Niko na Safaricom 2010
#1 Posted : Monday, November 08, 2010 9:13:51 PM

Composed by Gabriel Omondi
Directed by Adrian Moat, RSA Films
Photography by Frazzat Taggart

So I saw Safaricom's new brand - and I have to say - don't hate the player, hate the game! I see the Safaricom choir, 800 strong, climbing Mt. Elgon, on a trek on Mt. Longonot, alongside Tana River/Magadi, and even mountain climbing Mt. Kenya.... just to sing?

Okay so I'm a sucker for movies, directing, score, choreography. And I've never seen a Kenyan piece so profound...

Na furahia, undugu na ukoo wetu
Na sherekehea, kazi na biddii yetu
Tuvute pamoja, tushirikiane
Bega kwa bega tujikaze, tusaidiane

Niko na uwezo, wakujiendeleza
Niko na nayo nguvu, nijatahidi
Niko na fanaka, nitajitolea
Niko na baraka, kwa kazi nayo fanya

Niko na fahari,
Niko na furaha,
Niko na uwezo,
Niko na
Safaricom

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uIBHuqeis3U
Seriously though, is Kenya this beautiful?

chris79
#2 Posted : Monday, November 08, 2010 11:05:08 PM

Was about to ask the same question, is all breathtaking scenery found within the Kenyan boundaries? Got goose pimples just watching the ad...
Cupcake
#3 Posted : Tuesday, November 09, 2010 5:44:27 AM

Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause

And proudly Kenyan...good work....

The ad must be worth a fortune...

#4 Posted : Tuesday, November 09, 2010 7:06:34 AM

Sold off all my Scangroup at 75. Need to get back in.......
Cardinal
#5 Posted : Tuesday, November 09, 2010 8:02:26 AM

Saw the advert yesterday in Citizen TV.

It resembles those ones i see in CNN.

And the btw between Aljazeera and CNN which one offers quality programming and is better?

Me thinks Aljazeera beats CNN hands down
#6 Posted : Tuesday, November 09, 2010 8:59:38 AM

Wow, is all I said to that advert.....that is some peace!!!
Djinn
#7 Posted : Tuesday, November 09, 2010 9:12:39 AM

I suppose it makes up for the endless hours of aggravation trying to get quality services. I do not think I am a philistine, but that ad did NADA for me.

I suppose even PEV suspects could pay for such an ad and make people forget...

Bollocks I say...
Djinn
#8 Posted : Tuesday, November 09, 2010 9:17:24 AM

...and for what its worth, I think some media personalities (I have noted this on Classic FM this morning, and a KBC personality on Facebook) are being used (maybe after a SCOM press junket?)to build up the hype around this advert (i.e. if they say its good, it must be REALLY good).

#9 Posted : Tuesday, November 09, 2010 9:22:20 AM

Djinn,
Hey broda, can you tell me any one thing that you have ever appreciated from safcom, you are always on these guyz case man!!!
#10 Posted : Tuesday, November 09, 2010 9:25:32 AM

Much better than making fun of a midget and expecting us to laugh at the midget and his accent.

"thli mbof one mbof, Atsiiiii", "ati thlee mboff one mboff, heh, heh ,heh" then a cow almost falls on the midget. Creativity does not end with product innovation.
Meru Holiness
#11 Posted : Tuesday, November 09, 2010 9:26:52 AM

This is in part promotion of local tourism...I'm impressed!!
@GG...finally understand your name after watching "Wall Street"..about scangroup shares, was informed it is a sell sell, something about "overheating"...language ya ma-investment bankers i guess
Djinn
#12 Posted : Tuesday, November 09, 2010 9:36:12 AM

Much better than making fun of a midget and expecting us to laugh at the midget and his accent.

"thli mbof one mbof, Atsiiiii", "ati thlee mboff one mboff, heh, heh ,heh" then a cow almost falls on the midget. Creativity does not end with product innovation.

@MuchKnow - I concur - in as much as the scom did as much for me as a donkey's backside, the Zain ads are ANNOYING...really annoying. And the litter and pollution the posters have contributed is even more annoying...
#13 Posted : Tuesday, November 09, 2010 10:12:41 AM

This advert would make more cash if used as an instrument of tourism promotion; though some of the pics look so clear one may doubt they are computer generated.

That shot must have been taken from a 1000 megapixel camera, lol.

#14 Posted : Tuesday, November 09, 2010 10:29:12 AM

Where in Kenya do you find those sand dunes? Wajaameni, wanatunyoa bila maji?Sad

Brilliant video though!

wakagori
#15 Posted : Tuesday, November 09, 2010 10:29:25 AM

Brand Kenya/Kenya Tourism Board can borrow a leaf....
mozenrat
#16 Posted : Tuesday, November 09, 2010 10:33:44 AM

Djinn wrote:
I suppose it makes up for the endless hours of aggravation trying to get quality services. I do not think I am a philistine, but that ad did NADA for me.

I suppose even PEV suspects could pay for such an ad and make people forget...

Bollocks I say...

Wewe Djinn tulishakuzoea.. We know you work for Zain..

Hata kama the advert came with cash handouts through the TV screen, your reaction would have been the same..
mozenrat
#17 Posted : Tuesday, November 09, 2010 10:35:59 AM

This advert would make more cash if used as an instrument of tourism promotion; though some of the pics look so clear one may doubt they are computer generated.

That shot must have been taken from a 1000 megapixel camera, lol.

Boss tembea and visit you're country... believe me you'll never want to leave...
mali ya nguvu
#18 Posted : Tuesday, November 09, 2010 10:38:42 AM

Safaricom bure kabisa.....stole the advert from Australia....Google 'I still call Australia Home- Qantas Commercial,HD 2009.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XEbSIDeT144&hd=1
#19 Posted : Tuesday, November 09, 2010 10:43:13 AM

Where in Kenya do you find those sand dunes? Wajaameni, wanatunyoa bila maji?Sad

Brilliant video though!

Btw i also thought i saw some sort of desert in that Video
mali ya nguvu
#20 Posted : Tuesday, November 09, 2010 10:51:00 AM

mali ya nguvu wrote:
Safaricom bure kabisa.....stole the advert from Australia....Google 'I still call Australia Home- Qantas Commercial,HD 2009.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XEbSIDeT144&hd=1

They almost copied the tune......