree with everything Ian says just that I would not easily find such mean words to describe the performances as he does. But I guess that's why he's the judge and I'm not.

#14 Posted : Monday, November 29, 2010 9:44:25 AM

I dont watch tpf but I don't like the inference made by the poster that thogoto teachers is a bad place.

I blame this on the sonko youth not reading history.

At the time Ian was in college, there was only one university and KU as a teachers college. Going to thogoto was a great thing back then. In fact, I would put him among the brightest in the country.

Just because you go to these 100+ kenyan "universities" does not make you brighter than Ian.

Yeah sure. Kwani we pia ulienda Thogoto?
#15 Posted : Monday, November 29, 2010 9:45:05 AM

I was horrified to note that Ian's hair was dyed black.....Probably wants to remain relevant til TPF 40....BK
#16 Posted : Monday, November 29, 2010 9:50:25 AM

@Njung'e
....and forgets to dye the beards...
#17 Posted : Monday, November 29, 2010 9:55:17 AM

@njung'e and @magigi - Aren't you guys being overly critical and unfair to the fellow? Dying one's hair is a personal choice. I don't see how it concerns the rest of us.
#18 Posted : Monday, November 29, 2010 9:59:47 AM

majimaji wrote:
@ Yesuwangu, I must live in your neighbourhood.

A toast! <clink>smile
K22
#19 Posted : Monday, November 29, 2010 10:02:34 AM

Until I saw in the newspapers that Ian actually has a family...I used to think ni mtu wa kufunguwa ama kufunguliwa boot

Yap, he has gay tendencies.... ama ni maringo tu...

A successful man is one who makes more money than his wife can spend. A successful woman is one who can find such a man
#20 Posted : Monday, November 29, 2010 10:10:12 AM

Guys, go easy on Ian. Has anyone of you attended Pheonix theatre? Have you noticed how the actors there use fake accents and mannerism to please their targetted market? He is the most prominent actor for years. Knowing him for so long I would excuse him.