wazua Sat, Nov 16, 2024

5 Pages<1234>»
The mother in law influence - 911...... heeeeeelllllppppp!
#21 Posted : Tuesday, November 16, 2010 11:53:24 AM

soon you will have three friends..later the wise man saying that goes like.."God protect me from my friends because i already know my enemies" will be so true....unless the MIL without eheeee can prepare something like this...Wendy's Burger
#22 Posted : Tuesday, November 16, 2010 11:57:25 AM

@Wendz,

Does your friend( the woman) want to keep her marriage?
If yes, then she needs to stay away from the mother, both on phone and physically, Apologoze to the husband and work on their relationship. I can tell ou that guy is as good as gone by now. She needs to beg him properly... otherwise she will be among the congregants of next year's 'Bwana PAP!' convention!
#23 Posted : Tuesday, November 16, 2010 11:59:08 AM

Send this to the cast of Mother In law... It will teach many mothers in law some lessons.

...Now, when you meet your lady friend this evening (dont waste money on coffee for her cause she is a dunderhead!!! Sorry)tell her on her face that WE MEN DONT LIKE THIS AT ALL. Any closeness of this nature can only spell disaster. We dont even like seeing her brothers and sisters hanging around her. My point is that relatives from both families should only visit when there is a need and should not just turn up!
#24 Posted : Tuesday, November 16, 2010 12:03:03 PM

Now, i am in a dilemma.... my best friend of many years is having issues with her husband (who is also a good friend to me too) over her mother's hand in their marriage. The lady's mother seems to have alot of say in the running of this family. Well, the guy doesnt like it but my friend is so convinced that it is for the best of their marriage. i do understand where she is coming from because some of the issues she (the mother) has 'ingiliad' (because it is not intervening so i dont have the correct english word for it and i wouldnt mind someone telling me... intruding sort of?) has been to help them. Problem is, the lady always sides with her mother in everything she proposes and keeps reporting back to her. Me thinks, the guy is feeling like he has lost control of this marriage... but thats my thinking... Now the guy seems like he is kinda sneaking around and the lady is getting frustrated and wants a break...... i know its difficult but it would be sad to see them go that route.

Now, good people, how have you guys been handling this in either your relationships or those close to you who you know had similar problems? i want to be as objective as possible and tell her the real thing as hard as it may be and may be put sense into the whole thing... am supposed to meet my friend today.... How have you been handling this mother in law thing in your families? What are the solutions.... how does this family handle these issues without breaking apart.

And i know how we are in wazua... the next post will say "that friend is you".... its all good with me as long as you let me have your objective solution.

Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you

Get out to the gutter... kubaff... we worked with the two of them! its not like he is my "personal" friend and i was the best maid in their wedding...... bure kabisa!
#25 Posted : Tuesday, November 16, 2010 12:07:13 PM

True that Magigi......She was so fond of muchene and would pop every other day to lecture the sis on how to run her house.....Hubby warned the wife but she was not keen on stopping her.....One day hubby turns up early and finds the two in the house.He closed the door and slid down his pants.......She has never returned.
#26 Posted : Tuesday, November 16, 2010 12:08:20 PM

Wendz,
as long as you want to maintain the friendship to both , be careful on what you tell them.Mambo ya bibi na bwana ina wezwa na wao wenyewe.The more you want to advise them the more likely for them to gang against you and you will be the bad one. .Leave them alone . they know where they met , they know what they want on their marriage(make or break it).
If the wife wants to listen to Mum too much nothing will change her.

I hear you. Actually, thats why i put this one here because i dont want to cross that line... plus i do not want to seem to side with any.... but if i can get an honest way of telling them may be where they are goofing and possibly can help, it will be a blessing... otherwise, i might have to resort to suggesting what someone said about them going to see a proper marriage counselor.
#27 Posted : Tuesday, November 16, 2010 12:10:35 PM

Send this to the cast of Mother In law... It will teach many mothers in law some lessons.

...Now, when you meet your lady friend this evening (dont waste money on coffee for her cause she is a dunderhead!!! Sorry)tell her on her face that WE MEN DONT LIKE THIS AT ALL. Any closeness of this nature can only spell disaster. We dont even like seeing her brothers and sisters hanging around her. My point is that relatives from both families should only visit when there is a need and should not just turn up!

Thanks.... will definitely do.
sky5
#28 Posted : Tuesday, November 16, 2010 12:15:05 PM

No man will allow MIL to run his home! NEVER!

The lady has two choices: To listen to her husband or to go back to her mother!
#29 Posted : Tuesday, November 16, 2010 12:20:48 PM

Now, i am in a dilemma.... my best friend of many years is having issues with her husband (who is also a good friend to me too) over her mother's hand in their marriage. The lady's mother seems to have alot of say in the running of this family. Well, the guy doesnt like it but my friend is so convinced that it is for the best of their marriage. i do understand where she is coming from because some of the issues she (the mother) has 'ingiliad' (because it is not intervening so i dont have the correct english word for it and i wouldnt mind someone telling me... intruding sort of?) has been to help them. Problem is, the lady always sides with her mother in everything she proposes and keeps reporting back to her. Me thinks, the guy is feeling like he has lost control of this marriage... but thats my thinking... Now the guy seems like he is kinda sneaking around and the lady is getting frustrated and wants a break...... i know its difficult but it would be sad to see them go that route.

Now, good people, how have you guys been handling this in either your relationships or those close to you who you know had similar problems? i want to be as objective as possible and tell her the real thing as hard as it may be and may be put sense into the whole thing... am supposed to meet my friend today.... How have you been handling this mother in law thing in your families? What are the solutions.... how does this family handle these issues without breaking apart.

And i know how we are in wazua... the next post will say "that friend is you".... its all good with me as long as you let me have your objective solution.

Get out to the gutter... kubaff... we worked with the two of them! its not like he is my "personal" friend and i was the best maid in their wedding...... bure kabisa!

@Wendz, it normally starts like that,:I was their best maid, then close friend,halafu choir member.....before he knows it makosa ishafanyika.

#30 Posted : Tuesday, November 16, 2010 12:26:52 PM

[quote=Wendz][and the lady is getting frustrated and wants a break...... i know its difficult but it would be sad to see them go that route.

[/quote) Pray

Your friend is not serious. Just ask her to take a two week break and go and live with her mother. That might actually solve her problems once nad for all.She will realise that truth is stranger than fiction.Shame on you
#31 Posted : Tuesday, November 16, 2010 12:28:13 PM

@mlefu....so you can paste an image on this site now...kudos man!!
#32 Posted : Tuesday, November 16, 2010 12:33:40 PM

@Kingfisher,
Paste??.......Ameiweka na stapler.
#33 Posted : Tuesday, November 16, 2010 12:48:55 PM

bwenyenye wrote:
[quote=Wendz][and the lady is getting frustrated and wants a break...... i know its difficult but it would be sad to see them go that route.

[/quote) Pray

Your friend is not serious. Just ask her to take a two week break and go and live with her mother. That might actually solve her problems once nad for all.She will realise that truth is stranger than fiction.Shame on you

I wouldnt do that. How would you know the guy is not waiting for such to give his verdict.... This is still a young family and am sure there is a chance for it to survive but they have to make the decision on where MIL comes in and when they sort out their issues. As majority have said, its either her mother or her marriage.

Thanks guys for all your contribution and more so because i got most of the response from the brother's side...... we women are biased towards our mothers and am not an exception so i think i have a balanced view of issues now. I really appreciate. will see how our meeting goes. At least i will even sound a bit knowledgeable on these issues thanks to all you guys.

@Impunity, the problem with Wazua is they do not have a section for "grown-ups discussions only".... I wont judge you.
gadj
#34 Posted : Tuesday, November 16, 2010 12:50:13 PM

The lady should wait until the MIL comes visiting, then take the hubby to bed and have sex making all manner of noises, the MIL will be so embarrassed never to return again. They even can buy the bed made of wires to assist in noise making.
#35 Posted : Tuesday, November 16, 2010 1:41:28 PM

gadj wrote:
The lady should wait until the MIL comes visiting, then take the hubby to bed and have sex making all manner of noises, the MIL will be so embarrassed never to return again. They even can buy the bed made of wires to assist in noise making.

Bed made of wires?????
Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Applause Applause
#36 Posted : Tuesday, November 16, 2010 1:46:31 PM

Best of luck Wendz - abundant commonsense in contributions so far.
Our upbringing plays such a large part as to who we are, but at the end of the day marriage is a union between two. She made a mistake in bringing a third party to the union and now he's keen to bring in many others.

Advice from external parties should be sought and adapted completely before being applied to the marriage. At the end of all the advice, who does it profit if there's no marriage?

Ms Mkenya
#37 Posted : Tuesday, November 16, 2010 1:53:30 PM

@ Wendz,
If you were her best maid it means you are good friends. Well i think.
Just tell her in black and white, this issue of your mum is messing your marriage, period. And give her some of the views expressed especially by our brothers/fathers here smile.
As a friend, tell her bluntly she has two choices-to listen to her mum or to listen to her hubby. But in my view, she will also need to:-
-sit her mum down and tell her that she wants to run her home herself (with respect, asitusi mama yake)
-apologize to her husband
-be ready to have a new start where she and Mr run the family as a unit.
-Pray like mad that Mr. will now listen to her.

I had a similar issue with a friend and i told her just that. So far, so good. It was hard for her to do it but once she did, even she saw the difference it made.

All the best, sometimes its really tough being a friend.
....above all, to stand.
#38 Posted : Tuesday, November 16, 2010 2:01:02 PM

@Wendz,

Do not forget to bring us the update. I really hope she choses the husband and follows @Ms Mkenya's steps.

And to all the ladies here, please keep off you daughters' marriages when the time comes. YOu now have the benefit of foresight
My 2 cents
#39 Posted : Tuesday, November 16, 2010 2:12:01 PM

bwenyenye wrote:
@Wendz,

please keep off you daughters' marriages when the time comes. YOu now have the benefit of foresight

You forgot to add sons also. keep off your sons marriages as well.
#40 Posted : Tuesday, November 16, 2010 2:23:36 PM

Ms Mkenya wrote:
@ Wendz,
If you were her best maid it means you are good friends. Well i think.
Just tell her in black and white, this issue of your mum is messing your marriage, period. And give her some of the views expressed especially by our brothers/fathers here smile.
As a friend, tell her bluntly she has two choices-to listen to her mum or to listen to her hubby. But in my view, she will also need to:-
-sit her mum down and tell her that she wants to run her home herself (with respect, asitusi mama yake)
-apologize to her husband
-be ready to have a new start where she and Mr run the family as a unit.
-Pray like mad that Mr. will now listen to her.

I had a similar issue with a friend and i told her just that. So far, so good. It was hard for her to do it but once she did, even she saw the difference it made.

All the best, sometimes its really tough being a friend.

@Muganda Thanks. Very true... the marriage has to be there otherwise no point of all the talk.

@Ms Kenya
Wanawake 10 wa womens guild kando. yes, we are very close for many many years. she is like a sister to me. Very true. I bet i will have to have that honest talk with her if i have to put some sense in her. luckily, she knows i mean well and when she needs an honest answer, she will ask me because i will say as i see/understand it. But the issues of mother is sensitive even for me to handle coz she is very close to her so this, i had to seek intelligent opinion from here. She is the last born so I think thats where the mother hasnt cut the ties yet and then again, she is the only kid in the country... all the others are out in diaspora and the mom is retired......(not an excuse but you can see where the problem may have started). Thanks gal.

@bwenyenye. will do. She loves her husband and it is really the right thing to do. Her challenge will have to be dealing with her mother which she might have to take the bold step.

@bwenyenye & my 2 cents - honestly, i think its hard but i will so try keep off my son's life like a plague... i hope i will manage. i bet i will adopt a kid to be keeping me busy in retirement... heehheheheheheheheee..