wazua Sat, Nov 16, 2024

Lavington, Jacaranda Avenue road barrier
Njore
#1 Posted : Friday, November 19, 2010 10:27:15 AM

Jameni, I could not believe what a guard manning the Jacaranda Avenue gate in Lavington Estate was telling me. He had strict instructions from the Chairman of that part of the estate not to allow strangers (motorists or pedestrians) to use Jacaranda Avenue unless they are guests to one of these 'very important' Kenyans. I wonder whether Jacaranda Avenue has become private property or it has been been grabbed. City Council of Nairobi, are you part of this scheme? How were those gates and barriers erected without your approval? Muthangari Police, do you approve of this? Is it this not neo-colonialism? How can our society allow such oppressive and discriminatory tendencies to be practised 47 years after independence? I thought the new katiba would change Kenyans' attitudes towards their compatriots. This is impunity BIG TIME!
#2 Posted : Friday, November 19, 2010 10:58:26 AM

Kwani you expect the Constitution to dash in and help you how? Kama Makmende? That's not really how it works.

If you feel your Constitutional right is being infringed as it most likely is then move to court and file a Constitutional case against those guilty. Or try something else positive. It doesn't help relaxing on your backside and crying 'ninataks sirikali inisaidie na hii Katiba....'. That is exactly what you are doing.
Apple Bees
#3 Posted : Friday, November 19, 2010 11:41:13 AM

@Njore, that road has been private from them days, I guess 2004! Just take the longer route to Lavington Green from Bernard