wazua Mon, Jul 28, 2025

Safcom's OKOA jahazi
flipthecoin
#1 Posted : Tuesday, October 27, 2009 1:55:00 PM

This service stealthily started as an auxiliary is slowly but surely creeping in as a revenue source,and my bet is that MJ and team have seen potential in it. I realize that the frequency for okoaing jahazi has been adjusted to every 24hours - I think initially it was once every 30days.

This can only be prove that the service has had eager takers and hence fronted as an area for growth. I for once had to use it sometime back in the midst of an important call that dragged on till credit was exhausted,had the option of asking my contact to PLEASE CALL ME and have the biz lost on account of having no capability to even conclude a negotiation call or resort to this and save face. I gladly did. What is the future for these kind of services that almost border on being a one stop shop; sell airtime and lend money for the same(the modest 10% is no pocket change).

Everyone should be heard and respected!
Spend.thrift
#2 Posted : Tuesday, October 27, 2009 2:53:00 PM

The 10% interest (sometimes per hour) is okay for me.

But once I run out of credit in a place with no shops and having no money in my MPESA,I decided to okoa jahazi. I used the jahazi for about 2 minutes (max 10 pop because my cell broadcast said Kshs. 5 per minute). 25 minutes later I had reached an airtime outlet. I bought scratch card ya 100 and the my debt was offset immediately. However the balance of Kshs. 35 which was legally mine because I had paid for it also dissapeared because after making one more call,my balance fell below 50pop.

Sasa MJ,si huu ni wizi wa Ngawira?

We tenda wema kisha wende zako. Usinipe macho ya kutarajia shukrani!!!
#3 Posted : Wednesday, October 28, 2009 5:41:00 AM

By locking u from calling other networks,the loan beats the purpose.Once u borrow u are restricted to safaricom to safaricom calls only even when u repay it.

you can achive all things through Him(Jesus Christ)
Avy
#4 Posted : Wednesday, October 28, 2009 5:50:00 AM

How does this 'Okoa jahazi ' service work.? Jana evening i ran out of credit and i had no cash in my mpesa.Sent request to *131# but i got a an sms saying i am not 'elligible for the credit and to check press and posters for more details.'

How then does one go about it?This was my very first attempt!

Life is a reckoning we cannot make twice over
#5 Posted : Wednesday, October 28, 2009 6:00:00 AM

The chief value of money lies in the fact that one lives in a world in which it is overestimated.
#6 Posted : Wednesday, October 28, 2009 6:01:00 AM

Tuwache kelele.........

The chief value of money lies in the fact that one lives in a world in which it is overestimated.
kangi
#7 Posted : Wednesday, October 28, 2009 8:01:00 AM

this okoa thing has become a cash cow for safcon n boon for unsuspecting victims,picture this.I heard this storo from my barber,a customer asks for his phone to make a call since his phone is in the hse chargin.he pretends will buy credit and actually pretends to top up the fone with some 50 pop airtime,all the while he is okoarin and the credit is granted. To his dismay,he realises that the credit was okoad when he loads airtime and a whole 60 pop is missing.

I think safcon need to ensure that a pin no. is engaged to get the okoa thing.

there is a great value in disaster.all our mistakes are burned up.Thank God we can start anew.-Thomas Edison
Accept no one's definition of your life; define your life.
chris79
#8 Posted : Wednesday, October 28, 2009 8:14:00 AM

Come on,you don't hand over your wallet to anybody you meet on the streets do you? So why would you give your phone to somebody without being responsible enough to monitor what he's doing with it? You can't hold safcon responsible for your own carelessness...

Be the change you want to see in the world...
#9 Posted : Wednesday, October 28, 2009 8:51:00 AM

Hey, ..... whats all these pops???.... BoBs people BoBs!

does okoa jahazi work when you have credit already ? That barber story ....... well,I also would be surprised that someone would be so willing to give a phone to someone he doesnt even know and especially in town.

Experience is what you get when you don't get what you want.

akowally
#10 Posted : Wednesday, October 28, 2009 9:29:00 AM

It doesn't work when you have credit already. You need to have less than five bob. The pops is something that spend.thrift came up with ...

When we pray in praise to God,he makes a difference in our lives.
JOIN MY FREE MINI-COURSE FOR WRITERS. CLICK HERE
#11 Posted : Wednesday, October 28, 2009 10:57:00 AM

@wendz,don't get worked up. You are reacting like someone said b**bs instead of bobs!!!
kangi
#12 Posted : Wednesday, October 28, 2009 11:27:00 AM

@ wendz & chris.The barber gave his customer the fone to 'load' airtime.I assume u would assist ur client given the circumstances.

The moral of the story is 2 forewarn skerians esp those that have say cheeky teenagers,or a malicious workmate,dont send someone to load for U airtime n safcon need to enhance security measures just as they do for m-pesa where u have 2 use a pin based system.

When am down God is upto something
Accept no one's definition of your life; define your life.
Spend.thrift
#13 Posted : Thursday, October 29, 2009 5:14:00 AM

@ Akowally,

Dont insert acronyms in my mouth. pops is short for persistent organic polluants.

I did not say pop pops,I said pop shilling. Have you had of chula? Mimi chichemi chula chula kloo kloo kloo. Namaanisha chula ucho

We tenda wema kisha wende zako. Usinipe macho ya kutarajia shukrani!!!
gogeta
#14 Posted : Thursday, October 29, 2009 6:09:00 AM

By the way guys when you Okoa jahazi it doesnt earn you bonga points its a win win situation for safcom afterall.

A little Blindness is necessary when you undertake Risk.
Think the unthinkable but wear a dark suit
akowally
#15 Posted : Thursday, October 29, 2009 6:10:00 AM

@ spend.thrift

I hope wendz has gotten your origin of pop.... I have no idea on the chula thing ....

When we pray in praise to God,he makes a difference in our lives.
JOIN MY FREE MINI-COURSE FOR WRITERS. CLICK HERE