wazua Sun, Feb 2, 2025

bird_man
#1 Posted : Wednesday, February 04, 2009 6:56:00 AM

Hi,

I was just thinking....
Recently i got a record of about 80,000 email addresses.

Now what would happen if I sold say each email address for 1sh?Does the ICT act make this illegal?Anyone interested?

The course of the world is changed by those who dare dream!
Formally employed people often live their employers' dream & forget about their own.
bird_man
#2 Posted : Wednesday, February 04, 2009 9:03:00 AM

Guys get creative here......

Im talking about having 80k email addresses you can market your products to.....

Think about it.

The course of the world is changed by those who dare dream!
Formally employed people often live their employers' dream & forget about their own.
Djagame
#3 Posted : Wednesday, February 04, 2009 10:41:00 AM

@ Bird_man Im sure there is a confidentiality clause in either your contract or your employers code of conduct.

The end result of what you want to will be spamming or even worse.

The KCA (Amendment) Bill now Act,covers this in section 83W 1,2 & 3 so you will gain KShs 120,000.00 and if found guilty of a crime loose (fine) KShs 200,000.00 and/or a 2 Yr jail term to boot. (Reminds me of a bible verse)

Good luck

'Whatever can go wrong will go wrong,and at the worst possible time,in the worst possible way.' - Murphy
"We do not inherit the earth from our ancestors, we borrow it from our children" Native American Proverb
#4 Posted : Wednesday, February 04, 2009 10:59:00 AM

'I work for a company that has a database of very many customers.' So you are alive to the fact that what you hope to hawk is not yours. Would you sell your employers office furniture? If yes,God help you. If no,company assets in whatever form belong to the company. I have not even addressed confidentiality issues
phillsoft
#5 Posted : Wednesday, February 04, 2009 12:08:00 PM

scenarios that may occur -

your boss turns out to be the buyer,imagine yourself in such a situation.....

you are caught and hence fired..... all you will have is the ksh 120k and no cv and no referees and no job thereafter

you sell the addresses successfully,get the cash and are happy but your conscience is not

you will become like some people in high places we know. greed will creep in and you will look for more stuff to sell,what will it be this time?

you will soon start selling email addresses of people you meet on SK

etc
eli
#6 Posted : Thursday, February 05, 2009 5:10:00 AM

Men,I was in your shoes sometimes back. A 'customer' presented to me a 30K bribe! He wanted me to sell to him the digital paper (Soft Copy) of the newspaper. Those days,I was still working in a media house. He wanted the soft copy of the newspaper,not for a single edition,but for the past 2 years. There is the hard copy,which is archieved in the library and then there is a soft copy,which we used to archive.

Just in a flash,I would have been 30K richer! I would have sold company's property. I would have sold what took us 2 years to create! I would have sold what takes the entire company,to create in a single day for a mere 30K. I would have sold what has taken the company,the last 24months to create,for a mere 30K. I would have sold what has taken the company,alot of resources,salaries paid,revenue,etc,vehicles maintained for a mere 30K. Of course nobody would have known! As for me,I knew,the Father in heaven was watching......................'For everything done in secret,will be revealed in the light',so says the Holy Bible. I had my salvation to keep and protect!

After turning down the offer,and informing my colleages and my boss. My integrity among my fellow colleages,shot up 100fold. The feeling inside was great! Why did the 'customer' present the bribe? Well,the cost of getting the old edition of the newspaper,for the past 2 years would have been immense! The cost of photocopying a single page is 80bob! Now photocopying a single edition is well over 500bob!

Refusing such a temptation is what is called integrity! Not very easy,I tell u

But you shall remember the LORD your God,for it is He who is giving you power to make wealth,that He may confirm His covenant which He swore to your fathers,as it is this day. Deu 8:18
JkMwatha
#7 Posted : Thursday, February 05, 2009 2:00:00 PM

@bird*m - It is unethical to sell such info... but don't be suprised if your boss/company owner or sm'one else in your organisation hasn't already done it!

But I can assure you that they don't go shouting about it from the roof tops.

Potential buyers of email addresses will usually approach wesites with forums (eg stockskenya.com) or where they believe there is a large database & offer to buy. Now that you've posted this here and your email is visible in your user profile,I m sure willing 'buyers' will be in touch with you.

It is common practice... and if you think 80k email addresses is alot take a look at this http://forums.ukwebmaste...ing-list-huge-list.html

I know of people who acquire policies & procedures from large organisation and sell them on or reproduce them and 'sell them off' as their own. They make money but its extremely risky.

PS: Bird*m - this is not a business idea so it should not be under 'Biz Ideas'.

..the queens language came with a ship and some of us.... picked the wrong container.
Djinn
#8 Posted : Wednesday, July 29, 2009 11:54:00 AM

@poster - a while back you posted this same topic which received all manner of responses - but I recall one particular person,Tony_Stark posting a link to your facebook profile - I think Tony Stark was being rather gentle.

I have done some simple Googling and found a likely match on linked in - should I offer some details here (as well as with a certain bank) or would you like to delete this (and the other post)?

Even though we do not have Cyber Crime legislation in place,the penal code pretty much deals with theft.

The problem with equality is that we desire that it be with those that have more than us rather that those that have less
moshthepitt
#9 Posted : Wednesday, July 29, 2009 12:02:00 PM

@ Djinn
name and shame!!

I got an offer to buy 80k addresses a few weeks ago. I wonder if it was you,Bird Man

www.likechapaa.com
Djinn
#10 Posted : Wednesday, July 29, 2009 12:10:00 PM

@moshthepitt - from the linked profile,bird_man seems rather young which and therefore possibly makes him naive (or greedy) - so I'd like allow him a chance to make amends and return to the straight and narrow path.

Incidentally,this post differs from the earlier one in that this time he ALSO has 40,000 mobile addresses - which really means the linked in profile is spot on since,other than the CURRENT bank,a previous job was with a mobile operator and another with a value added mobile service provider (web sms,mass sms solutions,TV SMS solutions,etc).

The problem with equality is that we desire that it be with those that have more than us rather that those that have less
#11 Posted : Wednesday, July 29, 2009 12:13:00 PM

this dude just confessed in an earlier post that he works for a bank!!! Thats how trustworthy banks have become with employees selling confidential information!!!! Now,how many of your bank statements are doing rounds in Embassies at this rate?

Some deals are like glass. Sometimes it's better to leave them broken than try to hurt yourself putting it back together.
bird_man
#12 Posted : Wednesday, July 29, 2009 12:45:00 PM

@ Djinn,yes I was perhaps young and naive. I however carefully went through the Information & Communication Act and decided that it would have been too dangerous a trade due to its illegal nature. I now charge for designing email templates and using my SMTP services. If there was a crime I had committed I would have changed my user name and hidden my email address by now.So peace be with you all.

Nice afternoon.

The world is changed by those who dare dream.
#13 Posted : Wednesday, July 29, 2009 12:57:00 PM

Its rather sad..some things we do and say! I hope @birdman wont sell my address,i know he has it! @birdman,be careful what you say in a public forum like SK,your boss and exboss might be Skerians and some of this declarations might cost you bigtime. TMI ni balaa...

Advice is what we ask for when we already know the answer but wish we didn't..
bird_man
#14 Posted : Wednesday, July 29, 2009 1:12:00 PM

For everyone who is on my case (Djinn etc).....and for all those who are already sending me email asking me to sell to them.....

I stopped selling.Its too dangerous for my precious self. I moved into Avacado and Passion fruit farming. . .we all have to get into legit and sustainable business. So Djinn.....tafuta kitu ingine sasa.

And a word of advice,people 'harvesting' emails will not wait for you to post 10emails here and go to the hussle of making so many posts under different names. They simply use scripts they have coded and harvest from any site without https credentials whether you have given your address or not.Also don't make such a fuss....I'm sure you have received over 20spam emails today,you are still alive and breathing.

Djinn
#15 Posted : Wednesday, July 29, 2009 1:30:00 PM

@bird_man - you have indicated that you will not sell the addresses,yet the topic remains the same (albeit without the 40,000 mobile numbers indicated earlier) - so what you are saying and what you intend are at odds...perhaps I should give a Mr S M***** a call?

bird_man
#16 Posted : Wednesday, July 29, 2009 1:34:00 PM

@Djinn,

Get some real work to do.I suggest you do what you wish to.....you are a grown man.
Infact from now on I will not post any reply unless you are asking me about other things.Try learn some farming,I could help you.Ama?

Fundaah
#17 Posted : Wednesday, July 29, 2009 1:38:00 PM

haiyaaa!!!!!

Rules of the game here:

Before you post anything think.give facts only..It's a serious blog for serious people....Do not insult your brother....respect one another...Just be good....
It's good to live a honest life....life without guilt....

Jeremiah 17:11

As a partridge that hatches eggs which it has not laid,So is he who makes a fortune,but unjustly; In the midst of his days it will forsake him,And in the end he will be a fool.'

From the SK Anti-hate/anti- corruption campaigner..
Isaiah 65:17-Look! I am creating new heavens and a new earth, and no one will even think about the old ones anymore
#18 Posted : Wednesday, July 29, 2009 1:54:00 PM

LOL! this just got interesting....

Advice is what we ask for when we already know the answer but wish we didn't..
Djinn
#19 Posted : Wednesday, July 29, 2009 1:56:00 PM

@Fundaah...sorry I have to use your signature text for 'that guy' - its so fitting....

'Rules of the game here: Before you post anything think.give facts only..It's a serious blog for serious people....Do not insult your brother....respect one another...Just be good.... It's good to live a honest life....life without guilt.... Jeremiah 17:11 As a partridge that hatches eggs which it has not laid,So is he who makes a fortune,but unjustly; In the midst of his days it will forsake him,And in the end he will be a fool.' From the SK Anti-hate/anti- corruption campaigner'

@bird_man - are you sure you want to tell me off?