wazua Sun, Jul 27, 2025

Name and Shame your ISP
#1 Posted : Monday, August 10, 2009 9:16:00 AM

Lets see whose ISP is progressive and modern,and which one wants to leave us still in the dark ages.

Personally,I use:

Corporate: UUNet,useless,slow,bure kabisa

At home: Safaricom,fast,fast but expensive!

#2 Posted : Monday, August 10, 2009 10:32:00 AM

UUNET just doubled our capacity at the same price. But I hear KDN is more reliable and cheaper.
gadj
#3 Posted : Monday, August 10, 2009 11:09:00 AM

Swift global bure sana,dont even try this.

In God i trust.
kizee
#4 Posted : Monday, August 10, 2009 11:13:00 AM

zuku...my link has been down and they insist they dont need to send a techincian to look at it....
Cupcake
#5 Posted : Monday, August 10, 2009 12:16:00 PM

KDN??? forget about it.....talking out of experince,their support is deteriorating by the day.

they give u bad service and take ages to sort out when the link goes down. I think a big company like that needs to have system to track which link is down instead of waiting for the client to go down,loose business and whine till service is restored.

i think safaricom fiber will be my next stop!!!!

am devastated!!!

gutiri wiriraga agithii ta agicoka....(No one regrets going than when coming back!!! hehe)
jaribu
#6 Posted : Monday, August 10, 2009 1:13:00 PM

Safcom is just fine with,affordable and fast but will leave you broke if start visiting them pornno movie sites!

bY aNy MeAns NecEsSaRy.....
#7 Posted : Monday, August 10, 2009 2:07:00 PM

Results so far:

BURE: UUNET,KDN,Swiftglobal

GOOD: safcom,zuku

Any more?

ji
#8 Posted : Monday, August 10, 2009 3:35:00 PM

Orange is my default ISP in and out of town,no hassle so far.

'I never see what has been done; I only see what remains to be done.'

Mtu Biz
#9 Posted : Tuesday, August 11, 2009 10:48:00 AM

Do NOT .......EVEN THINK SOVAYA.

Link = Fast when up... rarely up.

Tech Support = AHHAHHHAHAAHAHHAH HEHEHAHAHAHHA NON EXISTENT

..... the sons of Zeruiah .....
Sola Scriptura

#10 Posted : Tuesday, August 11, 2009 11:38:00 AM

so looks like the mobile phone companies are doing better than the traditional ISP.....

perhaps we are seeing a change in the industry?

#11 Posted : Tuesday, August 11, 2009 1:27:00 PM

I'm on ZAIN....started out very sloooooooooow then...........they gave some steroids....now the steroids have worn off and it's back to sloooooow.....

Behind the gardens...Behind the wall...Under the tree (Including: Red...Dark Blue...Yellow)
mindplay
#12 Posted : Tuesday, August 11, 2009 6:43:00 PM

Access Kenya sucks,we cannot send out mail of more than 1mb : (... On the inbound,there are mad fluctuations (sometimes fast & sometimes slow). Safcom is great,but the price is a tad bit too steep. I once streamed a live feed of a whole match,satisfactory!!! but my pocket did pay the price.

MindPlay
Sasha
#13 Posted : Wednesday, August 12, 2009 6:29:00 AM

I'm on Africa Online. Usually ok but when it goes down they have no idea what is wrong! They have very poor customer service but otherwise, few complaints!

Immorality: The morality of those who are having a better time!
anasazi
#14 Posted : Wednesday, August 12, 2009 7:52:00 AM

The cable came a few weeks ago! But our AK connection still sucks bigtime. How is it that Safcom terminated almost immediately and we still get stories from our ISP? It's a total joke. Or is it a skill issue?

And as usual,we're always maxing out our link?? How can you max out a link that was working well a while back with the same number of pcs and the same usage? And no P2P? Its all a hoax if you ask me.

One frustrated guy.

Form is temporary, class is permanent
#15 Posted : Wednesday, August 12, 2009 7:59:00 AM

Results so far:

Good: Safcom,orange,Africaonline

Rubbish: Zain,Sovaya,UUNET,Swift Global,Zuku,Access

Have you noticed the trend? Mobile cos are beating this idiot ISPs hands down!! I would start selling my Acess shares soon...

mtaalam
#16 Posted : Wednesday, August 12, 2009 11:29:00 AM

Safaricom good???
Then something is wrong with my modem because the speeds keep fluctuating and it disconnects ever so often. So out of 10 I'd give safcom a 5 for efficiency and 1 for cost.

ili iwe funzo...
reithi
#17 Posted : Wednesday, August 12, 2009 1:07:00 PM

Safcon rules at the moment on speeds though cost is prohibitive.

Zain,Yu and Orange (all on EDGE) have failed to live up to expectations by mainly focusing on the low margin voice segment as Safcon goes into a data market onslaught even forays into the cyber cafe market,that have traditionally been a preserve of ISPs.

Most mainstream ISPs are a big let down in terms of speeds,reliability and customer care but Zuku aka Wananchi leads the mediocrity list. Most,including Access are also known to downgrade or re-allocate bandwidth without their client's knowledge when traffic is high.

In the medium to long term,unless ISPs merge,they will not be able to compete with mobile companies that have invested heavily in infrastructure across the country.

reithi
#18 Posted : Wednesday, August 12, 2009 1:09:00 PM

My Zain contract is ending in a couple of months...October

Do I go to SCOM,ORANGE (GPRS/EDGE) or ORANGE(CDMA)?

Is anyone using Orange CDMA? They charge a bob per minute (instead of per MB). In theory,this reduces the congestion because people only connect when using internet....does it work in practice?

Behind the gardens...Behind the wall...Under the tree (Including: Red...Dark Blue...Yellow)
reithi
#19 Posted : Wednesday, August 12, 2009 1:26:00 PM

The problem with per minute billing is you get billed when connected but no data is transmitted/received.

Probably wait until October when new products and prices will be introduced into the market before making a decision.

reithi
#20 Posted : Wednesday, August 12, 2009 2:53:00 PM

@mukiha

I've had a chance to use AfricaOnline iBurst,Swift,Access Kenya,Safaricom Edge and 3G. I have never worked and do not work for an ISP.

Time is money,and 3G is the cheapest and most consistent for personal use. Even with 1,000/= a month,the 300MB allows me to read all my emails,info surfing and downloads,a few video clips and song downloads. I've not been able to finish 1GB (2,500/=) in a month.