newfarer wrote:Last weekend I did a clean shave with a bic razor both centre floors and downstairs
after a long time.
I have an issue that is really bothering me. All the shaved areas are really itching .It's so uncomfortable to scratch some so personal constituencies with full glare of collegues
Please advise on what I can apply to reduce the urge to scratch
Pole sana Newfarer, for now just wait and keep the shaven areas clean. Sabuni na maji no need for anything fancy. Lakini siku ingine try doing something different. Explanation:
African hair is ribbon like in cross section unlike mzungu hair which is round. This is a general statement because there are wide variations and some people may have rounder and some more ribbon like hairs.
Why is this important? When the hair is cut close to the skin as those bic or gillette razors do, the round cross sectioned hair grows out STRAIGHT from the skin outwards and there is no problem. The ribbon cross sectioned hair grows out kidogo and then it starts to coil into a spiral. When it takes the first turn and it is too close to the skin, it cannot complete the turn and instead pierces and digs into the skin. This makes the skin very itchy. You scratch and with the millions of bacteria sitting on the skin you get multiple infection spots that sometimes become bumps. Basically akina BUMP PATROL dont do anything special other than to kill the bacteria but hata kawaida soap and water can remove most of it effectively. What will help during those itchy days is to get something like a new toothbrush and use it to gently rub the shaven areas with soap once or twice a day. What you will be doing with the toothbrush is trying to disentangle the hairs that are digging back into the skin. After this you can crush an aspirin and mix it with kidogo water and apply it on the same surfaces. The aspirin reduces inflammation and prevents swelling of the places that have been dungwad by the hair. You should be fine once the hairs grow a few millimeters which is just a few days.
Now next time you want to shave, make sure you don't shave all the way to the skin. Use an electric shaver that cuts the hair at least a few millimetres above the skin so that when the hair grows back and curls it does not reach the skin to pierce it.