wazua Thu, Feb 6, 2025

Niko na Safaricom 2010
#21 Posted : Tuesday, November 09, 2010 10:53:35 AM

How much was the cost in KES for coming up with this ad?
d'oh! d'oh! d'oh! d'oh!

Muheani
#22 Posted : Tuesday, November 09, 2010 11:13:36 AM

Now on skiza
SKIZA code 5050004

Shot at the following locales at least

Maralal
Kakamega forest
Lake victoria
Coast
Samburu
Mt longonot
My 2 cents
#23 Posted : Tuesday, November 09, 2010 11:15:39 AM

I think safcoms new and very expensive ad is a 'brag ad'. They must have spent lots of money on it. Pretty soon they will be bragging about something. I wait to see what.

Just like Stancharts recent phrase 'the bank that will always be here' ..... comes ahead of their 100 year celebration in a few months.
centerbolt
#24 Posted : Tuesday, November 09, 2010 11:20:40 AM

That shot must have been taken from a 1000 megapixel camera, lol.

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly my thots too....spectacular though
Djinn
#25 Posted : Tuesday, November 09, 2010 11:46:58 AM

mozenrat wrote:
Djinn wrote:
I suppose it makes up for the endless hours of aggravation trying to get quality services. I do not think I am a philistine, but that ad did NADA for me.

I suppose even PEV suspects could pay for such an ad and make people forget...

Bollocks I say...

Wewe Djinn tulishakuzoea.. We know you work for Zain..

Hata kama the advert came with cash handouts through the TV screen, your reaction would have been the same..

smile wewe! For the umpteenth time (and there is no risk of a cock crowing this time) - I do not work for Zain/Bharti. I have a Zain line, a Zain T-shirt and a Celtel Cap - if I can get a Bharti umbrella I will accept it...but I do not vork for them.
#26 Posted : Tuesday, November 09, 2010 11:51:40 AM

There are no sand dunes in Kenya??....hahahahahLaughing out loudly Laughing out loudly !!...!!Looks like some people have lived under city lights,they do not know the moon existsPray .....Anyway,Kenya is that beautiful!
Caveman
#27 Posted : Tuesday, November 09, 2010 11:55:08 AM

My 2 cents wrote:
I think safcoms new and very expensive ad is a 'brag ad'. They must have spent lots of money on it. Pretty soon they will be bragging about something. I wait to see what.

Just like Stancharts recent phrase 'the bank that will always be here' ..... comes ahead of their 100 year celebration in a few months.

I don't think it is expensive. That is Safaricom choir singing. They are employees.
#28 Posted : Tuesday, November 09, 2010 12:08:39 PM

My 2 cents wrote:

is it a brag ad, or an ad to evoke emotional connection to Safcom despite hard times?
My 2 cents
#29 Posted : Tuesday, November 09, 2010 12:15:31 PM

My 2 cents wrote:

is it a brag ad, or an ad to evoke emotional connection to Safcom despite hard times?

Both. It looks expensive to me because of the location, settings.
sky5
#30 Posted : Tuesday, November 09, 2010 12:21:31 PM

There are no sand dunes in Kenya??....hahahahahLaughing out loudly Laughing out loudly !!...!!Looks like some people have lived under city lights,they do not know the moon existsPray .....Anyway,Kenya is that beautiful!

There is a desert in Kenya called Chalbi desert covering an area of about 100,000 sq Km to the East of Lake Turkana. I think this is tha one in the video.

The pics in the ad are spectacular!!!
#31 Posted : Tuesday, November 09, 2010 12:22:16 PM

Underwhelming. I honestly don't see where all the !WOW! is coming from. Maybe some people's WOW threshold is just lower.
#32 Posted : Tuesday, November 09, 2010 12:22:49 PM

My 2 cents wrote:

Those scenes are just exhilarating bragging or not that advert captures attention and thats the work of an advert.
#33 Posted : Tuesday, November 09, 2010 12:30:49 PM

Why is there this conclusion "it is expensive", please educate me, am quite a danda in these ad things, some aerial shots(could be taken in an afternoon or two), some filming in local locations, a local choir in kawaida uniforms, people walking up a hill then some editing, kwisha, am no expert but where is the "expensive" notion from. No endorsements from some "costly" celebs, no stuntmen, no fireworks, no painted buildings
Meru Holiness
babajay
#34 Posted : Tuesday, November 09, 2010 12:39:44 PM

the ad's a copy
Please check this link
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hbGuqmaDgLA
#35 Posted : Tuesday, November 09, 2010 12:51:21 PM

Yeah @Much Know, there's always the argument of expensive vs value - I agree there's value!

But difficult to argue about the cost... In fact, I'd say it may be the most expensive brand effort in Kenya's history. Just consider the scale, Safaricom's choir at 800 may be one of the largest. And they had to actually climb 3 mountains, valleys, Lk Turkana, travel by road/boat/4x4s. Do you see how many aerial views (read helicopter) are captured?

Then let's talk about the director, Adrian Moat: A quick google shows the guy works for RSA Films as in Ridley Scott Associates Films - Ridley Scott stable of Gladiator, Robin Hood fame.

Even the Frazzer Taggart, director of photography for this effort, a quick google shows he was the director of photography in DaVinci Code, Troy, Vertical Limit. No wonder the 1000mpx camera, huh...

Then the media placement, in all TV stations all radio all media print spreads...

Aiissh, you see Safaricom has scale, and then they went for the best from a creative perspective. In school I was taught God is in the detail. Mies van der Rohe

#36 Posted : Tuesday, November 09, 2010 12:57:12 PM

@babajay, you remind me of the man who claimed he made Mpesa at his home and the other who claims Equity and Safcom stole mkesho from him.

@Muganda, kweli now i agree it's expensive, but some of those mountain shots with a lady singing in the snow in mount kenya alone?, must be an edit ama?
Meru Holiness
#37 Posted : Tuesday, November 09, 2010 1:36:47 PM

@Muganda, kweli now i agree it's expensive, but some of those mountain shots with a lady singing in the snow in mount kenya alone?, must be an edit ama?

The shot is done on Mt Kenya - the only place in world where you CAN get snow on the equator!

Sand dunes in Kenya? Yes!! Don't you that 80% of our country is either desert or semi-desert?

No wonder we used to call it "the land of contrasts"
Ms Mkenya
#38 Posted : Tuesday, November 09, 2010 1:38:36 PM

At the risk of being lynched... I was not that impressed, esp for a telecom ad. Maybe if it was magical kenya i might have been. Its just ok. Its being overrated.
....above all, to stand.
#39 Posted : Tuesday, November 09, 2010 1:46:28 PM

@mali ya nguvu spot on. was looking for that Qantas ad done over a decade ago..so much for local creativity...
sheep
#40 Posted : Tuesday, November 09, 2010 1:51:41 PM

@mali ya nguvu spot on. was looking for that Qantas ad done over a decade ago..so much for local creativity...

ecstasy is back!!!!! another prodigal son returnsLaughing out loudly
The utimate goal of investing is to buy low sell high;if we re-write this core equation in psychology terms it becomes buy fear sell greed.