5 Pages123>»
Safaricom Half Year 2010/2011 results review
stranger
#1 Posted : Wednesday, November 10, 2010 4:10:15 PM

anasazi
#2 Posted : Wednesday, November 10, 2010 4:13:35 PM

The results are happening now!

Anybody with a live stream? I want to follow this from my desktop!
Form is temporary, class is permanent
stranger
#3 Posted : Wednesday, November 10, 2010 4:18:02 PM

Half-Year Results Presentation10thNovember, 2010
http://www.safaricom.co....RESULTS_ANNOUNCEMENT.pdf
My 2 cents
#4 Posted : Wednesday, November 10, 2010 4:20:04 PM

There is already a post on this one. Check it out.
hisah
#5 Posted : Wednesday, November 10, 2010 4:20:45 PM

http://www.safaricom.co....RESULTS_ANNOUNCEMENT.pdf
$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
the deal
#6 Posted : Wednesday, November 10, 2010 4:27:49 PM

Non voice revenue now contribute 33.3% of total revenue...Impressive.
My 2 cents
#7 Posted: : Wednesday, November 10, 2010 4:31:05 PM

They have only lost 1.6% market share. Where are the nay sayers???
Their ad is indeed a brag ad. They deserve it, they deserve to brag. Go Safcom go.....Najivunia kuwa mteja
#8 Posted : Wednesday, November 10, 2010 4:33:19 PM

Even with a 60% growth in capex, yaani it could have been higher by a few billions. Keep growing, keep growing, want this to be the first billion dollar profit co. in sub-sahara
Meru Holiness
jawz1
#9 Posted : Wednesday, November 10, 2010 4:40:11 PM

Data revenue grew by 55.5% representing 23.8% of total revenue (17.7% Sept 09),Broadband data services 68.5% increase and M-PESA increased by 63.9%. Nice figures but the real deal will be the second half numbers...
"When the pupil is ready to learn, a teacher will appear." -- Zen proverb
sky5
#10 Posted : Wednesday, November 10, 2010 4:43:53 PM

Subscribers = 16.71 millions ie +15.2%
Turnover = 47.11 billions i.e. +15.9%
EBITDA = 18.83 billions i.e +13.8%
Net Income = 7.63 billions ie. +15.1 %
EPS =0.19 cents ie. +14.9%
PBT = 10.44 billions ie. +14.3%
Data represents 23.8 % of revenue
M-PESA +63.9%
EBITDA margin = 40%

The second half is coming, though could be compensated high subscriber numbers and by increased voice traffic due to low the tarrifs
jawz1
#11 Posted : Wednesday, November 10, 2010 4:46:39 PM

Safcom supplied 400,000 smart phones in first half? What will the mobile shops be selling soon at this rate? Really aggressive on other frontiers...I'm glad I exited AK this year though much too late smile
#12 Posted : Wednesday, November 10, 2010 4:47:21 PM

Sasa inzain penetration iko waphi?.......god results!!!!
#13 Posted : Wednesday, November 10, 2010 4:51:31 PM

jawz1, Collymore should not have a problem scrapping together some good profit FY 2011, data still climbing, mobile money @3bill per day, charge gova for virtual courts e.t.c, BTW who knows what will happen to zain kenya? glad am in it tight, been picking it like nonsense thanks to the stocks liquidity.
Meru Holiness
jawz1
#14 Posted : Wednesday, November 10, 2010 4:54:18 PM

sky5 wrote:
Subscribers = 16.71 millions ie +15.2%
Turnover = 47.11 billions i.e. +15.9%
EBITDA = 18.83 billions i.e +13.8%
Net Income = 7.63 billions ie. +15.1 %
EPS =0.19 cents ie. +14.9%
PBT = 10.44 billions ie. +14.3%
Data represents 23.8 % of revenue
M-PESA +63.9%
EBITDA margin = 40%

The second half is coming, though copuld be compensated by increase in voice traffic dueto low tarrifs

Is it possible with drop in tariff charges and blended ARPU falling 456.6 versus 466 previous? I believe income will depend on data and MPESA eg selling new MPESA sim cards to all subscribers at 50shs, got mine yesterday and what a relief to use my phonebook to get no when using MPESA. We wait and see but so far Applause
#15 Posted : Wednesday, November 10, 2010 5:22:01 PM

Lo! so I see in this Round two rapid blows handed to opponent - first brand advert, now a lesson in profitability.

As per presentation by Sep 2010:
- only 1.6% loss of market share
- 81% of 17m customers now on MPESA
- and a 15% growth in net income

Compared to Zain Africa's EBITDA margin of 23%, a margin of Safaricom 40% sure looks much better. And even LTE (4G) trials before Zain's 3G starts? And more data customers 3.6m on Safaricom than voice customers on Zain?

The war is not over, but this battle has already been won. Next round...

mozenrat
#16 Posted : Wednesday, November 10, 2010 5:23:07 PM

Mazee hawa wahindi wana uchungu..

3 CABLE CUTS???
#17 Posted : Wednesday, November 10, 2010 5:24:58 PM

guru267 wrote:

@2012 i think you're abit to pessimistic... Price wars have been going on for only a month and last year they announced 9.8billion PBT...

I was expecting 12 but i'm sure we'll get 10.8billion....

Though the second half is what we should be most worried about...

I fished out this prediction so that you'll see its the 2ND HALF you should be worried about

NOTHING SPECIAL ABOUT THESE RESULTS AT ALL...

Before the price wars I was expecting a H1 PBT of 12 billion after the price wars began I revised this target to 10.8 billion and then they go ahead and give me ONLY 10.4 billion

All the guys praising these results should know they are in line with expectations of safcom pessimists like me....
#18 Posted : Wednesday, November 10, 2010 5:29:01 PM

@guru267, tough direct lady... smile
Ökay so my expectations were worse off especially after reading Bharti's results earlier today, which were definitely below expectations. Did you see?

@mozenrat, your comment reminds me of a post I saw alleging KDN is facing wind-up over Kes 1 billion debt owed to the guy who maintains their cables, Soliton Telme, hence poor response whenever anything goes assunder.
http://nairobitech.blogs...lion-debt.html?spref=tw

My 2 cents
#19 Posted : Wednesday, November 10, 2010 5:31:56 PM

All the safcom haters mezeni wembe. If you compare growth from 2008 to 2009, then you will see the 2009 to 2010 growth is even better.

What was the basis of your 12B projection?

15% growth despite the airtel shenanigans if GOOD news Safcom peeps do not let anyone convince you otherwise.

H2 results will blow minds away. Dividend of .2 will be maintained. EPS will be above 0.4. Therefore at todays price a PE of 11.75. This for a co. like safcom is a deal and a half.
#20 Posted : Wednesday, November 10, 2010 5:49:49 PM

And i want you to get me clear here,the 1.6 market share loss is not to zain,but to deaths,pple becoming bunkrupt,orange and yu the rest.