wazua Wed, Sep 24, 2025

119 Pages«<5455565758>»
KENOL/KOBIL
#1101 Posted : Wednesday, November 24, 2010 3:57:51 PM

the deal wrote:

I sold some today at 195 did you buy...Jub is an insurance firm..nobody respects insurance firms on the NSE...

@the deal you must be a very young guy if you are this impatient... It was almost 3 weeks ago you said you loved JUBILEE'S annual report and bought in at 200...

Now your selling??? At a loss???? Sad

The stock is being driven down by speculators and profit takers after rallying 80% for the year.. I think you should have held on but hey its your loss...

I believe the growth in the insurance industry especially insurance in the next ten years will be stellar...
the deal
#1102 Posted : Wednesday, November 24, 2010 4:09:14 PM

guru267 wrote:
the deal wrote:

I sold some today at 195 did you buy...Jub is an insurance firm..nobody respects insurance firms on the NSE...

@the deal you must be a very young guy if you are this impatient... It was almost 3 weeks ago you said you loved JUBILEE'S annual report and bought in at 200...

Now your selling??? At a loss???? Sad

The stock is being driven down by speculators and profit takers after rallying 80% for the year.. I think you should have held on but hey its your loss...

I believe the growth in the insurance industry especially insurance in the next ten years will be stellar...

i didn't sell everything just reduced my exposure..in case there's a dividend backlash...i believe i will recoup my losses by venturing into KK...KK,KQ and Jub those are the shares i will hold until 2012...smile smile smile yeaah some of this stunts you can try them when you are young Mzee Njunge DONT TRY THIS AT HOME..
nahdy
#1103 Posted : Wednesday, November 24, 2010 4:44:24 PM

#1104 Posted : Wednesday, November 24, 2010 6:39:57 PM

Great innovation and a wonderful speech too
the deal
#1105 Posted : Thursday, November 25, 2010 12:46:48 AM

#1106 Posted : Thursday, November 25, 2010 4:26:43 AM

"We have negotiated, pleaded, and begged for along time, but all this fell on deaf ears. We cannot beg forever when Kenyans are suffering," Kiraitu said.
Retard! Kenyans are suffering because of (your) flagrant corruption. This guy is crazy thinking he can take the moral high ground. Ungekuwa Uchina ungekuwa umekula kamba! What does he tell his kids? 'Soma ukuwe kama mimi?' The government should focus their efforts on increasing efficiency (But why would they, while they're making money through the same inefficiencies)
#1107 Posted : Thursday, November 25, 2010 6:50:52 AM

This can't go well for kenol because they may given some stupidly low maximum margin that will dent their local earnings...

We all know whats happening to them in Ethiopia... Sad
#1108 Posted : Thursday, November 25, 2010 8:22:06 AM

guru267 wrote:
This can't go well for kenol because they may given some stupidly low maximum margin that will dent their local earnings...

We all know whats happening to them in Ethiopia... Sad
KK paid a 'low' price for Ethiopian assets coz of the low margin. I see huge gains there from other lines of business but the market will deregulate in some form or fashion.

The government is playing the populism card. It will bite us in the arse when OMCs will stop taking the risk of importing fuel/oil or not bother to open odd hours [why spend on overtime if the margins are not worth it]
milken
#1109 Posted : Thursday, November 25, 2010 8:49:02 AM

Am suprised by KK's decision to lower prices. Cureent cost is about 88.74 per litre for super.

See below
US$ to KES Rate 81
Landed Price in US$ per ton 856.678
Conversion (ton to M3) 1374
Cost per Lt 50.50
KOSF Discharge (3 US$ per M3) 2.43
KPC Transport to NBI (Kshs 2250 per m3 +VAT) 2.61
IDF (2.25% of landed Cost) 1.14
EXCISE DUTY (Kshs 19.895 per lt) 19.90
RML (Kshs 9 per litre) 9.00
PDL (Kshs 0.4 per lt) 0.40
PRL (Kshs 0.05 per lt) 0.05
Depot Losses 0.25% 0.22
Local Delivery (Kshs 0.5 per lt) 0.50
Station Dealer Return Kshs 2 per lt 2.00
Cost at Station 88.74

Oil Company Return 15% 13.01
Price at at Station 101.75
Itari muting'oe ihuragwo ngi ni Ngai
#1110 Posted : Thursday, November 25, 2010 9:00:48 AM

milken wrote:
Am suprised by KK's decision to lower prices. Current cost is about 88.74 per litre for super.

In some countries this return is only 2-5% so i don't blame G.O.K for being pissed
milken
#1111 Posted : Thursday, November 25, 2010 9:46:12 AM

That return is arrived at by computing the cost of capital. If the borrowing rates are 1% then a 3% return can do. I challenge the govt to lower taxes (currently at 30 bob) if they want Kenyans to enjoy low prices
#1112 Posted : Thursday, November 25, 2010 10:29:15 AM

milken wrote:
Am suprised by KK's decision to lower prices. Cureent cost is about 88.74 per litre for super.

See below
US$ to KES Rate 81
Landed Price in US$ per ton 856.678
Conversion (ton to M3) 1374
Cost per Lt 50.50
KOSF Discharge (3 US$ per M3) 2.43
KPC Transport to NBI (Kshs 2250 per m3 +VAT) 2.61
IDF (2.25% of landed Cost) 1.14
EXCISE DUTY (Kshs 19.895 per lt) 19.90
RML (Kshs 9 per litre) 9.00
PDL (Kshs 0.4 per lt) 0.40
PRL (Kshs 0.05 per lt) 0.05
Depot Losses 0.25% 0.22
Local Delivery (Kshs 0.5 per lt) 0.50
Station Dealer Return Kshs 2 per lt 2.00
Cost at Station 88.74

Milken - Awesome! Where can I get this info... Or how do I bug you for updates??? ;-)
#1113 Posted : Thursday, November 25, 2010 10:31:40 AM

@milken - I don't understand some of the abbreviations used. Please help:
RML
PDL
PRL

Also Yield Shift Losses have not been factored in. Or have they?
Transport costs if KPC is down?
milken
#1114 Posted : Thursday, November 25, 2010 10:38:12 AM

All three are statutory levies
RML: Road Maintenance Levy
PDL: Petroleum Development Levy
PRL: Petroleum Regulatory Levy

If KPC is down transport is 3 bob from Mombasa to Nairobi. However that rarely happens.

Yield shifts have not been factored but you can include a refinery deficiency of about 2 bob per litre
#1115 Posted : Thursday, November 25, 2010 11:15:30 AM

I'm still shocked that KK would call a press conference to tell us that they're reducing pump price to 98/- while the rest are at 97/-.

Is it me or is KK playing with our intellect?

#1116 Posted : Thursday, November 25, 2010 11:34:16 AM

I'm still shocked that KK would call a press conference to tell us that they're reducing pump price to 98/- while the rest are at 97/-.

Kwani, segman drives your car to KK... Go wherever you want!

*** BTW, not all KK's are 101, just happens the ones in town [Koinange St] which are closest to Nation & Standard offices are more expensive coz less competition...
#1117 Posted : Thursday, November 25, 2010 12:08:33 PM

Kwani, segman drives your car to KK...

No but it sure sounds like he more than drives yours. Pole I'd forgotten you have a thing for this man but that announcement was not only not newsworthy but fell far below expectations.

#1118 Posted : Thursday, November 25, 2010 12:36:31 PM

Kwani, segman drives your car to KK...

No but it sure sounds like he more than drives yours. Pole I'd forgotten you have a thing for this man but that announcement was not only not newsworthy but fell far below expectations.

He pays for my fuel... So please fill up at KK... You don't want me to walk, do you?
Surealligator
#1119 Posted : Thursday, November 25, 2010 1:13:57 PM

@Vituz & 2012

Wacheni kuchokozana. It is painful watching KK go down to 10 bob again. Woe onto us holding this share if it hits 9 bob. Lakini, let us not heat up cauze ni kufyam. Things will get better with time.

So, don't fight on Leona's birthday.

@2012

Don't you know Kenyan media is actually run by the big boys of business in Kenya. KK was launching a fuel card and wanted to do it with maximum media coverage. Their PR guys know who to give 510 and handouts apart from having certain Editors under a retainer to ensure full coverage and minimum or no negative stories.

On top of it, Kenyan media is held by the balls by the Multinationals as the media houses depend on the multi million adverts from the same companies. So, a reminder that the media houses depend on adverts from a vested company usually makes the CEO and Managing Editor go helter skelter if proper coverage is not done for the company.

Ati Centum bought 100 acres in Runda?
Go overdrive in purchasing the goods when there's blood on the streets, expecially if the blood is your own
#1120 Posted : Thursday, November 25, 2010 1:41:36 PM

@surealligator - You are a prime candidate for the nuthouse! LOL...

Anyway, I wish KK could Warren Buffett's advice here...
De-list for 10 years...
Perhaps I am over-optimistic about KK but IMHO, Ceteris Paribus, I think in 10 years KK's EPS will be at least equal to the current share price!