wazua Sun, May 3, 2026

Mecca Mean Time
#1 Posted : Sunday, November 14, 2010 4:14:09 PM

There was a proposal to change the Meridian from Greenwich to the " scientifically proven center of the world"- Mecca.
GMT replaced by MMT. Whats your take?

http://www.oassis.biz/new-wonders/515-giant-clock-controversy-saudi-arabia-world-appalling.html
#2 Posted : Sunday, November 14, 2010 4:35:23 PM

...Terrorist attack on time...
#3 Posted : Sunday, November 14, 2010 4:44:34 PM

http://www.dailymail.co....mic-holy-city-Mecca.html
mzeekijana
#4 Posted : Monday, November 15, 2010 12:19:55 AM

[quote=masukuma]" scientifically proven center of the world"- Mecca.

I have no problem with the contents of the link but how do u prove that a place on the face of earth is the centre? cant any place be the centre??Think
#5 Posted : Monday, November 15, 2010 2:09:34 AM

mzeekijana wrote:
[quote=masukuma]" scientifically proven center of the world"- Mecca.

I have no problem with the contents of the link but how do u prove that a place on the face of earth is the centre? cant any place be the centre??Think

This is pure shiet since the world is spherical, it goes without saying that the centre of the Earth should be somewhere along the equator.

So it cant be anywhere in Europe or Middle East.

Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you

#6 Posted : Monday, November 15, 2010 8:17:34 AM

their argument is based upon some dubious calculations. ati sijui that place has no magnetic force (they wld have been all dead by now) or mara it has too much. Anyway thats why i placed the scientifically proven center of the world in quotes.
you are all wrong!! the Center of the earth is the core of the Earth not on the surface of the sphere. Depending on how you look at the sphere!! the current equator is seen as such since the earth rotates (much more or less 19 degrees) around an axis from the top of the sphere. when the magnetic poles shift (a matter of when not if) the true north could be in...MATHARE NORTH :)
since its a sphere
majimaji
#7 Posted : Monday, November 15, 2010 12:28:21 PM

@ masukuma, it's a 23.5 degress tilt and the magnetic poles are always shifting. At present the magnetic pole is off by about 500km for the true poles.
#8 Posted : Monday, November 15, 2010 3:16:23 PM

@majimaji, oh its 23.5 degrees - my bad. the magnetic poles are dynamic, they do rounds of kitu 10 - 40 kms per year. this is common. the Kind of change i was talking about was a reversal like the 1 said to have happened some 700k years ago. during that period of reversal the poles can be anywhere before moving again and again before stabilizing (Mathare North is just an example)
#9 Posted : Monday, November 15, 2010 3:52:47 PM

@majimaji, oh its 23.5 degrees - my bad. the magnetic poles are dynamic, they do rounds of kitu 10 - 40 kms per year. this is common. the Kind of change i was talking about was a reversal like the 1 said to have happened some 700k years ago. during that period of reversal the poles can be anywhere before moving again and again before stabilizing (Mathare North is just an example)

(Mathare North is just an example)

#10 Posted : Monday, November 15, 2010 3:59:26 PM

I dont like the sound of Mecca mean time....

Next we'll be changing kilograms to mohamedgrams

and so on...