Robinhood wrote:I never attend any reggae gigs, especially featuring famous international artistes. Criminals usually load up on grass and engage in all manner of crimes in the name of reggae.
Ask the guys who attended a free reggae gig at Nyayo stadi some time back. I also remember the same thing happening during a gig at kasarani. Cant recall who the main artistes were, but guys were 'ngetwad' in broad day light by guys high on grass.
Pole lakini
There was this free performance at Kasarani by Burning Spear - I think courtesy of Zain [or whatever it was being called then]. I was at an establishment called Jambo Grill with a very good view of Thika Rd. and I'm telling you it was a sight was from another world. First there were guys [both ladies and men] with all sorts of deadlocks - long, short, thin, thick [I actually saw a dude with one huge lock!]. Then there was the dressing and the faces - some so scary I thought they'd come chuck us from Jambo. Some have evidently been victims of a couple of mob justice beatings! Looking at those guys, you wonder where they've been hiding. It's not the people you meet from day to day. And the fellows can't board a matatu. The walk - taking over both sides of the road.
Then there was the really scary part - The ngeta fiesta!! People were being ngetarized as we watched! They could pounce on an innocent bystander and in a few seconds, they've taken everything - including the shoes! They were even ngetarizing each other! Two fellows mug someone and they are then mugged by five other fellows in a matter of seconds! They were so many you couldn't even dare step outside! We tried calling the cops but they never showed up! I have never been so scared! I knew all it would take was one fellow to suggest they storm Jambo and the neighbouring entertainment spots and we would be done for!