Building colapses in town.
#11 Posted : Friday, November 19, 2010 9:32:29 AM

mwenza wrote:
Sober wrote:
QD wrote:
Really how comes kenya buildings always collapse, which arm of the government is asleep!

The enginerr should be held responsible because he is the one who approves that the building is done to the required standards.

That conclusion is simplistic.

No-way Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you

Its the shift supervisor who steals the cement and thus put more mushanga with little cement in the koroga.

Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you

#12 Posted : Friday, November 19, 2010 9:35:39 AM

We should borrow from the Mauritian building code.Mixing of concrete is done by an independent body.
#13 Posted : Friday, November 19, 2010 9:53:12 AM

Probable causes of collapse includes but not limited to:

1) Poor workmanship
2) Lack of proper supervision
3) Inadequate structural design
4) Inadequate formwork placement during construction

Very hard to single out the probable cause of collapse without thorough investiagtion.
#14 Posted : Friday, November 19, 2010 9:59:58 AM

@ guka,

toa mbegu!!!

it is now a known fact that the developers are 100% to blame for building collapses in Kenya...ask me why!!
Ms Mkenya
#15 Posted : Friday, November 19, 2010 10:00:08 AM

Does the new constitution say anything about such things?
The only way this will stop is if there is someone with whom the buck stops and that that someone will be fined heavily (With a possibility of a jail term)
I hope no one was hurt.
....above all, to stand.
#16 Posted : Friday, November 19, 2010 10:00:29 AM

What I saw this morning looked like it was Kanjo demolition work, lakini at a closer look I noticed the column chumas were either Y10 or Y12 and the span between columns seemed very wide.
@impunity kwani when the supervisor steals cement uko wapi? Here either the engineer and/or contractor should answer if what my eyes saw is real.
#17 Posted : Friday, November 19, 2010 10:13:43 AM

...building collapses, running with jerricans to overturned petrol lorry tankers, speeding on known blackspots on highways and drinking illicit liquor are human rights which Kenyans will die fighting for for as long as they live!
#18 Posted : Friday, November 19, 2010 11:50:14 AM

Rahatupu wrote:
What I saw this morning looked like it was Kanjo demolition work, lakini at a closer look I noticed the column chumas were either Y10 or Y12 and the span between columns seemed very wide.
@impunity kwani when the supervisor steals cement uko wapi? Here either the engineer and/or contractor should answer if what my eyes saw is real.

I also thought so. Sad
annsal
#19 Posted : Friday, November 19, 2010 1:18:06 PM

YesuWangu wrote:
Rahatupu wrote:

I also thought so. Sad

me too. infact a cop told us ati it was demolished by kanjo guys at night.
God loves a Trier!
#20 Posted : Friday, November 19, 2010 1:29:18 PM

Kanjora demorison.
Could they find a better and more professional way of demolishing buildings?