wazua Sun, Nov 17, 2024

7 Pages<12345>»
Beware of Barclay Loans
pops
#41 Posted : Tuesday, July 07, 2009 12:42:00 PM

a couple of weeks ago i put up a complaint against barclaycard and how they were ripping me off by delaying sending the bills all the time and charging me late payment fees,even when i paid on time! lets face it barclays is facing stiff competition from the local banks,and the only way they can make any money to please their shareholders and london bosses is to rip us off! why all the small print. why can they not be open like the banks in europe and the US,that these are the terms and conditons! but as alot of people told me - the only way they will learn is if you stop using them!
Ric dees
#42 Posted : Tuesday, July 07, 2009 3:20:00 PM

This is an interesting and i think the more people are informed the better. I think Banks in Kenya have a field day as compared to banks in the West and i guess this is the only place where innovation is followed by legislation hence consumers are hurting most.

That said i rem when i worked for one bluechip bank in Kenya fresh from campus,there was an senior executive from UK and i remember his asking why there no banking services on Sundays..naturally one of our bosses said that banks are closed on Sundays and his answer was ' open the damn branches on Sunday and people will come f****ing hell'

Success is not measured by what you accomplish,but by the opposition you have encountered and the courage with which you have maintained the struggle against the overwhelming odds'

The greatest danger in times of turbulence is not the turbulence; it is to act with yesterday's logic.
mozenrat
#43 Posted : Tuesday, July 07, 2009 4:05:00 PM

There is no love lost between me and most banks...

However,I think that bashing banks is becoming a cliche..

We're so intent on doing so,we don't stop to review the alternatives...

Forgetting about banks for a moment,there is wisdom in Mwenza's argument... U pay interest on your money which u could have kept under ur mattress...

Effectively,when u get a loan from a Sacco,U should calculate the interest u are paying on the amount you receive OVER and ABOVE your contribution... In this case,if they are offering 12% p.a. for 300K,adjust that to about 18%(17.7%) for 200K,which happens to be about the same rate offered by banks... The 100K is your money that you ideally should be getting at 0%...

Having said so,two advantages of Saccos are it is easier to get the funds....Two signatures and Whalla!!!! and of course less 'fine print'... U pay what you agreed to...

Also this tells me that you should NEVER borrow any amount less than or equal to what you have contributed to a SACCO otherwise U will pay interest on the same amount that you could have kept under your bed and not paid a cent in interest.... Envision a significant project,plan and borrow the maximum you are entitled to but do not delude yourself that the deal is much better than a bank's... Or maybe it is.... about 0.3 % better...
mwanahisa
#44 Posted : Tuesday, July 07, 2009 4:23:00 PM

@Mozenrat. I agree with you on the point that bashing banks has become real fashionable. Truth is that these guys are in business and out to make a profit.

When borrowing,it is clearly a case of borrower beware. You need to read all the fine print before taking out the loan and indeed,you MUST shop around. Banks SHOULD have NO RIGHT to alter fundamental terms and conditions e.g. the early repayment clause (i.e. without a penalty). Central Bank should clearly enforce borrowers rights such as those.

Having said that,you forgot to account for the dividends you earn on the amount that you have contributed,hence a SACCO loan will still be appreciably cheaper than a bank loan.

On the other hand,with most SACCOs (if I remember correctly) you need to save for at least 6 months before you can borrow and huge lumpsum cash injections will not normally count towards the loan multiplier - Unless you wait for some period. Moreover,depending on the liquidity of the SACCO,you might have to queue for even up to 3 months.

Opportunity calls but few respond.
Tito44
#45 Posted : Wednesday, July 08, 2009 5:58:00 AM

@mozenrat

If you have 100k in a sacco,allowing you to borrow 300k,it does not mean that you are borrowing your 100k+an additional 200k. Any given loan requires some form of security. Therefore consider it as security. Your bank will require your title deed or payslip. the sacco only attaches your contributions until you clear the loan. You still earn dividents on the 100k during the loan period.

Banks simply have huge interest rates as compared to saccos in addition to the huge security demanded of you,again as compared to saccos.
niando
#46 Posted : Wednesday, July 08, 2009 6:08:00 AM

The only consistent condition on barclays loan is that 'terms and conditions are subject to change without prior notice'.

I had to pay an extra 500/= to stay in the credit account so that they can continue quenching their interest and charges greed thirst until they are satisfied.(each subsequent card statement comes with interest not withstanding that I paid before the date on the card statement.My fuss is that these terms changed and there was no official communication .I realised the terms had changed after receiving their statement.I have been using the card on rare instances since 2005 same way and I've never complained because these charges were not there).

The only charge they may have forgotten is exit charge on credit card.

Surely barclays is doing something the wrong way. I believe that not all the contributors in this thread are not all mad to keep on bashing the bank.

Barclays should do something otherwise they will lose many potential clients.I hope their overseas parent is watching.

For bookkeeping and bank loan interest recalculation try us:niando.becia@gmail.com
zamali
#47 Posted : Wednesday, July 08, 2009 6:23:00 AM

What is the official response from BBK ? SK contributions normally open up peoples eyes and help make crucial decisions for many. BBK may ignore this,but I belive the influence SK threads have may be grossly over under-estimated...

Zama za Kengen IPO.... zama za mali
#48 Posted : Wednesday, July 08, 2009 6:31:00 AM

Sad how a couple bloggers miss the simple concept behind the co-op movement so much so that we can compare saving to putting money under mattresses...............maybe afterall,ignorance is bliss............What is a co-op??.....

http://www.ica.coop/coop/index.html

Yombo dhier....!!
#49 Posted : Wednesday, July 08, 2009 7:08:00 AM

@ Mozenrat.......Am happy at least one person can see my argument. My argument was really not about the pros and cons of saccos......for the record av been a member of a reputable one since 1992.... but rather in every situation,there is always room for improvement. Granted,SACCOS are not in any way comparable to banks when it comes to borrowing from them but that does not mean they cant be enhanced to be more attractive to members......Does anybody remember those days when we used to be reminded that Kenya was an island of peace in a sea of turmoil? We virtually believed the nonsense until an outsider reminded us to compare ourselves with the best in the world not with failures. I rest my case.

NEVER HONOUR A PROMISE THAT PUTS YOU AT A DISADVANTAGE!!!
Goals
#50 Posted : Wednesday, July 08, 2009 7:41:00 AM

bbk ni bure kabisa. You will need to check the monthly interest computation as well. I have complained over time and their response is the time of the month the interest is computed. Secondly they forced me to open a barclay account ati for transfer of funds. 6 months down the line i was sent a letter showing that i owned them 2,800 being interest charged to the inactive account.. they are very unprofessional,i decided to discontinue all my dealing with them.

SACCos have better interest rates and will pay dividends at the end of the year. i topped up my shares in sacco,got a bigger loan and repayed barclay in full. they have not yet come back to me for additional interest..

'Build your own dreams,or someone else will hire you to build their's!'
adept
#51 Posted : Wednesday, July 08, 2009 9:13:00 AM

I have never really understood all this placating we are so fond of i.e. 'hope BBK will read this and act before it is too late' or 'BBK need to respond or else so they can keep their business' etc etc.

Even if you are a shareholder,enjoy the capital gains and dividends but get the good financial service you deserve elsewhere. Simply move!
zamali
#52 Posted : Wednesday, July 08, 2009 10:41:00 AM

@ Adept

move...NIC ?

Zama za Kengen IPO.... zama za mali
Lyanne
#53 Posted : Wednesday, July 08, 2009 10:54:00 AM

Any Finance Manager worth his salt will let you in on a little secret that a loan from a bank is a double edged sword.

Need i say that it cuts both ways?

Saccos and Chamas are the way to go for loans geared for consumption,and business start up loans.

Banks hide the murky details in the fine print,the Devil's liar so to say. Look what they did to Muite,Matiba,Nyanja,the Moi orphans etc.

BBK is the most rabid of them all in this area. They are on the throes of madness in fleecing people off their hard earned cash. They thought they would replicate the credit card phenomena in Kenya,the only bit they seemed to forget is that Kenyans are way to slippery when it comes to debt.

Somehow the sword bit the bearer !

The Hedonist
Pablo
#54 Posted : Wednesday, July 08, 2009 12:13:00 PM

They are still charging someone I know 21.5% interest on his car loan which he has been trying to refinance.

Want to be a millionaire.... plant a million cabbages and sell them at a bob...
mozenrat
#55 Posted : Wednesday, July 08, 2009 1:43:00 PM

Pliz,Bwana Njunge....

Lets stick to the issue,I did not intend to demean Saccos by using the 'mattress' example....

I've been a member of several for the past 10 years,so Yes. I know all about Saccos,

But I do not delude myself about the amount of interest I pay whenever I borrow from my Sacco (which I do quite often)....

I agree that I had not accounted for the dividends paid for my contribution... So that is a legitimate argument...

But aside from the dividends,tell me,If I had 100k in my house and borrowed 200K from a bank at 18% interest while you had contributed 100k to a Sacco and borrowed 300K at 12%.... Wouldn't we pay the same amount as interest? give or take 0.3%

Since this is becoming a referendum on pros and cons of Saccos... Rest assured I agree with all about the 'fine print' and 'varying interest rates' tactics that banks are prone to employing and I'm not advocating for them in any way....

@Tito44... I have walked into a bank and obtained unsecured loans that my salary couldn't cover if I were to lose my job....This I believe is the same concept as 100K contribution being held as security for 300K loan....

Again,I ask,working with the numbers,what is the difference?

Incidentally,this reminds me of a friend who tried to convince me that EB offers 'Lower' interest rates for Asset Finance... But when we obtained the repayment schedule,the installments were exactly the same as Stancharts unsecured loan at that time... Stanchart was offering the loan at 18% on a reducing balance basis while EB was doing the same 12% on a straight line basis... Do the math for 200K... The interest for EB is 48K while Stanchart's was about 40K

Let the numbers do the talking!!!!
Waria
#56 Posted : Wednesday, July 08, 2009 3:24:00 PM

@ monzerat- i think uve answered your question

Saccos beat BBK any day!

Me first,U next
mozenrat
#57 Posted : Wednesday, July 08, 2009 3:49:00 PM

Wewe Waria stop cooking up stuff...

Read through my two previous posts...

The argument was never about Barclays versus Sacco...

I just defended Mwenza's argument that the interest rate you pay to a Sacco is effectively more than they state.....

I also stated that the increased rate is still lower (by 0.3%) than that of most banks....

So yes,I know and have known througout the discourse that Saccos beat Barclays any day...

ama what do you think I meant when I said there is no love lost between me and banks???
Tito44
#58 Posted : Thursday, July 09, 2009 5:46:00 AM

@mozenrat

I agree that this wasn't a debate on Sacco vs banks (or Barclays for that matter),but it's been educative anyway. Saccos are an alternative source of loans.

Your statement reads 'tell me,If I had 100k in my house and borrowed 200K from a bank at 18% interest while you had contributed 100k to a Sacco and borrowed 300K at 12%.... Wouldn't we pay the same amount as interest? give or take 0.3%'. This is entirely wrong if a proper comparison is done.

My explanation. Your analogy states that you need 300k (for whatever reason).

Going the bank way,you already have 100k in the house and borrow 200k to make a total of 300k. Therefore you pay 18% interest on 200k. This is true. Where you got the calculations wrong is the sacco way. You see,you already have 100k in the sacco but you borrow 300k. Therefore,you pay 12% interest on 200k. After paying 200k,you will write off your loan with your 100k contributions in the sacco (essentially means leaving the sacco and not paying any more interest). Therefore,there is no way the interest will be a paltry 0.something. Do the math friend.

To be fair in comparison,i will go by your explanation of interest difference of 0.3% (mind you the sacco is still lower). This assumes you do not want to leave the sacco and decide to pay interest on the entire 300k borrowed. This gives astounding results.Whereas you will have a total of 300k the bank way (i mean 100k savings + 200k borrowings at 18%),you will have 400k the sacco way (i mean 100k sacco savings + 300k borrowings at 12% interest). And having a total of 400k (sacco) vs 300k (bank) my friend is still lower by an interest rate of 0.3% that you gave.

I was not fighting you my friend,we are simply learning from each other,and that is the power of SK.
Mutes
#59 Posted : Thursday, July 09, 2009 6:11:00 AM

I banked with Barclays while i was living overseas. My experience with them,while there was enough to make me decide not to deal with them anywhere else. They have a way of trapping someone with their finer print. Then they wait for when you are struggling a little bit,they offer you a top up and hang you on the noose a bit tighter. siwezi wakaribia tena hata wakinipa loan ya bure.

Tap water while its raining or simply make hay while the sun is shining. Its got to be one of the two!
#60 Posted : Thursday, July 09, 2009 7:01:00 AM

From the moment I came from the village I had always decided in ma mind that these big multinational banks are a no go,up till now I have never regretted this!!!!

The chief value of money lies in the fact that one lives in a world in which it is overestimated.