Investor
Stocks
Diamond Trust Bank Q3 Results review
Rank: Member Joined: 11/12/2010 Posts: 111 Location: MOMBASA
[quote=PKoli I think when you are looking at price appreciation up around 160 or thereabouts, you should catch the stock at KES 130 and chill. I think DTB is a great buy. I treat it alongside CFC Bank, NIC and KCB at current prices.[/quote]
I have a feelin that the price will go below the current price.Usiwe na haraka saaaana. wachana nayo till end of dec. this thing will come down then buy...this is what I feel.
Rank: Elder Joined: 1/21/2010 Posts: 6,675 Location: Nairobi
mzeekijana wrote: I have a feelin that the price will go below the current price.Usiwe na haraka saaaana. wachana nayo till end of dec. this thing will come down then buy...this is what I feel.
@mzeekijana pleas change your thoughts because you will be chasing this stock all the way to 200 if you don't act now... Warren Buffet says that if you believe a stock has value at its current price then buy it don't wait for it to fal because that will probably not happen Mark 12:29 Deuteronomy 4:16
Rank: Elder Joined: 9/25/2009 Posts: 4,534 Location: Windhoek/Nairobbery
VituVingiSana wrote:@Pkoli - CFCStanbic??? LOLest! CFCStanbic can't even hold a candle to DTBK... 2x the balance sheet yet profits are lower than DTBK... Cfcstanbic is still buy at the current prices..the 1H results still carried an impairement charge of 285M...with the spinoff of the insurance of arm the bank will report stellar results..
Rank: Chief Joined: 1/3/2007 Posts: 18,215 Location: Nairobi
the deal wrote:VituVingiSana wrote:@Pkoli - CFCStanbic??? LOLest! CFCStanbic can't even hold a candle to DTBK... 2x the balance sheet yet profits are lower than DTBK... Cfcstanbic is still buy at the current prices..the 1H results still carried an impairement charge of 285M...with the spinoff of the insurance of arm the bank will report stellar results.. 285mn for DTBK is like a rounding error... PBT for 9 months = 2.7bn! Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
the deal wrote:Cfcstanbic is still buy at the current prices..the 1H results still carried an impairement charge of 285M...with the spinoff of the insurance of arm the bank will report stellar results.. I understand about the impairment charge having dented H1 profits. But please explain how the spinoff of the insurance arm will lead to the bank producing (not just reporting) stellar results?
Rank: Chief Joined: 3/24/2010 Posts: 6,779 Location: Black Africa
Standoff between bidders and askers GOD BLESS YOUR LIFE
Rank: Veteran Joined: 3/12/2010 Posts: 1,199 Location: Eastlander
youcan'tstopusnow wrote:Standoff between bidders and askers financials have registered minimal price action over last two weeks.. ..Let your light so shine before men, that they may see your good works, and glorify your Father which is in heaven...Matt5:16 - 1769 Oxford King James Bible 'Authorized Version
I expect the prices for DTB and other financials to inch up from Mid December and then move up faster in January as the full year reporting season approaches.
Rank: New-farer Joined: 11/11/2010 Posts: 65 Location: NRB
youcan'tstopusnow wrote:Standoff between bidders and askers The question on such a situation is who gets emotionally worked up by the standoff first and decides to play the game smarter by adjusting prices, Bids or asks?  i am "The opportunity of a lifetime must be seized during the lifetime of the opportunity."
My bet is that it is the sellers. It's quite comfortable holding cash when the market is going sideways or looking like it may decline. The only time when cash "washas" your pockets is when there is a bull run. Hence, I would be patient in bidding for any stocks in the next 3-4 weeks.
Im one of the bidders, since monday, and im not budging. today it was tense the sellers werent coming down to us. they'll crack. The investor's chief problem - and even his worst enemy - is likely to be himself
Aguytrying wrote:Im one of the bidders, since monday, and im not budging. today it was tense the sellers werent coming down to us. they'll crack.
@Aguytrying I'm also one of the bidders but tomorrow I'm cracking...  I just changed my bid to 137 from 132... Sorry guys but I just have to get in before some institution comes and bids 140+... Mark 12:29 Deuteronomy 4:16
guru267 wrote:Aguytrying wrote:Im one of the bidders, since monday, and im not budging. today it was tense the sellers werent coming down to us. they'll crack.
@Aguytrying I'm also one of the bidders but tomorrow I'm cracking...  I just changed my bid to 137 from 132... Sorry guys but I just have to get in before some institution comes and bids 140+... why 137? There are asks at 135. I was salivating all over this share when it had gone to 125-130 two weeks ago but dint have cash! I cant bid higher coz that way i wont get the number i want. Then jubilee....wish i had bought today instead of last month, but it's all right. The investor's chief problem - and even his worst enemy - is likely to be himself
Aguytrying wrote: why 137? There are asks at 135.
I must ensure that I get all the shares I want that's why I entice the asks... But I might just follow your advice and bid 135 but if the asks refuse friday I bid up for sure Mark 12:29 Deuteronomy 4:16
Rank: Veteran Joined: 8/11/2010 Posts: 1,011 Location: nairobi
guru267 wrote:Aguytrying wrote:Im one of the bidders, since monday, and im not budging. today it was tense the sellers werent coming down to us. they'll crack.
@Aguytrying I'm also one of the bidders but tomorrow I'm cracking...  I just changed my bid to 137 from 132... Sorry guys but I just have to get in before some institution comes and bids 140+... you would'nt get mine even at 137
Rank: New-farer Joined: 11/11/2010 Posts: 65 Location: NRB
I tried some bids today at 134 but 135 asks were just staring at me. Nani anauza bei ya jioni hapa? Nitaleta cash! "The opportunity of a lifetime must be seized during the lifetime of the opportunity."
Wacha we see how it.ll go today. Mr market sure is unpredictable. The investor's chief problem - and even his worst enemy - is likely to be himself
137 becomes my entry point... I wish it waited for me at 130 Mark 12:29 Deuteronomy 4:16
Rank: Chief Joined: 3/24/2010 Posts: 6,779 Location: Black Africa
guru267 wrote:137 becomes my entry point... I wish it waited for me at 130 10k shares traded at 135. Your order probably went through. Aguytrying, ongeza pesa;-) GOD BLESS YOUR LIFE
youcan'tstopusnow wrote:guru267 wrote:137 becomes my entry point... I wish it waited for me at 130 10k shares traded at 135. Your order probably went through. Aguytrying, ongeza pesa;-) @you. lol!!! i actually eventually had to. i bought at 135, i dont like when asks stretch me like this, but ni sawa. Guru, do u want to buy it at 137 or what? lucky number? i see the price staying at this range(though now i hope not), for a while, there are always those annoying asks when u dont want to buy. The investor's chief problem - and even his worst enemy - is likely to be himself
Investor
Stocks
Diamond Trust Bank Q3 Results review