wazua Sun, Nov 17, 2024

Your Fly540 Experience
#21 Posted : Tuesday, November 10, 2009 7:14:00 AM

@Magigi; I sold my KQ shares about three years ago...when it was sh120...had bout them at sh7.35 several years earlier. Even though I am not a shareholder currently,I still prefer flying KQ to any other airline ....I think they have the best pilots in the whole world!

I was never an Uchumi shareholder,but,as a Kenyan,I feel that I am a stakeholder in the Co. So I support them as much as I can. Sometimes,however,they really disappoint...e.g.,just before the closure,it was impossible to get the brand of product you wanted,or the size,or even the product itself....so I had to stop doing monthly shopping there even though it was the closest supermarket to my house.

I am a SCOM shareholder,but I can't stand their poor and expensive services. So I only keep a line for M-PESA. For voice I use Telkom & Zain; for internet I use Orange.

Doe this mean that I am not patriotic to SCOM?

Well,patriotism has nothing to do with it. If the start losing money,I will sell my shares. If they improve their service and become competitive on price,I will become a subscriber.

Behind the gardens...Behind the wall...Under the tree (Including: Red...Dark Blue...Yellow)
Burning Spear
#22 Posted : Tuesday, November 10, 2009 8:07:00 AM

@Simonkabz

I have delicate eardrum (one ear) after a doctor almost detroyed one of my ear by antibiotics when a was 20 year old.
Again during the fly540 journey 2 Entebbe,I was sited just next to the propellers.

KQ are good despite the delays,and overbookings.

Disclaimer : This is my opinion and not a recommendation.
"You're not supposed to be so blind with patriotism that you can't face reality. Wrong is wrong, no matter who says it". Malcolm X
#23 Posted : Tuesday, November 10, 2009 8:59:00 AM

...If you think KQ does not measure up,travel by Uganda airlines. The food is bad,the air hostesses are flat,inside is so damp and hot...

...I think there other than South African airlines,there is no better airline in Africa other than KQ-The pride of Africa...
#24 Posted : Tuesday, November 10, 2009 9:30:00 AM

SAA??

I flew with them a few years ago and wasn't impressed....the cabin crew are too 'Plastic' and the piloting too uncomfortable....

Behind the gardens...Behind the wall...Under the tree (Including: Red...Dark Blue...Yellow)
#25 Posted : Tuesday, November 10, 2009 9:45:00 AM

@young

Seems your best bet is KQ - just be at the airport early and if they bump you off,make a good scene and they will get you a seat....

You didnt say where your destination was but if its the major tourist attraction places,you could also check Air Kenya (for local travel). Their services were good,used a big plane which was comfortable but owe unto you if they decide to use those twin engines or smaller aircraft. Not sure how friendly their fares are comparatively (with other local flights!)

Try also jetlink.... not bad too and their fares are pocket friendly.... they introduced a flight from Kisoom citi to Mombassiti dont know if it turned out to be viable.....

Experience is what you get when you don't get what you want.

bushlink
#26 Posted : Tuesday, November 10, 2009 10:18:00 AM

this is just a matatu on air.

My Happiness makes me Happy too.
#27 Posted : Tuesday, November 10, 2009 11:40:00 AM

@Bushlink;

...so what do you call it? Matatu Air?

bushlink
#28 Posted : Tuesday, November 10, 2009 11:50:00 AM

@ magigi,its very noisy & shaky & when u travelling to a place like kisumu u land in eld,drop passengers,pick the ones going to kisumu land in kisumu e.t.c & the whole process of boarding and alighting takes less than 30 min.

My Happiness makes me Happy too.
#29 Posted : Tuesday, November 10, 2009 2:19:00 PM

Only ET (Ethiopian Airlines) come close to KQ in Africa,the others ni pang'ang'a tu!!!!

The chief value of money lies in the fact that one lives in a world in which it is overestimated.
#30 Posted : Tuesday, November 10, 2009 2:46:00 PM

@Bushlink

...wait till you work in a place like south sudan or somalia and you will know what matatu air means; the plane makes about 10 stops be4 you get to your destination. Other than transporting human beings you also get goats on board. You are not even talking about wounded soldiers and the sick...

...the antenovs are the worst...the cargo door may decide to open in mid air as the Russian pilots sleep suffering from hangover they got from their last break (which could have been a month ago) after guzzling too much vodka in Moscow!!!... oh,the things I have seen in my travels...
#31 Posted : Tuesday, November 10, 2009 4:10:00 PM

@magigi,kindly add congo to that kalist...

Can silence be misquoted?
tony stark
#32 Posted : Tuesday, November 10, 2009 4:19:00 PM

@ young
Fly 540 is decent enough. It is cheaper when you book earlier. KQ recently introduced special fares which probably stayed maybe they are cheaper now.
The time delay on overbooked flights can be quite long and that is something that doesnt happen with fly 540 or jet link. KQ staff are rude and really dont care.
All said my prefered choice on local routes is Jet link. Quite fast and is definately the cheapest if you book early and i think even when you book late. Fly 540 then KQ would be my option of last resort!!
@ burning spear. Antibiotics cause deafness not sensitive ears. Blame your hearing on something else!!!

SK A.L.U.M.N.I (Alcoholic Liason and Undergarments Manager of Nakedness Internationally)
half_empty
#33 Posted : Tuesday, November 10, 2009 11:25:00 PM

Burning Spear
#34 Posted : Wednesday, November 11, 2009 7:10:00 AM

@tony stark,

I wrote delicate ears not sensitive.

Ever heard of ringing ears as a side effect of antibiotics.If not,please dont comment.

"You're not supposed to be so blind with patriotism that you can't face reality. Wrong is wrong, no matter who says it". Malcolm X
tony stark
#35 Posted : Wednesday, November 11, 2009 8:36:00 AM

At burning spear ringing ears is a common side effect of quinine and aminoglycsides also!! Quinine is in gin and tonic too. Gives it the bitter taste! So gin and tonic can cause it too. Tinitus (rining ears) is also caused by loud noise,exposure to chemicals,among very many other things.
Tinitus is not worsened by noise it is caused by noise. How is it that a doctor caused your ringing ears and not the noise??

Dont go blaming people who were busy trying to save you when you were a child!! You sound like a politician.

SK A.L.U.M.N.I (Alcoholic Liason and Undergarments Manager of Nakedness Internationally)
#36 Posted : Wednesday, November 11, 2009 8:58:00 AM

Fly540 uses ATRs... they are propellor driven... thus the noise....

Greedy when others are fearful,Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase WB
Burning Spear
#37 Posted : Wednesday, November 11, 2009 9:25:00 AM

@Tony stark,

Its no fair to state incorrect info and I wont allow you to beat me in my game as a profession unless you are my senior in the profession.

You have stated and I quote 'Tinitus is not worsened by noise it is caused by noise. How is it that a doctor caused your ringing ears and not the noise?? '

My friend @ Tony stark,I have below outlined what can worsen or cause tinnitus(ringing ears);

Lound noise-cause and can worsen already affected individuals.
Stress and fatugue-make tinnitus worse.
Medications -as side effects eg for rheumatic dse,some antibiotics,some anti-depressants and aspirin to some people.
Smoking nicotine,also marijuana,caffeine.

#38 Posted : Wednesday, November 11, 2009 11:08:00 AM

tony stark'

kwani fly540 has also done an IPO!!!!!!!

The chief value of money lies in the fact that one lives in a world in which it is overestimated.
#39 Posted : Sunday, September 09, 2012 10:29:15 AM

From fly540 to drive 540.

A friend is booked on 540 nbo -kitale on friday 2.30 pm flight by the host
He's in Kenya for the first time and is exhausted after a long journey from origin, so he can't wait to arrive at his final destination.
I did not know that fly 540 flies to Kitale so out of my concern decided to inquire from their 540 jkia office.
The ticketing guys tell me they, do but have no clue abt where it lands.
Out of shock my friend asks 'is he serious'? So I ask again.What is the name of the airstrip/airport in Kitale?
The guy and his colleagues give me a blank stare.
I wanted to keep track of his movements to ensure all goes well but these guys were clueless.
So I told them if my guy lands in a some stadium....Pray

The plane departed late but due to poor weather (don't know how true)it was diverted to Eldoret.

My poor friend plus few of the pax found themselves in VEHICLES headed to kitale from Eldoret because the flight changed route to LODWAR!!!! Passengers headed to lodwar did not alight.The kitale ones suffered!
The cars were pre-booked by 'drive540'.
So on standby like they expected.
I spoke to him yesternight and he was very dissapointed by the service.
The final trip was torture because the roads were very bad not 4gettng the heavy trucks plying that route at that time.The distance and bad weather almost drove him crazy cz they ended up arriving after 8 pm.
A new person in town and after hving left home more than 24 hours earlier.jeez!

I can't help but wonder why a pax wld be put on road transport to his final dest.which is cheaper yet he had booked an air ticket. No compensation nothing!
shame on DRIVE540.

I was so embarrased and cancelled 540 from my list of recommended flights.

And take ur staff on familiarisation trips.

#40 Posted : Sunday, September 09, 2012 12:39:24 PM

Pole sana kwake some companies are just pathetic how do you sell a product which you know nothing about?Translates to poor training and lack of motivation of the staff...