wazua Sun, Jul 20, 2025

5 Pages<12345>
Safaricom Half Year 2010/2011 results review
My 2 cents
#41 Posted : Thursday, November 11, 2010 10:09:15 AM

You know Safaricom is making these profits off you... LOL... I have no Safaricom shares thus I can't be bothered except hoping Zain-Airtel keep up the price war so I enjoy more shillings in my pocket...

So are all the other companies that are making profits..................
#42 Posted : Thursday, November 11, 2010 10:15:42 AM

My 2 cents wrote:
You know Safaricom is making these profits off you... LOL... I have no Safaricom shares thus I can't be bothered except hoping Zain-Airtel keep up the price war so I enjoy more shillings in my pocket...

So are all the other companies that are making profits..................
Do I
care? NO...

- I own ZERO Airtel shares
- I own 1/80,000,000 of Orange [thru GoK's 50% ownership]
- I own ZERO Essar-YU shares

BUT I own 100% of the KShs in my pocket...
#43 Posted : Thursday, November 11, 2010 10:25:13 AM

where else would safaricom be making profits if its not off us.Safaricom is a commercial enterprise which must make money by offering solutions to its subscribers so as an investor in that company all am interested in is how the company is making money and if its competitive enough in this market hiyo mambo ati its fleecing/conning its customers is hot air unless it affects the bottom line.
#44 Posted : Thursday, November 11, 2010 10:27:14 AM

@VVS agreed and Zain is making losses by paying for our calls.

Prices in Kenya have been slashed to such an extent that Safaricom Ltd. Chief Executive Officer Bob Collymore said India’s Bharti, which bought most of Zain’s African operations last year for $9 billion, is losing money on as much as 50 percent of its voice traffic.
http://www.bloomberg.com...as-call-rates-drop.html
#45 Posted : Thursday, November 11, 2010 10:29:06 AM

VVS,
Man you overhype this fact that you don't use nor own safcom shares, can't you comment something different on safcom!!!
#46 Posted : Thursday, November 11, 2010 10:30:53 AM

Why would I look a gift horse in the mouth?

I used to spend at least 2x before the price wars [I used fewer minutes too]... So thanks to Zain-Airtel I have benefited...

Funny, when I defend KK, the same safcon defenders come out criticizing KK for 100/- petrol yet when I say I prefer Zain's lower pricing regardless what it does to safcon... Fire & Brimstone!!!
#47 Posted : Thursday, November 11, 2010 10:36:08 AM

My 2 cents wrote:
H1 results should be compared with H1 results. Oranges against oranges. I wonder what kind off defenses safcoms critics will come up with when full year results are announced next year.

@my 2 cents I wonder why there is no reaction from the share price??

Plus safcom like the banks has exactly the same activities in H1 and H2 and hence they CAN be compared...

So a fall in profits in H1 in comparison to last years H2 is definitely something to note but that's only if you're open minded...

AND GUYS PRICE WARS WENT ON ONLY FOR 1 MONTH FOR THE REVIEWED PERIOD...
sky5
#48 Posted : Thursday, November 11, 2010 10:38:17 AM

I used to spend at least 2x before the price wars [I used fewer minutes too]... So thanks to Zain-Airtel I have benefited...

Funny, when I defend KK, the same safcon defenders come out criticizing KK for 100/- petrol yet when I say I prefer Zain's lower pricing regardless what it does to safcon... Fire & Brimstone!!!

VVS, What if KK is forced to lower the price of fuel? What if they make losses and your share loses value? Aren't you happy and proud when they make profits?

Why don't you like Safaricom making profits?
My 2 cents
#49 Posted : Thursday, November 11, 2010 10:46:28 AM

guru267 wrote:
My 2 cents wrote:
H1 results should be compared with H1 results. Oranges against oranges. I wonder what kind off defenses safcoms critics will come up with when full year results are announced next year.

Plus safcom like the banks has exactly the same activities in H1 and H2 and hence they CAN be compared...

So a fall in profits in H1 in comparison to last years H2 is definitely something to note but that's only if you're open minded...

You will notice that for most counters H2 results are usually better than H1 and therefore more comparable to prior H2 figures.

Equity announced a whopping 56% jump in profits, what did the market do the next day? Pricess headed south. Mr. Market is manic depressive...he is not always rational.

Forget what the business sch. profs say about efficient market theory. It is all bullcrap.

@VVS, the Kshs. in you pocket now may belong to you but next year and years to come it will buy less and less, so better get it invested.
#50 Posted : Thursday, November 11, 2010 10:51:57 AM

My 2 cents wrote:
guru267 wrote:
My 2 cents wrote:

You will notice that for most counters H2 results are usually better than H1 and therefore more comparable to prior H2 figures.

Equity announced a whopping 56% jump in profits, what did the market do the next day? Pricess headed south. Mr. Market is manic depressive...he is not always rational.

Forget what the business sch. profs say about efficient market theory. It is all bullcrap.

@VVS, the Kshs. in you pocket now may belong to you but next year and years to come it will buy less and less, so better get it invested.

@my 2 cents I rest my case... youré being stubborn lakini we'll talk in 2011 smile
mwanahisa
#51 Posted : Thursday, November 11, 2010 10:54:52 AM

I have been shying away from Safcom, partly because I do not expect its share price to move up, because of the all the battles that have been going on. I use Safom along with all the other providers, although I barely use Zain, which for me is currently the most expensive provider. Kudos to them for bringing down the price, but that is as far as it goes. BTW, they had indicated that they would match each of Safcom's moves, but they have been unable to.

Now, as a customer of Safcom, I do not mind lower charges. But as a potential investor, if Safcom was to make ever greater profits, I stand to make a lot more money from my investment than the saving I get from lower call charges. Now, I can easily invest in Safcom since it is listed on the NSE. I cannot invest as easily in Bharti. I believe that is the crux of the matter. Most contributors on Wazua are investors and/or speculators. We stand to gain a lot more as investors than as customers, and the company we can invest is Safaricom. Little wonder why there is a lot of vitriol directed at Zain.

The bottomline is that even when I have no investment in a particular company, but that company has some bearing (like Safraicom does) on my other investments, I am afraid I have to care!
sheep
#52 Posted : Thursday, November 11, 2010 10:58:18 AM

Saf is a great share for the long run...strong brand loyalty n sentimental value...mmeona in another thread watu wakibubujikwa na machozi coz ya advert nikona safaricom(oh my,soap operas have ruined us)!!....my problem is that I suspect I will still be able to buy this stock below 5bob in 2011...so sina mafeelings nayo...kuna other more 'promising' prospects.
The utimate goal of investing is to buy low sell high;if we re-write this core equation in psychology terms it becomes buy fear sell greed.
#53 Posted : Thursday, November 11, 2010 11:42:22 AM

sky5 wrote:

VVS, What if KK is forced to lower the price of fuel? What if they make losses and your share loses value? Aren't you happy and proud when they make profits?

Why don't you like Safaricom making profits
I am happy if safcom makes profits just that I worry if we are forced to go back to paying 12/- to call off-net.

As for KK, even I will use Total or Shell [I don't use independents coz I fear adulteration of fuel] if they are cheaper!

Bottomline: I value my 100/- more than Safcon's 10bn (or KK's 1bn) coz the 100/- is all MINE...
#54 Posted : Thursday, November 11, 2010 11:45:18 AM

My 2 cents wrote:
LOL... I need to eat as well & my local does not accept credit... ati, 'future value' of my shares & dividends... So I do keep some cash!

The excess is waiting for KPLC...
sky5
#55 Posted : Thursday, November 11, 2010 11:50:20 AM

VVS:Its good to know you like profits. Businesses are for making profits otherwise they go out of business.

As for me, I actually buy where I invest regardless of cheap alternatives eg. I buy fuel at KK or Total, sugar from MSC only, bank in KCB and BBK only,buy unga from Unga Ltd etc. But that's just me!

#56 Posted : Thursday, November 11, 2010 11:57:32 AM

sheep, well said. guru and VVS, you should know that Equity and Safaricom stir plenty of emotion and are rarely discussed objectively
Bettertry
#57 Posted : Thursday, November 11, 2010 12:25:54 PM

Where is the balance? As customers of these comm companies we want competition to be there coz it benefits the customer. But, it seems like standing from an investor's point of view we want to chase safcon competitors out of town in order to get greater ROIs. So again l ask where is the balance?
We Will Either Find a Way or Create One - HANNIBAL
#58 Posted : Thursday, November 11, 2010 1:16:00 PM

safaricom supplied 400,000 smart fones in H1
2282 base station 36% (829)data active ,intends it to grow to 50% ,165 wimax sites.

I think with such infrastructure and enhancement of its m-pesa and retail chain we havnt seen nothing yet.
#59 Posted : Thursday, November 11, 2010 1:33:09 PM

My 2 cents wrote:
They have only lost 1.6% market share. Where are the nay sayers???
Their ad is indeed a brag ad. They deserve it, they deserve to brag. Go Safcom go.....Najivunia kuwa mteja

Ngoja 2H
#60 Posted : Thursday, November 11, 2010 2:52:35 PM

Before 2h zain will have lifted hands!!game over