wazua Mon, Dec 23, 2024

Fibre optic....i love you!
bird_man
#1 Posted : Thursday, March 19, 2009 6:38:00 AM

I have never been this happy and for once we have done something that takes us closer to vision 2030 as a country.

Today KDN announces a price slash of 92% on its data services.The company i work for was paying 99,000sh for a 256kbps link....now we shall pay KDN 40,000sh for a 1Mbps link per month.....imagine that!

We shall also enter Wimax.......and here i see Access Kenya and UUNET dying.
Safaricom and KDN.....thats where you should invest....

I also see better days ahead for the BPO industry,I see jobs and finally Kencall might be in a position to be profitable and pay their employees.

Today is a great day in ICT.

The course of the world is changed by those who dare dream!
Formally employed people often live their employers' dream & forget about their own.
innocent
#2 Posted : Thursday, March 19, 2009 6:56:00 AM

I think you might be interested in a similar topic on my blog http://blog.mediaeffects.net/?p=5#comments. This thread discusses the fiber optic technology and what it portends for Kenya. The 21 comments include a number by Dr Bitange Ndemo himself. He is,in my opinion,the kind of guy we should have as president. Just read his comments on my blog and you will understand why I say this.

Learn all about the financial marts
http://www.financialmarket.info
---------------------------------------
Looking to buy or sell a property? A plot or a house? Check out http://www.kenyareal.com - Kenya home of real estate.
#3 Posted : Thursday, March 19, 2009 7:11:00 AM

Kwani imefika?.........urgghhhh..!...i have not seen it!!

Guka wa bijuti...
Djinn
#4 Posted : Thursday, March 19, 2009 7:39:00 AM

@Birdman - is that for INTERNATIONAL connectivity or local? The submarine fibre is not yet connected - just the terrestrial segment.

Anyway,there are good signs that with open access on TEAMs (unlike SEACOM who would like to 'fix' prices) that all Kenyans,esp in the education sector will immensely benefit from TEAMs. KDN have fibre from Mombasa to Busia and will link with Ugandan operators so they can benefit from TEAMS.

And YES! Dr Ndemo has moved ICT in leaps and bounds in the few years he has been PS.

The problem with equality is that we desire that it be with those that have more than us rather that those that have less
bird_man
#5 Posted : Thursday, March 19, 2009 7:57:00 AM

@Djinn,

We are having a KDN guy come over today and explain further coz i also thought that it had not been connected internationally yet.They made the offer to us and there is even something of the effect in todays Daily Nation page 29.

But if he drops by I will let you know more. Im thinking they are maybe lowering their prices early before price wars start....they can bank on their fibre network all across the country.

Honestly when they started digging trenches in town and in estates.....even in my shagz in Nyeri i thought they were nuts!Now i see why Kai Wolf is who he is. I also salute Ndemo. We need more of such people.

Formally employed people often live their employers' dream & forget about their own.
bird_man
#6 Posted : Thursday, March 19, 2009 8:09:00 AM

Correction.....prices take effect in June 27th.

#7 Posted : Thursday, March 19, 2009 12:30:00 PM

What amount should we expect to pay for 24/7 home internet given the above figures?

Guka wa bijuti...
kishindo
#8 Posted : Thursday, March 19, 2009 2:01:00 PM

this is good news,most def.

exactly what proportion of Sameer does KDN constitute,anyone?

less is more for Architects only!!
Less is more....for Architects only!!
brubo
#9 Posted : Thursday, March 19, 2009 7:13:00 PM

viva kdn,ndemo & seacom ...... outlook is good for ict...
Fundaah
#10 Posted : Friday, June 05, 2009 11:50:00 AM

Thought the launching was this week..... what happened?

Rules of the game here:

Before you post anything think.give facts only..It's a serious blog for serious people....Do not insult your brother....respect one another...Just be good

Isaiah 65:17-Look! I am creating new heavens and a new earth, and no one will even think about the old ones anymore
#11 Posted : Friday, June 05, 2009 12:14:00 PM

There will surely be a price war,regardless of what the ISPs are saying. I had one call me today with double the bandwith at current prices as long as I sign up for 6 months or a year.

In 2 months time,bandwith will be like mandazis.

#12 Posted : Friday, June 05, 2009 12:32:00 PM

@Fundaah

The launch wil b on Friday 12th June 2009

NIKIPATA NALA-NIKIKOSA NALALA
Silk
#13 Posted : Friday, June 05, 2009 12:40:00 PM

Data service providers are positioning themselves well before the fibre optic goes live. They wanna have bagged as many clients as possible. But surely some current providers are headed for ICU. Alot of current technology in use is about to become obsolete,or is it redundant!!Was just wondering whether it is currently feasible to invest in a 4k worth safcom Bambanet or hang on for a real deal. Love technology.

Life is too short.
#14 Posted : Friday, June 05, 2009 6:05:00 PM

Forgive my ignorance - what happens about the last mile? The fibre passes underground outside my house,how will it get INTO my house? And what happens with the current terminal equipment - is it compatible with fibre or will all those being roped in now have to buy equipment again?
Richie
#15 Posted : Friday, June 05, 2009 7:57:00 PM

Whenever i see contractors doing this works its' AK',kwani Access Kenya ndio wanafanya hii peke yao.

I guess this will be the next EB

Richie
chi20
#16 Posted : Saturday, June 06, 2009 9:18:00 AM

the ship that was contracted to lay the fibre optics docks at the port of mombasa next week on tues,9th. prezo will preside over the launch later in the week,on friday.

this means the cables from overseas will be officially connected to the kenyan network,undertaken by both the kdn and ak. and therefore,the system should be up and running come friday.

on another thread,(to pay,or not to pay),i raised the issue that safcom should invest heavily on this,its their main prospective source of large streams of revenue. but GG shot the idea down.

chi20
Djinn
#17 Posted : Monday, June 08, 2009 9:44:00 AM

GG - last mile should remain as is,except now the bandwidth will be much more and they can allocate more to users - whether wimax,CDMA,FTTH,etc....its really an issue of having international fibre connectivity (and local terrestrial connectivity) from the existing Satellite connectivity which is slower and costs operators more - esp in Africa where low tariffs are important to develop markets. So last mile will remain the same but the opportunities abound in households,education sector for all manner of reasons (e-learning,broadcasting,research,streaming media,etc) - which is why AK,Jamii and KDN are digging up all sidewalks,esp in highly populated and up market areas - they will connect these metro links to either KDN's or TKL's national NW which in turn are going to connect to TEAMS (or SEACOM). Uganda/Rwanda will also connect to TKL/KDN and therefore to SEACOM/TEAMS.

What we can expect in the next 2-4 weeks are major tariff reductions and a hitherto unprecedented beauty contest....

The problem with equality is that we desire that it be with those that have more than us rather that those that have less
wazamali
#18 Posted : Monday, June 08, 2009 2:49:00 PM

@ Birdman

Not too fast...hope KDN will keep afloat after the looming price wars .

Wireless will still do for the last mile (into the house)

But I think a lot of sabotage will also ensure services are not so efficient

Lets wait

Chunga mali yako...