tony stark wrote:bwenyenye wrote:Guys I really think we are not seeing through the Catholic stand point. And from a theological perspective, I believe they are most accurate and bold on their stand. I believe that at the core of their standpoint is the belief that God is sovereign and is the sole giver and taker of life. Even scientifically, a woman will not concieve everytime she has sex. It is only in a given season and even then, the chances (at her highest peak) are only about 2%. When you consider the controls that mother nature has invested in humans, you will realise that a woman does not conceive by chance.. In the small window of opportunity to conceive, there is an option of self control which is very biblical actually.
The whole concept of Birth control is actually an attempt by man in, his quest to lack self control, to then seek to control the outcome of his sin.In that way, man wants to determine when to get a kid and even what type of kid.( boy/ girl)
My arguement therefore is that the other bible teachers have failed to teach the whole truth about christianity ( especially as it relates to sex and procreation) and have preffered to deal with issues of money and success and one wife. The true christianity is realising that GOD is sovereign and you are but a piece in his jigsaw.... not trying to play God on some elements while denying others.
P.s I am not Catholic but I have been with them in these matters. What they teach is self control ( which includes abstinence)and to just be human and not half man and half God. Tell me where it says in the bible man should not use condoms???? The church stance is a creation of the church and not backed by the word of God. The catholic church taking such a position on condoms is very naive while their congregation is continuing to die because the church is against condoms. This virus will continue to ravage africans (Please dont let anyone lie to you that we are more promiscuous ...... every race and community cheats) as the church idly stands by and says please be moral people. This is a racist stance and the church is gladly promoting it. HIV is not common here because we are immoral HIV is more common here because it has its origins in the Forest in congo! Condoms are not abortificient because the unlike some hormonal methods of family planning condoms never allow foetus to form in the first place. The church stance that this method is commiting abortion is also false. Wear a condom Jesus will forgive you if you ask for forgiveness. I was looking for the phrase 'Thus says the Lord'...
kadonye wrote:@sober, Monday blues nini? Relax dude and act like your wazua name.Where did I rant about the church?I just wanted info!I thought they could justify this biblically. BTW, did you know they're probably the only church(apart from The Finger) who are right on the issue of booze? @ Kadonye,what do they teach about booze?
bwenyenye wrote:Guys I really think we are not seeing through the Catholic stand point. And from a theological perspective, I believe they are most accurate and bold on their stand. I believe that at the core of their standpoint is the belief that God is sovereign and is the sole giver and taker of life. Even scientifically, a woman will not concieve everytime she has sex. It is only in a given season and even then, the chances (at her highest peak) are only about 2%. When you consider the controls that mother nature has invested in humans, you will realise that a woman does not conceive by chance.. In the small window of opportunity to conceive, there is an option of self control which is very biblical actually.
The whole concept of Birth control is actually an attempt by man in, his quest to lack self control, to then seek to control the outcome of his sin.In that way, man wants to determine when to get a kid and even what type of kid.( boy/ girl)
My arguement therefore is that the other bible teachers have failed to teach the whole truth about christianity ( especially as it relates to sex and procreation) and have preffered to deal with issues of money and success and one wife. The true christianity is realising that GOD is sovereign and you are but a piece in his jigsaw.... not trying to play God on some elements while denying others.
P.s I am not Catholic but I have been with them in these matters. What they teach is self control ( which includes abstinence)and to just be human and not half man and half God. eeeeeh, na sasa hii inasema nini bwana bwenyenye? We shouldnt determine how many kids we want to get? and when? without birth controls, do you know how many kids would be born of one woman? eeeeh, wacha niseme..... am a Catholic but i dont buy this vibe..... do you know how many "ooops" babies have been born in the name of playing the 'days'? Its all good and i do understand they have a good reason for it, but unfortunately i would need a well learned priest to actually explain to me that point.... slooooooowly.
@famooz, pombe is ok so long as you don't get drunk.@wendz,leona n other cathos, is it true? What a wicked man I am!The things I want to do,I don't do.The things I don't want to do I find myself doing
Rank: New-farer Joined: 11/11/2010 Posts: 65 Location: NRB
Phombe ni mzuri, walevi wengine ndio wanaiharibia jina. Usikunywe kama unajua itakuharibikia upstairs. "The opportunity of a lifetime must be seized during the lifetime of the opportunity."
Rank: Elder Joined: 9/23/2009 Posts: 8,083 Location: Enk are Nyirobi
Woooooii we are finished. I will wear a sweater to protect myself from common cold but i will not wear a condom to protect myself from HIV! Life is short. Live passionately.
The catholic church in my view is just stuck in a time warp. They rigidly refuse to see things that just makes sense and it's no wonder staunch 'cathos' ignore some of their rules and just live on. The Catholic church has throughout it's history stuck to the so called dogmas and traditions some of which are mentioned no where in the bible. It is no wonder therefore that some of the changes have been 'forced' on the church. Does anyone remember the reformation and Luther's 95 theses? Do you know that as recent as the 1960s you could only celebrate the mass in latin? The church steadfastly continues it's objection to family planning methods, to married priests(despite the fact that priests have natural urges and molestation of minors by priests such a widespread problem). It denies sacraments to the divorced (even when one runs away from an abusive marriage), will hear nothing about ordaining women (surely!!) Etc etc. How long has the church taken to recognize that HIV is a serious issue and condoms use among discordant couples is a good idea? Great men are not always wise, neither do the aged understand judgement...
Robinhood wrote:The catholic church in my view is just stuck in a time warp. They rigidly refuse to see things that just makes sense and it's no wonder staunch 'cathos' ignore some of their rules and just live on.
The Catholic church has throughout it's history stuck to the so called dogmas and traditions some of which are mentioned no where in the bible. It is no wonder therefore that some of the changes have been 'forced' on the church. Does anyone remember the reformation and Luther's 95 theses? Do you know that as recent as the 1960s you could only celebrate the mass in latin? The church steadfastly continues it's objection to family planning methods, to married priests(despite the fact that priests have natural urges and molestation of minors by priests such a widespread problem). It denies sacraments to the divorced (even when one runs away from an abusive marriage), will hear nothing about ordaining women (surely!!) Etc etc. How long has the church taken to recognize that HIV is a serious issue and condoms use among discordant couples is a good idea? Very well put. An institution cannot remain static when circumstances around it are always changing. Rules that seemed perfectly sensible in the 14th century are out of tune with the 21st century. That goes for all religions that cling to rules established way back when.................
eeeeeh, na sasa hii inasema nini bwana bwenyenye? We shouldnt determine how many kids we want to get? and when? without birth controls, do you know how many kids would be born of one woman?
eeeeh, wacha niseme..... am a Catholic but i dont buy this vibe..... do you know how many "ooops" babies have been born in the name of playing the 'days'? Its all good and i do understand they have a good reason for it, but unfortunately i would need a well learned priest to actually explain to me that point.... slooooooowly.
@ Wendz, I am not against the condom. God knows I am guilty. Very guilty indeed. I am trying to make you guys see why the catholic church has the stand. I want you guys to see that it is not the principle that is wrong, but that we have failed to apply it properly. Why would we want to decide when to get children,how and when? Normally we come up with the right answers i.e i want to eductae my kids well, I need to feed them well etc. Being very honest to ourselves, the real reason is the desire to have CONTROL. We need to know/ feel that we are in charge of how things are going in our life. I am guilty of that too. But are we really in charge? ever? Is that not why we need God in our lives? Infact, some Sociologists argue that this is the very reason man created God! The biggest puzzle in human history that has never been solved todate is that man is increasingly realising that he is a pawn in the big game of life and not the master. Our pursuit of knowldge has always been to conqour and rule. I think the conitnous realisation that we have limits is our utmost frustration. Perhaps that is the lie that the Snake told Eve, ' you will be like God' We have been trying ever since. In a nut shell, It is not wrong to plan your family, we should use the correct means which is self control. Let us admit where we fail and not fault the principle. I Think Therefore I Am
kadonye wrote:@famooz, pombe is ok so long as you don't get drunk.@wendz,leona n other cathos, is it true? Some teachings are hard to advance right? My church teaches that beer is bad and all other forms of addiction. .....cigarettes,pot etc. Is this more from biblical standpoint or it is just moral teaching? as in is this based on what is right, acceptable and promotes peace within and without?....... On condoms,i think the pope is telling the masses what the bible says.The bible teaches that sex before marriage is fornication,so when the pope says that condoms are not the way to go,he is coming from the teaching of the bible- the infallible word and he has a both a moral and spiritual responsibility; which not not a very enviable position.He calls all these 'aggressive forms of secularism' but then condoms prevent diseases,conception etc and therefore to tell even married people not to use condoms to prevent pregnancy is hard to understand that logic.....and not everyone is abstaining since not everyone is following the teachings of the bible/ not everyone wants to wait/ chill and even for those who want to follow chill- ni ngumu sana!
@famooz, Finally someone is getting what I am trying to put across. It is not the principle that is wrong, but us. Also, we were made to follow the principle and not the other way around. about alcohol... my take. The text usually picked is ' do not be drunk with wine.'The word nornally used for this is ' drunkenness'. In the original context, this word should be better translated as 'addiction' or a state where someone is controlled by something else other than God. The root of this is in the sripture that says, ' You shall have no other God but me!In essence, it should cover anything that has any control over you including, tea, sex, icecream, work, spouse, food ( maybe that is why fasting is recommended) In life however, we know alcohol, like power and everything else in huge quanitites corrupts. I have just never had any one in his/her old age say ' I should have drunk more beer!!! I think moderation is the key. Keeping the balance is very hard so many opt not to indulge. I Think Therefore I Am
famooz wrote:kadonye wrote:@famooz, pombe is ok so long as you don't get drunk.@wendz,leona n other cathos, is it true? Some teachings are hard to advance right? My church teaches that beer is bad and all other forms of addiction. .....cigarettes,pot etc. Is this more from biblical standpoint or it is just moral teaching? as in is this based on what is right, acceptable and promotes peace within and without?....... On condoms,i think the pope is telling the masses what the bible says.The bible teaches that sex before marriage is fornication,so when the pope says that condoms are not the way to go,he is coming from the teaching of the bible- the infallible word and he has a both a moral and spiritual responsibility; which not not a very enviable position.He calls all these 'aggressive forms of secularism' but then condoms prevent diseases,conception etc and therefore to tell even married people not to use condoms to prevent pregnancy is hard to understand that logic.....and not everyone is abstaining since not everyone is following the teachings of the bible/ not everyone wants to wait/ chill and even for those who want to follow chill- ni ngumu sana! I have a very big problem with the highlighted part. 'Cleverly' twisting the bible to support ones claims. Even sheto did it in Eden and attempted to repeat it with Jesus. Akina pope did it before when it was heresy to even think the earth was round and not the center of the universe and they hunted and killed and burned at the stake people who had the audacity to read that same bible for themselves, akina Waldensians and John Wycliffe and Jan Hus... The bible is not open to interpretation! So, please lead me and I will forever hold my peace and accept, where in the bible are condoms mentioned? End this debate, tell us where it is written!
YesuWangu wrote:famooz wrote:kadonye wrote:@famooz, pombe is ok so long as you don't get drunk.@wendz,leona n other cathos, is it true? Some teachings are hard to advance right? My church teaches that beer is bad and all other forms of addiction. .....cigarettes,pot etc. Is this more from biblical standpoint or it is just moral teaching? as in is this based on what is right, acceptable and promotes peace within and without?....... On condoms,i think the pope is telling the masses what the bible says.The bible teaches that sex before marriage is fornication,so when the pope says that condoms are not the way to go,he is coming from the teaching of the bible- the infallible word and he has a both a moral and spiritual responsibility; which not not a very enviable position.He calls all these 'aggressive forms of secularism' but then condoms prevent diseases,conception etc and therefore to tell even married people not to use condoms to prevent pregnancy is hard to understand that logic.....and not everyone is abstaining since not everyone is following the teachings of the bible/ not everyone wants to wait/ chill and even for those who want to follow chill- ni ngumu sana! I have a very big problem with the highlighted part. 'Cleverly' twisting the bible to support ones claims. Even sheto did it in Eden and attempted to repeat it with Jesus. Akina pope did it before when it was heresy to even think the earth was round and not the center of the universe and they hunted and killed and burned at the stake people who had the audacity to read that same bible for themselves, akina Waldensians and John Wycliffe and Jan Hus... The bible is not open to interpretation! So, please lead me and I will forever hold my peace and accept, where in the bible are condoms mentioned? End this debate, tell us where it is written! @ Yesuwangu- What is twisted?
famooz wrote:YesuWangu wrote:famooz wrote:kadonye wrote:@famooz, pombe is ok so long as you don't get drunk.@wendz,leona n other cathos, is it true? Some teachings are hard to advance right? My church teaches that beer is bad and all other forms of addiction. .....cigarettes,pot etc. Is this more from biblical standpoint or it is just moral teaching? as in is this based on what is right, acceptable and promotes peace within and without?....... On condoms,i think the pope is telling the masses what the bible says.The bible teaches that sex before marriage is fornication,so when the pope says that condoms are not the way to go,he is coming from the teaching of the bible- the infallible word and he has a both a moral and spiritual responsibility; which not not a very enviable position.He calls all these 'aggressive forms of secularism' but then condoms prevent diseases,conception etc and therefore to tell even married people not to use condoms to prevent pregnancy is hard to understand that logic.....and not everyone is abstaining since not everyone is following the teachings of the bible/ not everyone wants to wait/ chill and even for those who want to follow chill- ni ngumu sana! I have a very big problem with the highlighted part. 'Cleverly' twisting the bible to support ones claims. Even sheto did it in Eden and attempted to repeat it with Jesus. Akina pope did it before when it was heresy to even think the earth was round and not the center of the universe and they hunted and killed and burned at the stake people who had the audacity to read that same bible for themselves, akina Waldensians and John Wycliffe and Jan Hus... The bible is not open to interpretation! So, please lead me and I will forever hold my peace and accept, where in the bible are condoms mentioned? End this debate, tell us where it is written! @ Yesuwangu- What is twisted? I understand the connection sex, fornication and the bible. What I dont understand is how pope and condoms have wiggled their way into the above. Help me understand.
It is called doctrine ops i was responding to yesuwangu :)
famooz wrote:kadonye wrote:@sober, Monday blues nini? Relax dude and act like your wazua name.Where did I rant about the church?I just wanted info!I thought they could justify this biblically. BTW, did you know they're probably the only church(apart from The Finger) who are right on the issue of booze? @ Kandonye,what do they say about booze? Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.